[ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
metabaron24
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 11:14 am

Post by metabaron24 » Tue Jan 02, 2018 1:01 pm

please measure the resistance to GND. between the 3V3 test point and GND and also between the VDDA test point and GND.
OK, that's what my multimeter schowed me: Resistance to Ground between V3.3 and VDDA test point is reliably 547 Ohm sweet Ohms +- 1 Ohm

What does it tell me though? :despair:
Check the decoupling caps (C1, C9, C10, C25, C26, C31) on the +3.3V power rail to see if any have a solder bridge underneath. Its usually apparent under magnification.
I soldered under a mganifying glass and checked everything multiple times under a magnifying glass


As far as I can tell there are no solder bridges under any of the above caps.
I do have solder bridges though. From what little I can tell from schematics I thought they should not be a problem. Here's what I have:

Looks like a solder bridge between D2 and L2 and another candidate for a solder bridge are L2 and R13, another possibility between C4 and R16. IC1 and IC5 look very clean. The solder stayed where it should.

And here's something else: While soldering the 7-pin display pins, some solder flowed into two pin holes of the row of 6 below. Counted from the left that is #3 and #5.

The best news is this: I'm meeting up with my electronics friend tomorrow and he's confident that we'll sort it out. That's why I'm holding off with pictures for the moment. I'm definitely going to report back what the mistake was so that people can avoid making the same mistake.

Stay tuned

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:32 pm

if you desolder L3 you can quickly check if the short is on the 3V3 or the VDDA side, see schematics
metabaron24 wrote:
please measure the resistance to GND. between the 3V3 test point and GND and also between the VDDA test point and GND.
OK, that's what my multimeter schowed me: Resistance to Ground between V3.3 and VDDA test point is reliably 547 Ohm sweet Ohms +- 1 Ohm

What does it tell me though? :despair:
Check the decoupling caps (C1, C9, C10, C25, C26, C31) on the +3.3V power rail to see if any have a solder bridge underneath. Its usually apparent under magnification.
I soldered under a mganifying glass and checked everything multiple times under a magnifying glass


As far as I can tell there are no solder bridges under any of the above caps.
I do have solder bridges though. From what little I can tell from schematics I thought they should not be a problem. Here's what I have:

Looks like a solder bridge between D2 and L2 and another candidate for a solder bridge are L2 and R13, another possibility between C4 and R16. IC1 and IC5 look very clean. The solder stayed where it should.

And here's something else: While soldering the 7-pin display pins, some solder flowed into two pin holes of the row of 6 below. Counted from the left that is #3 and #5.

The best news is this: I'm meeting up with my electronics friend tomorrow and he's confident that we'll sort it out. That's why I'm holding off with pictures for the moment. I'm definitely going to report back what the mistake was so that people can avoid making the same mistake.

Stay tuned

metabaron24
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 11:14 am

Post by metabaron24 » Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:08 am

Problem solved!! :guinness:

The scope is up and running. Great little fellow it is.

The mistake was embarassingly simple. IC2 was installed with the wrong polarity :doh: Nothing much to learn there. The good side of the coin is all the SMD soldering that I did was good enough for the thing to work. :banana:

Thanks again for the help and advice

User avatar
breadman
Common Wiggler
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:22 pm
Location: PDX yo

Post by breadman » Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:00 am

Hi all! Finished mine tonight and fired it up, and it's working with a few peculiarities--pressing the top encoder only toggles the module between Pong and Scope mode, rather than going to any sort of settings menu, and the module says "<AB swapped>" when I power it on. I'm also using a v1.3 board and the first time it powered up it said v1.3, but now the firmware says v1.2. Inputs seem to work though. Anyone have an idea what's going on here?
Need a synth built in the USA? Get in touch!

rectangle cru

User avatar
batchas
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4496
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:51 pm

Post by batchas » Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:21 am

breadman wrote:and the module says "<AB swapped>" when I power it on.
Does it not mean something is mounted reverse? It's a question, i have no idea, just the terms "AB swapped" which catched my attention (hardware)
Or is it "swap" like swapping variables in C++? (software/firmware)
More likely firmware.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:29 am

seems like the lower encoder button is permanently pressed. check the solder pads of this encoder and the 10 pin header for a short to ground. sometimes the solder mask can get scratched and if you have too much solder on the pad it can short to ground.

User avatar
breadman
Common Wiggler
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:22 pm
Location: PDX yo

Post by breadman » Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:15 am

av500 wrote:seems like the lower encoder button is permanently pressed. check the solder pads of this encoder and the 10 pin header for a short to ground. sometimes the solder mask can get scratched and if you have too much solder on the pad it can short to ground.
Thanks for the tip, found a joint shorted to ground and cleaned it up. Working great now!
Need a synth built in the USA? Get in touch!

rectangle cru

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:16 am

:yay:

User avatar
batchas
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4496
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:51 pm

Post by batchas » Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:37 pm

breadman wrote:Thanks for the tip, found a joint shorted to ground and cleaned it up. Working great now!
Always looks very simple once we found out :tu:

User avatar
cannonball swandive
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 655
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:24 am

Post by cannonball swandive » Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:22 am

Is this project open source?

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:24 am

no

User avatar
Chopper
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:17 am
Location: London

Post by Chopper » Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:28 am

A bit of a long shot, but how difficult/possible would it be to have a video out from this module?

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:41 am

it would take a lot. the CPU in the scope is tiny and cannot handle video out. so you would need to design some kind of add-on that grabs the display data going to the OLED and converts that into some analog or digital video signal.

User avatar
OB1
Common Wiggler
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:11 am
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Post by OB1 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:42 am

Do you still have the PCB kits available?

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:56 am

OB1 wrote:Do you still have the PCB kits available?
yup (please use email for orders)

User avatar
OB1
Common Wiggler
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:11 am
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Post by OB1 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:05 pm

Awesome thanks, will do on payday ;-)

User avatar
MakingSoundMachines
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:42 am
Location: Dusseldorf, Germany

Post by MakingSoundMachines » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:14 pm

pppier wrote:Image
We can confirm that this happens when the display has the other (wrong = SH1106) chipset. Don't ask how we found out 8-)

Anyway we swapped the display for one with the correct chipset (SSD1306) and our build works perfectly now.

So beware if you have displays left over from your o_C build, like in our case, it might not be one with the correct chipset for zeroscope! Better test before you solder :deadbanana:

Edit: Link to display that worked for us
Last edited by MakingSoundMachines on Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:16 pm

even if they worked, cutting them down to size is not easy ;)

adderbrew
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 12:55 pm
Location: Florida, Home of Humidity and Sorrow

Post by adderbrew » Fri Apr 13, 2018 6:35 pm

This project looks awesome and I'm excited to build it. That being said, it appears that several of the parts from the Mouser cart are on backorder. What other sites would people recommend for me to order from? I'm fine with larger quantities, as I would like to start building more modules.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:27 am

adderbrew wrote:This project looks awesome and I'm excited to build it. That being said, it appears that several of the parts from the Mouser cart are on backorder. What other sites would people recommend for me to order from? I'm fine with larger quantities, as I would like to start building more modules.
thanks for the praise :)

as for the Mouser cart, sadly I cannot make one that says buy a generic 100k 0805 resistor, so they are always tied to a certain manufacturer and these come and go out of stock. I just looked at the cart and all parts are available from Mouser if you pick a different manufacturer. I will try to update the cart when I get back home.

adderbrew
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 12:55 pm
Location: Florida, Home of Humidity and Sorrow

Post by adderbrew » Sat Apr 14, 2018 7:15 am

av500 wrote:
adderbrew wrote:This project looks awesome and I'm excited to build it. That being said, it appears that several of the parts from the Mouser cart are on backorder. What other sites would people recommend for me to order from? I'm fine with larger quantities, as I would like to start building more modules.
thanks for the praise :)

as for the Mouser cart, sadly I cannot make one that says buy a generic 100k 0805 resistor, so they are always tied to a certain manufacturer and these come and go out of stock. I just looked at the cart and all parts are available from Mouser if you pick a different manufacturer. I will try to update the cart when I get back home.
You are a saint, thank you :) Checking out your other work now!

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:36 pm

ok, mouser cart updated

Luap
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: North'ish London, UK

Post by Luap » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:09 am

I see some mutterings over in the eurocrack forum about a v1.6 firmware update?
Does updating require a programmer of some description? If so then i'll probably make do without, but if theres no special tools or rocket science involved to update then i'd give it a go :guinness:

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:16 am

Luap wrote:I see some mutterings over in the eurocrack forum about a v1.6 firmware update?
Does updating require a programmer of some description? If so then i'll probably make do without, but if theres no special tools or rocket science involved to update then i'd give it a go :guinness:
it depends on what firmware you have. new firmwares since 1.5 have a bootloader and allow SW updates via a WAV file. for older ones you would need an STLINK programmer. see the manual here about how to perform the update via WAV:

https://vpme.de/zeroscope/

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:26 am

for updates via STLINK, see the guide here:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

and use the file zs_combo_v1.6.bin

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”