DIY 4ms SMR

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
koerby
Common Wiggler
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:49 pm

Post by koerby » Wed May 18, 2016 3:50 am

Waiting for the lightpipes

Image

User avatar
n167tx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:46 am
Location: London

Post by n167tx » Wed May 18, 2016 3:29 pm

looks beautiful Markus

User avatar
ArguZ
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:03 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Post by ArguZ » Thu May 19, 2016 2:30 am

Hi guys,

do we have a proper Mouser project/cart for this one now ?
I am itching to build one myself :)

User avatar
livefreela
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 7:14 am
Location: The Dust Farm

Post by livefreela » Thu May 19, 2016 2:50 am

congrats koerby - that magpie panel looks really nice all built up!

User avatar
synchromesh
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:30 am
Location: Norfolk, England
Contact:

Post by synchromesh » Thu May 19, 2016 3:23 pm

I have created a Mouser BOM project (and an Octopart BOM project) for the SMR 1.0.1, based largely on Altitude909's Mouser part numbers. I have the Kingbright RGB LEDs and the 3mm lightpipes. It doesn't have the 1x3 & 1x4 headers, the sockets, or the USB socket; if someone gives me Mouser part numbers for those I'll add them (via my spreadsheet).

Any comments, criticisms, confirmations and/or corrections gratefully received.

User avatar
insula
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 4:59 am
Location: @Madrid

Post by insula » Fri May 20, 2016 3:31 am

synchromesh wrote:I have created a Mouser BOM project (and an Octopart BOM project) for the SMR 1.0.1, based largely on Altitude909's Mouser part numbers. I have the Kingbright RGB LEDs and the 3mm lightpipes. It doesn't have the 1x3 & 1x4 headers, the sockets, or the USB socket; if someone gives me Mouser part numbers for those I'll add them (via my spreadsheet).

Any comments, criticisms, confirmations and/or corrections gratefully received.
:hail: :hail:

User avatar
koerby
Common Wiggler
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:49 pm

Post by koerby » Fri May 20, 2016 7:25 am

livefreela wrote:congrats koerby - that magpie panel looks really nice all built up!
n167tx wrote: looks beautiful Markus
thank you guys, the Magpie-Panel is gorgeous and worth every cent

User avatar
n167tx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:46 am
Location: London

Post by n167tx » Mon Jun 27, 2016 1:17 pm

I forgot to post this here.
Panel looks really cool, im really happy with the results.
Here is also a folder with the files. If anyone wants to lasercut it.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6cv906bphnj64lk/SMR.zip?dl=0

Image

Image

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Mon Jun 27, 2016 3:50 pm

n167tx wrote:I forgot to post this here.
Panel looks really cool, im really happy with the results.
Here is also a folder with the files. If anyone wants to lasercut it.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6cv906bphnj64lk/SMR.zip?dl=0

Image
LED circles left and right :banana:

nicdro
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:24 pm

Post by nicdro » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:44 am

I have the same issue as n167tx. Firmware flashed but erased on next boot. Cant use his combo.hex he sent me to correct this error cause im using discovery board on mac. any ideas? thanks!

nicdro
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:24 pm

Post by nicdro » Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:56 pm

figured it out... thanks to koerby. you should compile and upload the bootloader as well :doh:
i finished it but i get very little sound out of it. the whole module is super quiet when self-osc or with any input given. the leds for the env outs are super low light as well... where should i find the problem?

User avatar
ishkabbible
Common Wiggler
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 6:38 pm
Location: Vail, AZ

Post by ishkabbible » Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:22 pm

I have not seen this addressed here yet. There is an error in the schematics on github - the values for R124 and R126 have been swapped. THe symptoms are:
1) 0.5V / octave response on the ODD frequency input, and
2) 0 - 5V on the ROTATE input only rotates half way.
The correct values are:
R124: 49K (49.9K)
R126: 200K

Image

Acquadar
Common Wiggler
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:00 pm

Post by Acquadar » Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:40 am

You are heroes...

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:09 am

n167tx wrote:Its a start :)

I flashed it succesfully with STLinkV2, following Dans instructions on Github, but everytime i unplug it, i have this lights and have to flash it again.

Soon i will start the 7000 page Unsuccesful build thread.

Image[/img]
Did you ever figure it out? I have the same issue with having to reflash it after powering it back up.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:29 am

auxren wrote: Did you ever figure it out? I have the same issue with having to reflash it after powering it back up.
taking a wild guess, maybe the CPU does not come out of reset properly and the flasher resets it. can you find the NRST line of the CPU and short it to GND shortly to give it a clean reset?

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:04 pm

av500 wrote:
auxren wrote: Did you ever figure it out? I have the same issue with having to reflash it after powering it back up.
taking a wild guess, maybe the CPU does not come out of reset properly and the flasher resets it. can you find the NRST line of the CPU and short it to GND shortly to give it a clean reset?
Interesting thought. I'll give it a go tonight. Thanks!

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:07 pm

av500 wrote:
auxren wrote: Did you ever figure it out? I have the same issue with having to reflash it after powering it back up.
taking a wild guess, maybe the CPU does not come out of reset properly and the flasher resets it. can you find the NRST line of the CPU and short it to GND shortly to give it a clean reset?
NRST is high unless I press the button. When I press the button, nothing happens.
The BOOT0 line is always high even though when the button isn't pressed, there is a 10k pulling it low.

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:12 pm

I think my IPA cleaning bath screwed around with the BOOT0 button; it had 600 ohms across it unpressed. Removed it and now it's remembering the firmware.

Now to figure out why the encoder button isn't doing anything and why there isn't any audio coming out.

User avatar
bemerritt
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 675
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:22 pm
Location: San Clemente, CA

Post by bemerritt » Thu Mar 02, 2017 12:32 pm

Anyone have a spare pcb?

Jcsveth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:44 pm

Post by Jcsveth » Fri Mar 24, 2017 3:07 pm

Is there a published compiled firmware for this board? I am having a hard time getting the environment to work under Windows. I am lost embarrassingly early in the process - specifically here (from the GitHub Windows notes):

Make sure git is installed on your system. (OSX: type "brew install git" into the Terminal)
Create a work directory, and enter it.
Clone this project (SMR), stmlib, and the stm-audio-bootloader projects:
git clone https://github.com/4ms/SMR.git
git clone https://github.com/4ms/stmlib.git
git clone https://github.com/4ms/stm-audio-bootloader.git


I know it took a long time for the Mutable files to get shared as peopled considered the compiling of the firmware was a 'right of passage' but I hope this is not the case here.

mattfearsatan
Common Wiggler
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:01 pm

Post by mattfearsatan » Sun May 21, 2017 3:19 am

Hey there,

Wondering if anyone with particular experience with STMs might be able to help with an issue I’m having flashing my SMR?

First off, when I switch on my SMR I get the LED ring lighting up all white, and I’ve checked that the STM is getting the right power, and all looks honky dory.

Next, I’m using an ST Link 2 and the ST Link Utility under Windows - I’ve made sure the utility and firmware is up to date.

In terms of what’s going wrong - once I’ve connected to the chip, whenever I try to program it I get an error saying ‘Internal Command Error’, and then the connection is lost. I can reconnect to the chip immediately, but again when I try to program it, I get the same error.

I can only connect to the STM using the ‘Hot Plug’ mode - the ‘Connect under reset’ and ‘Normal’ modes don’t seem to like me. And when I enable live update in the main window the Core State recognises when I hit the reset button, and then it goes into ‘Halted’ - so communications must be working to a certain extent.

I’m using a combo .hex file which others have used without issue, but I don’t think the specific softawre I’m trying to program is the issue, as even when I try the ‘Erase Chip’ option I get exactly the same error.

I’ve not been able to find much help on this error (that I understand!) through Google. I saw that someone in the DIY Noobs Facebook group had the same error as me, and using a different PC seemed to make it work. Unfortunately I don’t have that luxury! (And I can’t think how that would change things - although if it helps diagnose the issue, I’m using a MacBook Pro under Boot Camp, so I wonder if there’s any funnies given that they have USB 3.0 ports rather than USB 2.0…? But I’ve flashed plenty of Mutables without these hitches.)

Anyone got any bright ideas?

GaloBa
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:30 am
Location: Madrid

Post by GaloBa » Mon May 22, 2017 12:12 pm

Hello,

I installed all the SMR hardware.

But I'm having the same troubles as mattfearsatan:

In terms of what’s going wrong - once I’ve connected to the chip, whenever I try to program it I get an error saying ‘Internal Command Error’, and then the connection is lost. I can reconnect to the chip immediately, but again when I try to program it, I get the same error.

I can only connect to the STM using the ‘Hot Plug’ mode - the ‘Connect under reset’ and ‘Normal’ modes don’t seem to like me. And when I enable live update in the main window the Core State recognises when I hit the reset button, and then it goes into ‘Halted’ - so communications must be working to a certain extent.

I’m using a combo .hex file which others have used without issue, but I don’t think the specific softawre I’m trying to program is the issue, as even when I try the ‘Erase Chip’ option I get exactly the same error.


:hmm: :bang:

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Mon May 22, 2017 1:41 pm

and the power supply checks out ok?

GaloBa
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:30 am
Location: Madrid

Post by GaloBa » Mon May 22, 2017 3:22 pm

Yes av500, the energy consumption is OK.

We are inside the ST, due to the STLink recognizes the STM32F4, but we can only access via Hot Pug Mode.

There are three things:
- All the PCB is mounted (I think that this would not affect).
- All the connections of the ST, which affect the programming are OK. But re-checking the micro, I found out that many pins were not already soldered. I corrected this issue, and tomorrow I will try again to program.
- And, what about the SW1?.

Cheers!!

GaloBa
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:30 am
Location: Madrid

Post by GaloBa » Tue May 23, 2017 3:21 pm

DONE!!!

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”