[IC] PRIZMA - 2 channel, 16 step sequencer with rainbow

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Joe., luketeaford, lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
henrybirdseye
Common Wiggler
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 8:23 pm
Location: detroit
Contact:

Prizma triggers

Post by henrybirdseye » Fri Jul 07, 2017 11:39 am

Yes you can change that. It's the "refresh CV" you want to toggle.

Guide here:

User avatar
Switchzik
Common Wiggler
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 8:41 am

Post by Switchzik » Sun Jul 09, 2017 8:27 am

Awesome ! Exactely what I needed, thanks ! :hail:

itsritual
Common Wiggler
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 2:22 pm

Post by itsritual » Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:11 am

How accurate are your Prizmas as CV sequencers? Mine drifts a lot with note values so I've unfortunately been using it mainly as a trigger sequencer.

Between that and my encoder problems, I'm thinking there's something wrong with my chip. I put it in backwards on first powerup, and afraid it might have permanently fucked it up.

User avatar
sduck
experimental use of gravity
Posts: 13861
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:03 pm
Location: Vortepexaion, TN, USA

Post by sduck » Sun Jul 09, 2017 7:26 pm

No stability issues with mine.
flickr cloud of sound touyube NOT A MODERATOR ANYMORE

User avatar
pisrecords
Common Wiggler
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Post by pisrecords » Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:52 am

Hello everyone. I have a problem with my PRIZMA since I bought it. Each time the encoder is turned to set the CV pitch, the output outputs 0volts. With each click of the encoder it lowers to 0 and returns to the pitch that I am setting . same issue? :bang: :bang: :bang: :bang:

.....................................................................
ADMIN in latin eurorack group . https://www.facebook.com/groups/906628619403191/


sorry 4 my poor English words.

andrewpiano
Common Wiggler
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 10:02 am
Location: Upstate NY
Contact:

Post by andrewpiano » Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:19 pm

Just trying to get my BOM together. I have a v3 board and I noticed on the BOM that D9, D10 SOD123 says (only on v2 boards). So does that mean I don't solder those parts?

andrewpiano
Common Wiggler
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 10:02 am
Location: Upstate NY
Contact:

Post by andrewpiano » Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:01 pm

With the LEDs, is there any other option in the US other than Sparkfun? Ebay is a mystery... I was hoping to get most things from Mouser but they only have 2 packs in stock. Sparkfun charges like $8 in shipping for leds!

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1750
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:46 am

andrewpiano wrote:With the LEDs, is there any other option in the US other than Sparkfun? Ebay is a mystery... I was hoping to get most things from Mouser but they only have 2 packs in stock. Sparkfun charges like $8 in shipping for leds!
why not just buy 20 from ebay? there are plenty of offers there.

andrewpiano
Common Wiggler
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 10:02 am
Location: Upstate NY
Contact:

Post by andrewpiano » Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:18 am

av500 wrote: why not just buy 20 from ebay? there are plenty of offers there.
Yeah, I'm just not sure which are ok. There was the warning on the OP about bogus ebay listings and the ebay link listed only ships to UK.

User avatar
Swyndger
Common Wiggler
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 12:17 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Swyndger » Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:16 am

Hello!
I would like to build the Prizma Sequencer, but it seems impossible to get the PCB, chip and panel.
Szabomates last visit here was in April.
No reply to PM.
And a mail send to the address on the Doboz site was never answered.

So have I missed something,or is there no way to get the PCB etc. anymore?

toneburst
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 860
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 2:41 pm
Location: London

Post by toneburst » Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:22 am

It used to be available at http://modularaddict.com, but seems now to be out of stock. You could drop them a mail to see if they're likely to restock.

You might want to leave it a while, though, as they seem to be experiencing some 'issues' right now.

Drop a message here if you find out any more.

a|x

User avatar
ground_state
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:46 pm
Location: North America
Contact:

Post by ground_state » Fri Jul 28, 2017 3:08 pm

andrewpiano wrote:Just trying to get my BOM together. I have a v3 board and I noticed on the BOM that D9, D10 SOD123 says (only on v2 boards). So does that mean I don't solder those parts?
Yeah, don't know what's up with that BOM, but those diodes are REQUIRED. Ask me how I know :D

User avatar
sduck
experimental use of gravity
Posts: 13861
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:03 pm
Location: Vortepexaion, TN, USA

Post by sduck » Fri Jul 28, 2017 3:10 pm

How do you know?
flickr cloud of sound touyube NOT A MODERATOR ANYMORE

User avatar
daynehacks
Common Wiggler
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:52 pm
Location: Grand Forks, BC
Contact:

Post by daynehacks » Sat Jul 29, 2017 12:31 am

ground_state wrote:
andrewpiano wrote:Just trying to get my BOM together. I have a v3 board and I noticed on the BOM that D9, D10 SOD123 says (only on v2 boards). So does that mean I don't solder those parts?
Yeah, don't know what's up with that BOM, but those diodes are REQUIRED. Ask me how I know :D
I believe it's actually the V1 boards that didn't have them, and the v2 and later boards require them.

User avatar
ground_state
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:46 pm
Location: North America
Contact:

Post by ground_state » Sat Jul 29, 2017 2:47 pm

sduck wrote:How do you know?
Mostly I'm being funny; but partly from going over my Mouser shipment, the BOM, and then for the first time the v3 schematic, which is where I realized that the diodes were necessary. Also a PM conversation with a fellow wiggler.

brock0791
Common Wiggler
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:26 am
Location: Toronto

Post by brock0791 » Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:15 pm

can anyone tell me if there's supposed to be 5v at pin 20 (avcc) on the micro. Not getting anything there and no clock but with the white mask i'm having trouble figuring out where it would possibly draw it's 5 from to that pin as it only seems to go to pin 3 (from top) of the 7 pin header

User avatar
Switchzik
Common Wiggler
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 8:41 am

Post by Switchzik » Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:15 pm

Hello,
Any chance to get th encoders in Europe elsewhere than via Aliexpress ?
Thanks !

User avatar
mqmq
Common Wiggler
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:29 am
Location: FR

Post by mqmq » Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:01 am

Just saw the Prizma+ videos on YT but having trouble figuring out what it is : new hardware or new software ?

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1750
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:12 am

mqmq wrote:Just saw the Prizma+ videos on YT but having trouble figuring out what it is : new hardware or new software ?
or both? :)

User avatar
dooj88
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:31 pm
Location: lovettsville, va
Contact:

Post by dooj88 » Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:06 pm

sweet! can't wait to hear more about the portamento.

heya daynehacks!

User avatar
windspirit
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3056
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:43 pm
Location: krellifornia

Post by windspirit » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:12 pm

Do the new prismas cause less noise on the power line? I love mine but I can always hear a sort of buzzing on the row that it's on.

User avatar
heapish
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Lancashire UK

Post by heapish » Wed Aug 30, 2017 7:12 pm

Finally on this...
Which way do the normal blue and red LEDs go? I see no indication.
Cheers

User avatar
heapish
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Lancashire UK

Post by heapish » Wed Aug 30, 2017 7:14 pm

szabomate wrote:
Switchzik wrote:Hello,
I'm about to finish the module but I realize I don't know how to put the LED :mrgreen:
For the RGB led, it should be fine with the schemas you posted earlier but for the red and blue ones I can't tell what's the right derection, what's positive or negative hole ?

Also, what's the purpose of the 6 pins header next to the MCP4822?

Thanks !
3mm LEDs: shorter legs (kathode) facing CV output jacks.
6 pin header: ICSP programmer
Never mind. Found the right word to search (blue!)

boerker
Common Wiggler
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:52 am

Post by boerker » Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:39 am

Built a Prizma a few days ago. Worked fine so far. Only one issue:
It didn´t "boot" every time I powered it up. Which means the Leds stay bright blue and the voltage regulator gets hot. Had to power it up again to get it work. Today it doesn´t come up even after several rounds of powering up..(bright leds, hot regulator..)

:(

boerker
Common Wiggler
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:52 am

Post by boerker » Sat Sep 02, 2017 6:37 am

ah just reflashed the chip. didn´t help. but I noticed something:

fused set with:

avrdude -V -v -p m328p -c usbasp -b 19200 -B 10 -e -u -U efuse:w:0x05:m -U hfuse:w:0xde:m -U lfuse:w:0xff:m

then I burned the firmware with:

avrdude -V -p m328p -c usbasp -b 1 -U flash:w:prizma_v2.hex

terminal says at the end:

avrdude: safemode: Fuses OK (H:05, E:DE, L:FF) (haha its E: DE (without space..-> which makes the smiley lol)

seems like E and H Fuse are reversed

hm?!

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”