Announce Thread: Magpie Modular - uBraids - Braids in 8 HP.

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:20 pm

does it make sound? Did you program the arduino bootloader?

User avatar
diablojoy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1617
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 9:03 pm
Location: melbourne

Post by diablojoy » Fri Jan 05, 2018 3:12 am

does it make sound? Did you program the arduino bootloader?
yes sound is ok and you can hear it stepping through the waveforms when turning the encoder, so it is usable

Arduino bootloader went in fine as far as I can tell
this one = optiboot_atmega328_pro_8mhz
the display program itself also, at least I saw no errors come back at the end
- I had Arduino set to verify after programming.

I am using a genuine AVRISP MK11 to program
on a Wndows 10 machine

thanks for replying :tu:
It probably wont happen today but if it does it definitely wont go smoothly.

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Fri Jan 05, 2018 8:11 am

you probably have an soldering issue around the 4067 or the 595s

senortorpedo
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 6:49 am
Location: Aachen

Post by senortorpedo » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:06 pm

senortorpedo wrote:
bonzai wrote:Hm, from just comparing the datasheets the parts seem to be identical:

74HC2G04GW-Q100: https://assets.nexperia.com/documents/d ... 4_Q100.pdf (from 2014, says "triple inverting schmitt trigger")

74HC2G04GW,125: http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/2342166.pdf (from 2004, says just "dual inverter")

Besides the intro, the rest in the sheets is absolutely identical.
The Q100 part seems to be even suitable for automotive use (ie moar better :P), so in my (hobbyist) opinion it should make no difference. I'd try it... ;)
Alright, thx. I‘ll give them a try. :tu:
So if this is of interest for anyone, I built 5 new uBraids using the 74HC2G04GW-Q100. Working like a charm!

senortorpedo
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 6:49 am
Location: Aachen

Display Issue

Post by senortorpedo » Wed Feb 28, 2018 5:25 am

Hey guys,

anyone ever experienced such an issue with the display?



Sometimes when powering up it is even heavier, like horizontal snow throughout the display.

I checked all connections, from stm to avr, the mux chips inbetween, etc.: no solder joints, connections are fine.

Could it be an issue on that OLED itself?

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Wed Feb 28, 2018 6:41 am

check again, it's a probably soldering issue around the 4067/595s

The failure mode for OLEDs is a stuck line through the text, something shifted like that is a comms problem. I'm not a fan of the ada parts, I dont use them anymore and just roll my own. I am not crazy about the solder paste/hot bar assembly they do, if you put in under the microscope you can see how much of the paste (i.e. the little solder balls) is left un melted and can easily short adjacent pads. They have always replaced them no questions asked but its a hassle and they are pretty expensive
Last edited by Altitude909 on Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

evck
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 11:13 am

Post by evck » Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:40 am

Curious if anyone has a full BOM for this including the OLED, encoders, and jacks. The Octopart BOM is missing those parts at least.

User avatar
henrry
Common Wiggler
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 11:31 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Flashing uBraids nightmare

Post by henrry » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:48 am

Hello.

I just finished to solder the basic components that should alow me to flash the stuff. But I seem to get stuck at the very beginning of the process.

For hardware, I use a MacBook Pro running High Sierra and a FTDI Friend.

First, i tried to follow the steps descriebed on https://github.com/pichenettes/mutable- ... tomization

Installed :
VirtualBox 5.x
VirtualBox Extension Pack
Vagrant

This is what I get with the very first step:
sudo usermod -a -G vboxusers $USER
Password:
sudo: usermod: command not found

:sb:

Then telling to myself that something might happen if I keep going, i do the the following: Plug the module, fire up the rack, press both buttons at the same time and randomly release one after another (no, it s a joke, some nice person said somewhere i had to release the bottom one first and the upper last), plug the FTDI Friend with ground on the left, and do what follows:

Download the https://github.com/pichenettes/mutable- ... master.zip which once dowloaded gives me the mutable-dev-environment directory.

Then I m suppsosed to "start the VM, open a terminal in the mutable-dev-environment directory with the Vagrantfile and run:

vagrant up". :woah:

Not sure about what I m supposed to do this. I understand that sentance as follows: "start the VM, open a terminal in the mutable-dev-environment directory CONTAINING the Vagrantfile and run:

vagrant up"
end up opening the terminal in the mutable-dev-environment directory (thanks to a very nice tutorial showing how you can open the terminal in a specific directory: system pref. > select Keyboard > Shortcuts > Services. Find "New Terminal at Folder" and then you can open terminal from a specific folder when you right clic on it)

Something definitely happens in the terminal... here are the last messages:
"==> default: Mounting shared folders...
default: /vagrant => /Users/henrrybonnet/Desktop/uBraids/mutable-dev-environment
==> default: Machine already provisioned. Run `vagrant provision` or use the `--provision`
==> default: flag to force provisioning. Provisioners marked to run always will still run.
macbook-de-henrry-bonnet:mutable-dev-environment henrrybonnet$ "

Then I run: vagrant ssh
and get:
"New release '16.04.4 LTS' available.
Run 'do-release-upgrade' to upgrade to it.


Last login: Tue Mar 20 14:03:48 2018 from 10.0.2.2
vagrant@vagrant-ubuntu-trusty-64:/vagrant/eurorack-modules$ "

So as I m repeating this in order to share the problem I this time run: do-release-upgrade
and get: "Reading cache

Checking package manager

Continue running under SSH?

This session appears to be running under ssh. It is not recommended
to perform a upgrade over ssh currently because in case of failure it
is harder to recover.

If you continue, an additional ssh daemon will be started at port
'1022'.
Do you want to continue?

Continue [yN]
"
I run y

As I m reading this, I changed my mind : "Do you want to start the upgrade?


17 installed packages are no longer supported by Canonical. You can
still get support from the community.

9 packages are going to be removed. 215 new packages are going to be
installed. 656 packages are going to be upgraded.

You have to download a total of 517 M. This download will take about
7 minutes with your connection.

Installing the upgrade can take several hours. Once the download has
finished, the process cannot be canceled.

Continue [yN] Details [d]"

So I run: N, x to destroy and I here I m back with my location: vagrant@vagrant-ubuntu-trusty-64:/vagrant/eurorack-modules$

From which i run this time: make -f braids/bootloader/makefile hex
And get: make: Nothing to be done for `hex' I guess this result is due to the fact that I ve done already this before...

then: make -f braids/makefile
and get: make: Nothing to be done for `all'.

And then, as the process is describes the use of the Olimex ARM-USB-OCD-H JTAG adapter which I have not, ( i have the FTDI friend and the AVR pocket programmer i don t know the use of...) i get stuck here

:deadbanana:


If anybody hase got a good and complete tutorial for my hardware, thanks to notify me!!!

[/b]

User avatar
henrry
Common Wiggler
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 11:31 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by henrry » Tue Mar 20, 2018 1:36 pm

ZZ Ardoz wrote:
GryphonP3 wrote:Just wondering - I see the build guide says to flash the firmware and then add the pots/OLED. Is it possible to flash the firmware if I have already installed pots/OLED? Having issues with the firmware loading step.. using an FTDIfriend and getting this any time I try to send a

make -f braids/makefile upload
of
make -f braids/makefile upload_combo_tag

command. I can compile the makefile fine, but I am having a lot of trouble having vagrant communicate with the module... This is what I keep getting

Open On-Chip Debugger 0.9.0 (2016-10-16-01:37)
Licensed under GNU GPL v2
For bug reports, read
http://openocd.org/doc/doxygen/bugs.html
hla_jtag
adapter speed: 1000 kHz
adapter_nsrst_delay: 200
trst_and_srst separate srst_gates_jtag trst_push_pull srst_open_drain connect_deassert_srst
Info : The selected transport took over low-level target control. The results might differ compared to plain JTAG/SWD
Info : Unable to match requested speed 1000 kHz, using 950 kHz
Info : Unable to match requested speed 1000 kHz, using 950 kHz
Info : clock speed 950 kHz
Error: open failed
in procedure 'init' called at file "stmlib/programming/jtag/prelude_f10x.cfg", line 23
in procedure 'ocd_bouncer'

make: *** [upload_combo_jtag] Error 1
vagrant@vagrant-ubuntu-trusty-64:/vagrant/eurorack-modules$
You need to use upload_combo_serial with FTDI
How am can I possibly use use upload_combo_serial? and how can I be sure that my FTDI Friend is properly recongnized?

User avatar
henrry
Common Wiggler
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 11:31 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by henrry » Tue Mar 20, 2018 1:37 pm

Yes I did forget to say that my oled screen is already soldered

User avatar
henrry
Common Wiggler
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 11:31 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by henrry » Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:27 am

Flashing of two uBraids is done :banana:
One bug was due to the fact that I actually had to do the boot process twice.(Press left first, center after and then release left first then center buttons)

I followed the process described here:
https://github.com/pichenettes/mutable- ... c1eb954de3

and here:
https://github.com/pichenettes/mutable-dev-environment

At the end I just did: make -f braids/makefile upload_combo_serial
instead of: make -f braids/makefile upload

as was suggested in this link: https://mutable-instruments.net/modules ... en_source/

I just don't know what the difference is. It was suggested somewhere in this post to someone who already had the oled screen soldered.

To test if the soldering is and flashing process is correct i suggest to solder the out jack so you can plug the module and see if you have something getting out of it.

I just need now to flash the OLED screen and solder the rest of the knobs and jacks :bananaguitar:

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:32 pm

henrry wrote:..

I just need now to flash the OLED screen and solder the rest of the knobs and jacks :bananaguitar:
AVRISP + Ardunio

Flash Arduino bootloader, Flash OLED display code

User avatar
Mochi_Stryper
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 2:52 pm

Post by Mochi_Stryper » Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:08 pm

How imperative is it that the 10 µF coupling capacitor, C24, is nonpolar in Braids/uBraids?

I can't help but notice that the UWP1A100MCL1GB is a non-polarized cap and I'm paranoid that substituting any other cap will make the audio sound like trash.

EDIT: A bit of sleuthing has revealed that it isn't necessary to use a non-polarized cap here, but there are plenty of claims to the merits of using NP caps in AC coupling.

wedaman
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:32 pm
Location: Japan

Post by wedaman » Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:23 pm

This module is difficult :waah:

motobor
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 6:11 am
Location: Estonia

Post by motobor » Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:17 pm

Hi guys, I need help with the ubraids. I have everything working correctly - sound is coming out and screen is working smoothly. The issue is that I have extra oscillation on the output. and its there when I turn on the module from the power supply. if the psu is on and i plug in the ribbon cable then the unwanted sound is barely audible. the sound changes when the screen changes. so its related to the OLED somehow. PCB is version 2. Picture shows the main output on the bell waveform.

Im out of ideas what to check next. I have checked all the connections and components. reflowed all the ICs.

Has someone had something similar? Any ideas what to check next?


Image

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Post by Neutron7 » Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:08 am

is it the very first version of ubraids that you have?

motobor
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 6:11 am
Location: Estonia

Post by motobor » Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:01 pm

The board is version2. I have been probing around and seems like 5v regulator is oscillating, but cant understand why.

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Post by Neutron7 » Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:50 pm

that is strange, no dry joint on any capacitors around there or anything?

motobor
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 6:11 am
Location: Estonia

Post by motobor » Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:56 am

Neutron7 wrote:that is strange, no dry joint on any capacitors around there or anything?
Haven´t notice any. even changed some out just to be sure.
Weird part is that I can make the error go away if I unplug and plug in the ribbon cable from the back of the module. when I power on the psu then the noise is 80% of the times there.

Im waiting for new regulators, to change them out.Hoping that maybe this helps

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Post by Neutron7 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:18 am

did you change the regulator itself?

User avatar
Benjamin AM
Common Wiggler
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 5:25 pm
Location: Boise, ID

Post by Benjamin AM » Sat Aug 18, 2018 4:26 pm

I forgot. Do you program Atmega chip with the module connected to power or does the USBTiny programmer power by itsself?

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:32 am

Benjamin AM wrote:I forgot. Do you program Atmega chip with the module connected to power or does the USBTiny programmer power by itsself?
Some programmers do, some dont. You need to check which category the USBtiny falls into

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Post by Neutron7 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 4:06 pm

usbtiny has a jumper for powering the atmega through ISP header, if you use it, then dont power the module at the same time! (i did that on a different module and it was fine)

or you can leave the jumper off, and power the module the normal way.

c0ntr4d1ct10n
Common Wiggler
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:02 am
Location: Australia

Post by c0ntr4d1ct10n » Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:11 am

I've just realised I ordered the wrong Adafruit OLED from Digikey. Its only got 6 pins. It was the only one that Digikey had. Anyone know if there is some way I can still utilise this oled?

[EDIT]
:eek:
My Adafruit OLED 128x64 (also from Digikey) for the uO_C has 8 pins but the uO_C requires 6 pins..
:doh: :mad: :bang: :cry: :deadbanana:

c0ntr4d1ct10n
Common Wiggler
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:02 am
Location: Australia

Post by c0ntr4d1ct10n » Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:03 am

diablojoy wrote:Hi built up a ubraids but have run into this difficulty
I think it is a programming error on my part for the screen
probably to do with the SSD1306 library but not dead certain
anyway the display never changes from what is shown
no matter how much the encoder is operated
wondering if anyone has seen this before ?


Image
I have a similar issue but with all 0's.
I have uploaded the display code with the correct fuses set according to this thread. Also have uploaded both bootloader and braids code to the stm.

When I power it on, I get a bit of sound which changes using the encoder, but it is very low. Only the trigger input works, none of the other CV inputs work. None of the pots do anything.

One weird thing that happens is when I power it on using the Mutable Module Tester and use the clock out from there it makes the sound go crazy - not clocked. When I use a clock from a LFO module, it clocks properly. Also, one weird thing that only happened once with the Module Tester was when I first patched in the clock the screen sort of worked temporarily and I saw all of the writing, but eventually it glitched out and now its back to zeros.

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”