Division 6 DIY Business Card Sequencer

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

User avatar
Shoggoth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:51 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Division 6 DIY Business Card Sequencer

Post by Shoggoth » Fri Sep 30, 2016 6:20 am

I don't need this... But I want this. "Power supply" seems to just use any available offset above 7v on your rig.

http://division-6.com/products/business ... uencer.php

User avatar
masterofstuff124
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:04 pm
Location: Miami

Post by masterofstuff124 » Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:39 am

Oooo are there PCBs available or do I have to buy the 35$ kit?

User avatar
babysealclub
Common Wiggler
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 10:15 pm
Location: Elgin, Il

Post by babysealclub » Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:42 am

Go back in time and attend knobcon. You will get a free one!
Signature:
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 510 character limit. Think about it.

User avatar
masterofstuff124
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:04 pm
Location: Miami

Post by masterofstuff124 » Fri Sep 30, 2016 9:02 am


euromorcego
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2758
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:22 am

Post by euromorcego » Fri Sep 30, 2016 9:02 am

want!
masterofstuff124 wrote:Oooo are there PCBs available or do I have to buy the 35$ kit?
seems like pcbs are available: http://division-6.com/shop/Business-Car ... -Only.html

but you need to upload the code or get a pre-programmed PIC for $5.

User avatar
mskala
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2670
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 7:33 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Post by mskala » Fri Sep 30, 2016 3:48 pm

What kind of current does it draw and will your standard kind of offset generator actually supply that much? It seems like all those LEDs might need a fair bit of power.

User avatar
EATyourGUITAR
has no life
Posts: 5798
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Providence, RI, USA

Post by EATyourGUITAR » Fri Sep 30, 2016 7:03 pm

mskala wrote:What kind of current does it draw and will your standard kind of offset generator actually supply that much? It seems like all those LEDs might need a fair bit of power.
just turn your offset generator up to 11!
WWW.EATYOURGUITAR.COM <---- MY DIY STUFF

User avatar
Shoggoth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:51 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Post by Shoggoth » Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:18 pm

From the page:

Power In: 7-15VDC, tip positive (Don't reverse it or it will get mad). Just find a voltage source on your synth somewhere. If the notes being played by the sequencer seem flat, the power supply you have chosen may be dropping too much under load. If you can't or don't want to use your synth to power the sequencer, you can use a 9V Battery or AC power supply.

User avatar
Scottzilla
Common Wiggler
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post by Scottzilla » Fri Sep 30, 2016 9:50 pm

mskala wrote:What kind of current does it draw and will your standard kind of offset generator actually supply that much? It seems like all those LEDs might need a fair bit of power.
It's in the neighborhood of 5mA. Only one LED is ever on at a time, and collectively they don't run at full duty cycle.

User avatar
Isaiah
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1810
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:31 am

Post by Isaiah » Sat Oct 01, 2016 1:36 am

I've requested a technical diagram showing the PCB dimensions and X,Y co-ordinates of the buttons and LEDs.
I think I have a method to securely mount this sequencer behind a panel.
If all goes well I might do a group buy for a panel if folks are interested.

Didn't realise pre-programmed PICs were available. :doh:
Emailed to ask if I could add two to my order but no reply yet...

User avatar
qfactor
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1483
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:33 am
Location: S'pore

Post by qfactor » Sat Oct 01, 2016 4:57 am

Isaiah wrote:I think I have a method to securely mount this sequencer behind a panel.
If all goes well I might do a group buy for a panel if folks are interested
I'll be the first to voice interest in a panel (or perhaps 5!)

shiftr
Common Wiggler
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 4:33 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by shiftr » Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:48 am

Ordered one and also thinking to put it behind a panel..

User avatar
Shoggoth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:51 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Post by Shoggoth » Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:11 am

Some other photos and a video here too:

http://www.synthtopia.com/content/2016/ ... sequencer/

User avatar
EATyourGUITAR
has no life
Posts: 5798
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Providence, RI, USA

Post by EATyourGUITAR » Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:30 am

5ma is exactly what I calculated being supplied by an opamp with 1K output resistor and output voltage about 11. spinal tap was right the whole time.
WWW.EATYOURGUITAR.COM <---- MY DIY STUFF

User avatar
masterofstuff124
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:04 pm
Location: Miami

Post by masterofstuff124 » Sun Oct 02, 2016 3:01 pm

Panel!!!! seems like you are gonna mount two behind a panel?

I ordered some extra tall momentary switches (http://www.ebay.com/itm/50PCS-6x6x12mm- ... _EShG--ihg)
i figure they would be more playable through a case or panel.

Any mods we can add? plenty of panel space diy etc....

User avatar
qfactor
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1483
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:33 am
Location: S'pore

Post by qfactor » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:11 pm

masterofstuff124 wrote: I ordered some extra tall momentary switches (http://www.ebay.com/itm/50PCS-6x6x12mm- ... _EShG--ihg)
Took a look at these. Are they 99cts for 50 pieces :eek: or 99cts each?
It only says 1 unit but couldn't find any clarification if 1 unit is 50 pieces (since the title says that's the case) or 1 single switch. :despair:

Thanks

jberentsson
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:37 pm
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland

Post by jberentsson » Sun Oct 02, 2016 9:30 pm

qfactor wrote:
masterofstuff124 wrote: I ordered some extra tall momentary switches (http://www.ebay.com/itm/50PCS-6x6x12mm- ... _EShG--ihg)
Took a look at these. Are they 99cts for 50 pieces :eek: or 99cts each?
It only says 1 unit but couldn't find any clarification if 1 unit is 50 pieces (since the title says that's the case) or 1 single switch. :despair:

Thanks
50 pieces for $0.99.

Dichstudios
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 7:34 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Post by Dichstudios » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:16 am



2 cards fit just right in a eurorack.

User avatar
billsship
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:38 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by billsship » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:57 am

Dichstudios wrote:

2 cards fit just right in a eurorack.
Hmm, looks like the board runs parallel to the panel, and jacks mounted off to the side. My question is- considering there are no panel-mounted components, how are those cards mounted to the panel? I don't see any mounting holes on the PCBs. There are a few areas on the front of the board that don't seem to have traces (not sure about the back) where you could drill some.

EDIT: Ah! I just realized you posted that Instagram photo. So, how did you mount the boards to the panel?

User avatar
masterofstuff124
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:04 pm
Location: Miami

Post by masterofstuff124 » Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:18 am

thats a sexy panel!!! want.

User avatar
Isaiah
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1810
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:31 am

Post by Isaiah » Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:27 am

Looks like someone beat me to it! That panel looks fantastic!
Well, I'll finish up my design in the next few days and see if there is any interest.

User avatar
duff
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 748
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: UK

Post by duff » Mon Oct 03, 2016 11:59 am

Dichstudios wrote:

2 cards fit just right in a eurorack.
Nice - -although are the ends of two caps sticking through the panel?

User avatar
Scottzilla
Common Wiggler
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post by Scottzilla » Mon Oct 03, 2016 11:41 pm

I made a drawing showing the locations of all the buttons and LEDs on the board in case anybody else wants to have a go at making a panel or enclosure:

Image

http://division-6.com/files/d6-business ... layout.pdf


I do have a couple things in the works for them, too...

User avatar
masterofstuff124
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:04 pm
Location: Miami

Post by masterofstuff124 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:40 am

hmm considering packaging this as a standalone.(just got my board and IC) and since no panels seem to be ready Ill waste time making a case. But here is my problem.

how do I power it. the standard x4 AA holder only puts out 6v.

9v battery maybe. how long would that power it for? 9v are somewhat expensive.

maybe a LI On and charger. thats prolly overkill.


maybe im just being impatient and should wait for someone to come up with a more elegant solution?

User avatar
Shoggoth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:51 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Post by Shoggoth » Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:33 am

You can use this with the 3.5mm jack for power - no need to engineer something else. http://division-6.com/shop/Power-Supply ... -Plug.html

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”