Rebel Technology LOGOI kit doesn't work (but all seems fine)

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
valouxxx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:01 am
Location: BELGIUM (Bruxelles)

Rebel Technology LOGOI kit doesn't work (but all seems fine)

Post by valouxxx » Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:40 am

Hello

I just finished the LOGOI kit but it doesn't work. I tripple check all the soldures, I tested all the resistances, all is fine. I don't really know how to test the capacitor but they seems ok (mutlimeter reacts with them). The polarised ones are in the right way, also diods.

I got resistance between the +5V and the ground at the header pin of the board.

I got a 5v adaptor on the bus board.

When I put clock/Cv in, nothing append, no trigs output, neihter leds blinking.

I don't know where the problem could be. Maybe the IC's. It's about the 10th kit I made, and clearly not the harder.

As there is no thread for it, and no contacts for helping, I'm here to know what else could I test or test...

Hope my issue could be solved

Thx!

MeyerVonEngland
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:31 am
Location: HERTFORDSHIRE

Post by MeyerVonEngland » Sun Oct 09, 2016 4:15 pm

Exactly the same with my Logoi, I'm sending to Rebel Tech to be looked at. I did a very careful build everything is spot on it's just dead, no LEDS, nothing. I'll let you know how I get on

MeyerVonEngland
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:31 am
Location: HERTFORDSHIRE

Post by MeyerVonEngland » Sun Oct 09, 2016 4:16 pm

Exactly the same with my Logoi, I'm sending to Rebel Tech to be looked at. I did a very careful build everything is spot on it's a just dead, no LEDS, nothing. I'll let you know how I get on

User avatar
valouxxx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:01 am
Location: BELGIUM (Bruxelles)

Post by valouxxx » Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:26 am

Ok cool! I'll wait a little bit
thx

sockmonkey
Common Wiggler
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 11:39 pm
Location: Berlin

Post by sockmonkey » Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:38 am

valouxxx wrote:Ok cool! I'll wait a little bit
thx
If you have an oscilloscope, try to measure activity at the resonator. If you're seeing none, your ATMega is probably dead and will require replacement -- I had a similar problem at one point, replacing the chip and reflashing solved it. Martin will certainly get in touch with you, though, don't despair!

User avatar
valouxxx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:01 am
Location: BELGIUM (Bruxelles)

Post by valouxxx » Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:14 pm

Unfortunately, I don't have one, only a multimeter...
All I can say it's there's around 30 ohm on both side

MeyerVonEngland
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:31 am
Location: HERTFORDSHIRE

Post by MeyerVonEngland » Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:37 pm

Hi I got mine back from Martin at Rebel Tech today and he was a great help. It seems I fried the main controller chip probably by mistakingly plugging the module ribbon in reverse. I'm now just figuring out a few patches.

User avatar
valouxxx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:01 am
Location: BELGIUM (Bruxelles)

Post by valouxxx » Thu Oct 13, 2016 2:12 am

Ok, 2 feedback, 2 chip issues.
So I'll try to switch it

User avatar
valouxxx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:01 am
Location: BELGIUM (Bruxelles)

Post by valouxxx » Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:14 am

I had a similar problem at one point, replacing the chip and reflashing solved it
How did you do this?
I've got an arduino in wich I can plug the ATMEGA. I could first try to reflash it!

User avatar
valouxxx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:01 am
Location: BELGIUM (Bruxelles)

Post by valouxxx » Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:09 am

Hi!

I finally switch the Atmega but it still doesn't work...... :bang:

I check again all the composants, execpt the resettable fuses, cause I can't find how, it seems ok.

Any ideas?

@MeyerVonEngland
Do you have the Martin contact please?

User avatar
valouxxx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:01 am
Location: BELGIUM (Bruxelles)

Post by valouxxx » Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:54 pm

Here's pictures of the board
Image
Image

Trashcan
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:54 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Rebel Technology LOGOI kit doesn't work (but all seems fine)

Post by Trashcan » Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:52 am

Did you ever get this fixed? I've just purchased a pcb/panel set from thonk, and am putting the kit together from RT's BOM on their Github page, and have noticed that C2 is listed as 100uF when it should be 10uF, if you built your module from a kit i guess you should've got the right value cap, but if you built from their BOM you might have the wrong value.
I'm trying, myself, to find the value for the resettable fuses...
Where you come from is gone, where you thought you were going to, weren't never there! And where you are, ain't no good unless you can get away from it!

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”