[BUILD] JasperIN - Midi and CV/Gate Input for Jasper/Wasp

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
afx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 6:14 pm

Post by afx » Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:58 pm

Purveyor2 wrote:
Purveyor2 wrote:
Put me down for a JasperIn w/teensy. Thanks.


order here: viewtopic.php?t=171543&highlight=
Did you get the order or did I mess it up? thx
Where are you located?

Purveyor2
Common Wiggler
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:11 pm
Location: PDX

Post by Purveyor2 » Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:05 pm

Portland, OR

User avatar
mbroers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by mbroers » Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:38 pm

im having some difficulty getting the jasper in cv/gate to respond to the gates that are generated from an sh101 internal sequencer, im not sure why. i dont currently have a scope to see what the gate looks like from the 101 in each scenario.

im using the latest beta firmware.

when i have the 101 cv/gate out to the jasper cv/gate in and i just press keys on the 101, the cv/gate works as expected. when i use the 101 internal sequencer it doesnt respond to any gate changes and just looks like its getting one long gate (indicator light stays lit with little fluctuations when gates are sent). i tested this setup with a pro one instead of the jasper and it works fine, with the pro one envelopes triggering as expected when the source of cv/gate is the 101 internal sequencer...

is this a sensitivity thing that can be possibly adjusted in the firmware?

User avatar
mbroers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by mbroers » Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:34 pm

also doesnt seem like midi is working with the latest 20 beta in my rig. i can switch back to .09a and get a sequence working from ableton. then i upload the latest beta and set midi channel and cv range (i keep it on channel 1 anyway..) and the same sequence from ableton that worked in .09a doesnt trigger the jasper on beta 20. i tried putting the notes in different octaves just to see if i would get any response but no dice.

afx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 6:14 pm

Post by afx » Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:00 am

mbroers wrote:im having some difficulty getting the jasper in cv/gate to respond to the gates that are generated from an sh101 internal sequencer, im not sure why. i dont currently have a scope to see what the gate looks like from the 101 in each scenario.

im using the latest beta firmware.

when i have the 101 cv/gate out to the jasper cv/gate in and i just press keys on the 101, the cv/gate works as expected. when i use the 101 internal sequencer it doesnt respond to any gate changes and just looks like its getting one long gate (indicator light stays lit with little fluctuations when gates are sent). i tested this setup with a pro one instead of the jasper and it works fine, with the pro one envelopes triggering as expected when the source of cv/gate is the 101 internal sequencer...

is this a sensitivity thing that can be possibly adjusted in the firmware?
The GATE of the 101 is not off long enough to retrigger a new note on the jasper. The trigger on the jasper is a 50Hz signal, if I recall correctly it needs the trigger signal to be low/off for over 10ms to retrigger a new note.

I have access to a 101 so I will test what comes out of the gate while using the sequencer.

afx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 6:14 pm

Post by afx » Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:01 am

mbroers wrote:also doesnt seem like midi is working with the latest 20 beta in my rig. i can switch back to .09a and get a sequence working from ableton. then i upload the latest beta and set midi channel and cv range (i keep it on channel 1 anyway..) and the same sequence from ableton that worked in .09a doesnt trigger the jasper on beta 20. i tried putting the notes in different octaves just to see if i would get any response but no dice.
Did you unplug the CV/GATE cables while testing midi?

User avatar
mbroers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by mbroers » Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:12 am

afx wrote:
The GATE of the 101 is not off long enough to retrigger a new note on the jasper. The trigger on the jasper is a 50Hz signal, if I recall correctly it needs the trigger signal to be low/off for over 10ms to retrigger a new note.

I have access to a 101 so I will test what comes out of the gate while using the sequencer.
Makes sense, i was hoping something in software could assist but im guessing the cv/gate conversion isnt controlled there.

User avatar
mbroers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by mbroers » Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:14 am

afx wrote:
Did you unplug the CV/GATE cables while testing midi?
Yeah i was going between firmwares with no cv gate plugged in just trying to get midi working on the latest.

User avatar
mbroers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by mbroers » Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:49 am

Double post

User avatar
mbroers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by mbroers » Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:55 am

has anyone else updated to the new firmware and had midi work as expected?

afx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 6:14 pm

Post by afx » Thu Feb 22, 2018 3:10 pm

mbroers wrote:has anyone else updated to the new firmware and had midi work as expected?
Check if R12 and R14 are properly soldered.

User avatar
mbroers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by mbroers » Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:17 pm

will do, thanks for the tip - for clarification midi works fine on the previous firmware and this was a prebuilt jasperin order.

afx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 6:14 pm

Post by afx » Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:27 pm

mbroers wrote:will do, thanks for the tip - for clarification midi works fine on the previous firmware and this was a prebuilt jasperin order.
I didn't had those 2 resistors properly soldered on the unit that I used to test the firmware, so the old firmware was not working as it was intended.

User avatar
mbroers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by mbroers » Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:53 pm

afx wrote:
mbroers wrote:will do, thanks for the tip - for clarification midi works fine on the previous firmware and this was a prebuilt jasperin order.
I didn't had those 2 resistors properly soldered on the unit that I used to test the firmware, so the old firmware was not working as it was intended.
R12 and R14 seem soldered fine on my prebuilt jasperin. old firmware is still working fine for midi, new latest firmware is not responding to midi.

afx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 6:14 pm

Post by afx » Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:09 am

mbroers wrote:
afx wrote:
mbroers wrote:will do, thanks for the tip - for clarification midi works fine on the previous firmware and this was a prebuilt jasperin order.
I didn't had those 2 resistors properly soldered on the unit that I used to test the firmware, so the old firmware was not working as it was intended.
R12 and R14 seem soldered fine on my prebuilt jasperin. old firmware is still working fine for midi, new latest firmware is not responding to midi.
What voltages do you have on the south side (label side) of those resistors with and without cables plugged?

User avatar
mbroers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by mbroers » Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:16 am

Due to some time constraints I had to seal this up with the .09a firmware so I will be holding off to troubleshoot further until the sequencer stuff is available. I'll be cracking it back open at that time for sure.

User avatar
col
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 464
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:47 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by col » Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:21 pm

The links to the firmware are not working?

wget http://misw.us/jasperin/JasperIN.v0.09a.zip
--2018-03-29 11:17:08-- http://misw.us/jasperin/JasperIN.v0.09a.zip
Resolving misw.us (misw.us)... 74.208.236.44
Connecting to misw.us (misw.us)|74.208.236.44|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
2018-03-29 11:17:24 ERROR 404: Not Found.


wget http://misw.us/jasperin/JasperINBeta20.zip
--2018-03-29 11:17:56-- http://misw.us/jasperin/JasperINBeta20.zip
Resolving misw.us (misw.us)... 74.208.236.44
Connecting to misw.us (misw.us)|74.208.236.44|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
2018-03-29 11:18:12 ERROR 404: Not Found.

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3401
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:41 am

Fixed

User avatar
col
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 464
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:47 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by col » Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:12 am

Altitude909 wrote:Fixed
:tu:

JanneI
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 3:28 am

Post by JanneI » Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:30 am

Installed the 20 beta and now midi doesn't work at all. I put the old 0.9 back, it works..

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3401
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:51 am

JanneI wrote:Installed the 20 beta and now midi doesn't work at all. I put the old 0.9 back, it works..
Somethings up , youre not the first to report this. What midi controller are you using?

JanneI
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 3:28 am

Post by JanneI » Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:14 am

Altitude909 wrote:
JanneI wrote:Installed the 20 beta and now midi doesn't work at all. I put the old 0.9 back, it works..
Somethings up , youre not the first to report this. What midi controller are you using?
Arturia keystep

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3401
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:48 pm

JanneI wrote:
Altitude909 wrote:
JanneI wrote:Installed the 20 beta and now midi doesn't work at all. I put the old 0.9 back, it works..
Somethings up , youre not the first to report this. What midi controller are you using?
Arturia keystep
Try hitting the learn when it's powered up and pressing a key.

BambooGuerilla
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:16 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Jasper in Pin Headers

Post by BambooGuerilla » Mon May 14, 2018 12:43 pm

Hi,

For what are the pin headers ment for. (Vs,Ck,Mi,M8,M10,//Vs,Ss,Mo,M7,M9)

Also I read something in the new beta about sequences and arpeggios. How does this work.



Thanks in advanced.

Menno

afx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 6:14 pm

Re: Jasper in Pin Headers

Post by afx » Mon May 14, 2018 3:49 pm

BambooGuerilla wrote:Hi,

For what are the pin headers ment for. (Vs,Ck,Mi,M8,M10,//Vs,Ss,Mo,M7,M9)

Also I read something in the new beta about sequences and arpeggios. How does this work.



Thanks in advanced.

Menno
The header is for access to unused pins on the teensy, those can be used by another peripheral device like the sequencer addon.

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”