Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, lisa, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
Faustgeist
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 1:48 pm
Location: Columbia, SC

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by Faustgeist » Mon Aug 03, 2020 8:56 am

Super excited for the 5U version of this!
Seeking the esoteric and funky in 5U/COTK/MOTM and MODCAN B, send me a message if you are selling gear and thanks!

User avatar
ryk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by ryk » Mon Aug 03, 2020 2:54 pm

xahdrez wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 12:41 pm

Hi Ryk
Thanks for getting back to me. I've checked those components, and all are as expected (R28=120k, R32=10k, C12=1nJ63). Reflowing the joints on the connecters between the boards has fixed the issues with the pots and all now track properly in test mode. All switches work as expected (assuming that occasional jumps back to led 1 if you move slowly between switch stages is normal). When I calibrate CV1 with VR1 to set 5V at step 5, I get quite accurate voltage steps, but just not the right amounts (S1=2V, S2=2.75V, S3=3.5V, S4= 4. 75V, S5=5V) so it seem it is functioning at wrong ratios some how. Putting the trimmer as low as possible, I'm not able to get step 1 to 1V (only down to 1.24V) so seems I'm missing something else! Any further ideas?
Many thanks!
Nick

Hello

Sorry I am away on holiday for a week, so can’t easily help you at the moment.

Can you tell me exactly how you are measuring the CV output ( you would be surprised how some people are using the multimeter )

Does CH2 calibrate ok ?

Which firmware do you have ?

ryk
...................................................
https://instagram.com/ryk_modular/

User avatar
xahdrez
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 314
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:16 pm
Location: London

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by xahdrez » Mon Aug 03, 2020 3:55 pm

ryk wrote:
Mon Aug 03, 2020 2:54 pm
xahdrez wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 12:41 pm

Hi Ryk
Thanks for getting back to me. I've checked those components, and all are as expected (R28=120k, R32=10k, C12=1nJ63). Reflowing the joints on the connecters between the boards has fixed the issues with the pots and all now track properly in test mode. All switches work as expected (assuming that occasional jumps back to led 1 if you move slowly between switch stages is normal). When I calibrate CV1 with VR1 to set 5V at step 5, I get quite accurate voltage steps, but just not the right amounts (S1=2V, S2=2.75V, S3=3.5V, S4= 4. 75V, S5=5V) so it seem it is functioning at wrong ratios some how. Putting the trimmer as low as possible, I'm not able to get step 1 to 1V (only down to 1.24V) so seems I'm missing something else! Any further ideas?
Many thanks!
Nick

Hello

Sorry I am away on holiday for a week, so can’t easily help you at the moment.

Can you tell me exactly how you are measuring the CV output ( you would be surprised how some people are using the multimeter )

Does CH2 calibrate ok ?

Which firmware do you have ?

ryk
Thanks Ryk - CH2 callibrates fine. CV output measured through ring and tip of jack lead, using 20V setting on multimeter (CH2 works exactly as expected this way so hopefully that's not it!!). Chip is 185 v3.3 but has not been updated via sysex yet (was assuming that wouldn't make such a difference, but maybe I'm wrong? Don't worry about getting back while your on holiday - have a nice break and let me know your thoughts when you get a chance!

User avatar
xahdrez
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 314
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:16 pm
Location: London

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by xahdrez » Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:46 am

For any experiencing similar calibration issues to mine - I've updated the firmware and all calibrated fine. Guess it must be to do with the modifications outlined in the build doc combined with older firmware? Anyway, now running latest firmware and everything quantises nicely!

scrichton
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:36 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by scrichton » Tue Aug 18, 2020 8:14 am

Hi Ryk,

Sorry for the delay in response, just had a new daughter arrive so time has been crazy!

I've tried swapping the Caps and double checking against the BOM. All is fine.

I get slew on everything and the portamento on quantised modes doesn't change anything either on or off. I've re-flowed the pot and the boards again checking for bad bits.

- Portomento dial does nothing as far as I can tell. Both in Quantised and non-quantised
- All Quantised modes have slew, Un-Quantised have none
- Have tried all gate settings etc
- Calibrations and test mode are all ok
- Module appears to work in all other ways.


I'm aware you are in the UK, so if are contactable in other ways PM me and maybe we could have a very quick call to allow me to diagnose with you. as it appears as though there is a fault in something on this.

Steven

ryk wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 9:32 am
scrichton wrote:
Wed Jul 29, 2020 4:04 am
Does anyone know if there is a "reset all to default" keypress option? I cannot get rid of note slew.

It would appear that in 2v and 5v quantised mode although the steps have portamento off, there is slew on the notes from one to the other. Un-quantised 5v is ok.

If I enter the menu mode, all lights off. I have also attempted to set the shortest gate per step. Out of menu gate is lowest as is the global portamento control.

In the setup mode, I have a minor scale selected and all other options are off.

It's starting to drive me mad!

Any help is appreciated.
Steven
Hello

Is this a new problem, or it has happened since building the kit ?

If you have no-slew on the un-quantised output, but slew on the quantise output, then something other
than the portamento is causing the problem.
[ As quanitsed and un-quntised CV passes through the same portamento circuit ]

I would suggest that you check C12 & C15 are the correct 1nF value [ marked 1n], as these look
very similar to the 100nF capacitors [ which are marked 1k100 ].
If these were used by mistake this would definately cause some slew between notes.


ryk

User avatar
Faustgeist
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 1:48 pm
Location: Columbia, SC

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by Faustgeist » Tue Aug 18, 2020 9:23 am

Sooo want the 5U version of this! :bananaguitar: :bananaguitar: :sb: :)
Seeking the esoteric and funky in 5U/COTK/MOTM and MODCAN B, send me a message if you are selling gear and thanks!

scrichton
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:36 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by scrichton » Tue Aug 18, 2020 12:10 pm

@ryk

Could my issues with portamento be due to a bad firmware flash? It's 3.3X

"For any experiencing similar calibration issues to mine - I've updated the firmware and all calibrated fine. Guess it must be to do with the modifications outlined in the build doc combined with older firmware? Anyway, now running latest firmware and everything quantises nicely!"

User avatar
ryk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by ryk » Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:30 am

scrichton wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 8:14 am
Hi Ryk,

Sorry for the delay in response, just had a new daughter arrive so time has been crazy!

I've tried swapping the Caps and double checking against the BOM. All is fine.

I get slew on everything and the portamento on quantised modes doesn't change anything either on or off. I've re-flowed the pot and the boards again checking for bad bits.

- Portomento dial does nothing as far as I can tell. Both in Quantised and non-quantised
- All Quantised modes have slew, Un-Quantised have none
- Have tried all gate settings etc
- Calibrations and test mode are all ok
- Module appears to work in all other ways.


I'm aware you are in the UK, so if are contactable in other ways PM me and maybe we could have a very quick call to allow me to diagnose with you. as it appears as though there is a fault in something on this.

Steven

Hello

Congratulations on the birth of your baby !!
From experience, getting them to sleep regularily is the most important bit. [ esp for your sanity ! ]


About the slew problem:

If the slew is not appearing on the non quantised setting, then the problem is not
to do with the portamento circuit, portamento control, or portamento settings, or firmware.

It is almost definately something to do with R28 or C12 or both.
Please double check these values, especially C12 [ as mentioned previously it looks very similar to C13 ]

If you prefer to chat off list, send us a message via the shop contact form.
Also if your in the UK, you can send us your module and we can take a look.

Cheers
RYK
...................................................
https://instagram.com/ryk_modular/

User avatar
misa
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:18 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by misa » Fri Aug 28, 2020 5:52 am

Where can I find the firmware 3.33 update? I am looking at the instructions how to upgrade, but where is the update?

kainiggemann.bandcamp.com
anterasa.bandcamp.com
gratofficial.bandcamp.com
thedorf.net

User avatar
ryk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by ryk » Sun Aug 30, 2020 2:01 am

misa wrote:
Fri Aug 28, 2020 5:52 am
Where can I find the firmware 3.33 update? I am looking at the instructions how to upgrade, but where is the update?
Hello

Send me a PM with your email and I can forward you the firmware.

It is currently a Beta version , but seems pretty stable.

ryk
...................................................
https://instagram.com/ryk_modular/

User avatar
oilpanic
Common Wiggler
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:27 am
Location: Petaluma CA

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by oilpanic » Fri Sep 04, 2020 6:41 pm

Just a quick note regarding the portamento. If you do like me and put the wrong cap in c15 you will get no glide whatsoever in any mode. So don’t do that.

User avatar
soup
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 598
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:14 pm

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by soup » Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:17 pm

I just finished building one (really nice kit by the way) and am having problems with one of the steps. Both of the sliders for step 7 seem to be stuck in the uppermost function (1) regardless of their physical position. The soldering looks ok under a magnifying glass but I reflowed it just in case. The switches don't appear to be fried as I'm reading the same positions connected as on one of the functioning switches. I don't know how they're supposed to connect to the rest of the circuit though and don't know what else to check?

User avatar
ryk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by ryk » Sat Sep 05, 2020 1:15 pm

soup wrote:
Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:17 pm
I just finished building one (really nice kit by the way) and am having problems with one of the steps. Both of the sliders for step 7 seem to be stuck in the uppermost function (1) regardless of their physical position. The soldering looks ok under a magnifying glass but I reflowed it just in case. The switches don't appear to be fried as I'm reading the same positions connected as on one of the functioning switches. I don't know how they're supposed to connect to the rest of the circuit though and don't know what else to check?

Hello

Sorry to hear you are having problems.

Does the CV control for stage 7 work in Hardware Test mode ?

If yes, then check the voltage on both ends of diodes D6 & D7.
These supply the voltage to the stage 7 switches, and should read about 4.9v when stage 7 is selected in hardware test mode.

ryk
...................................................
https://instagram.com/ryk_modular/

User avatar
soup
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 598
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:14 pm

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by soup » Sat Sep 05, 2020 2:45 pm

ryk wrote:
Sat Sep 05, 2020 1:15 pm
Hello

Sorry to hear you are having problems.

Does the CV control for stage 7 work in Hardware Test mode ?

If yes, then check the voltage on both ends of diodes D6 & D7.
These supply the voltage to the stage 7 switches, and should read about 4.9v when stage 7 is selected in hardware test mode.

ryk
Thank you for your response. I think I fixed my problem...

I was not reading 4.9v at D6 & D7 but rather a fluctuating negative voltage on the anode of both D6 & D7. This made me think that something was not connected and probing around it seemed the diodes for the other stages were each connected to one of a series of pins on one of the female headers but D6 & D7 were not. The soldering looked ok and I tried reflowing it but that didn't help. So I ran a wire from one of the diodes to what I'm calling pin 7 and everything now works as expected. Yay!

User avatar
soup
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 598
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:14 pm

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by soup » Sat Sep 12, 2020 8:12 pm

also...
IMG_1230.jpg
:banana: :nana:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
ryk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by ryk » Sun Sep 13, 2020 5:02 pm

soup wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 8:12 pm
also...
IMG_1230.jpg
:banana: :nana:

Good news !

Glad you have sorted out the problem.


ryk
...................................................
https://instagram.com/ryk_modular/

User avatar
misa
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:18 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by misa » Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:47 am

I have a problem with my RYK M185.

It worked flawlessly at first, now I can't get the red button to work, thus leaving me without a chance to get into the menu and change the MIdi channel (or to get into Firmware update mode, etc).

what could be the cause of this?

what's the best way to find the problem? Reflow the button? (which obviously entails a lot of disassembly...)

I didn't build the module myself, but got it from a friend who did.

kainiggemann.bandcamp.com
anterasa.bandcamp.com
gratofficial.bandcamp.com
thedorf.net

User avatar
soup
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 598
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:14 pm

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by soup » Mon Sep 14, 2020 8:55 am

You could probably reflow the switch without removing the panel, the main pcb can be pulled off, but first you should use a continuity tester and check that the switch itself is working.

User avatar
ryk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by ryk » Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:33 am

misa wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:47 am
I have a problem with my RYK M185.

It worked flawlessly at first, now I can't get the red button to work, thus leaving me without a chance to get into the menu and change the MIdi channel (or to get into Firmware update mode, etc).

what could be the cause of this?

what's the best way to find the problem? Reflow the button? (which obviously entails a lot of disassembly...)

I didn't build the module myself, but got it from a friend who did.

Hello

As Soup said, you should first test the switch is working with the continuity setting on a multimeter. ( with module switched off )

See attached picture for the pins to test.
2EBAF326-7601-4019-A54C-DB461417E08D.jpeg
If the test shows the switch to be working, then switch
on the module.
Whilst pressing the Red button, test for DC volts between GND ( ring of a black jack socket ) and D1 and D2. Test both ends of the diodes ( anode and cathode )

These should read approx 5V.
If not, then either the tracks to the diodes are not good or there is a problem with the diodes ( very rare ).


ryk
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
...................................................
https://instagram.com/ryk_modular/

User avatar
misa
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:18 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by misa » Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:14 pm

Thanks a lot for the advice. I will give it a go!

kainiggemann.bandcamp.com
anterasa.bandcamp.com
gratofficial.bandcamp.com
thedorf.net

User avatar
misa
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:18 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by misa » Fri Sep 18, 2020 9:36 am

ryk wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:33 am

These should read approx 5V.
If not, then either the tracks to the diodes are not good or there is a problem with the diodes ( very rare ).


Hi Ryk,

I tested them and the lower end (near the edge of the PCB) read about 4.95V, the upper end reads a little under 4.5V.

The continuity on the button works.

Is 4.5V within the tolerance or should I replace the diodes? (The red button still doesn't work, of course)

Thank you!

kainiggemann.bandcamp.com
anterasa.bandcamp.com
gratofficial.bandcamp.com
thedorf.net

User avatar
ryk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by ryk » Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:32 pm

misa wrote:
Fri Sep 18, 2020 9:36 am
ryk wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:33 am

These should read approx 5V.
If not, then either the tracks to the diodes are not good or there is a problem with the diodes ( very rare ).


Hi Ryk,

I tested them and the lower end (near the edge of the PCB) read about 4.95V, the upper end reads a little under 4.5V.

The continuity on the button works.

Is 4.5V within the tolerance or should I replace the diodes? (The red button still doesn't work, of course)

Thank you!
According to those readings it should be working.

Do the Next and Prev buttons work ?
( They share the same data lines as the Reset button )

ryk
...................................................
https://instagram.com/ryk_modular/

User avatar
misa
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:18 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by misa » Fri Sep 18, 2020 4:35 pm

Yes, the Next and Prev buttons work as they should.

I just experienced a crash after sliding the play direction slider all the way to the right (play once) and back to forward — the unit hung and I had to power cycle it.

The start/stop (grey) works as it should, so do Next and Previous.. Only the red button does nothing.

Thank you for the help!

kainiggemann.bandcamp.com
anterasa.bandcamp.com
gratofficial.bandcamp.com
thedorf.net

User avatar
ryk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by ryk » Sun Sep 20, 2020 2:57 pm

misa wrote:
Fri Sep 18, 2020 4:35 pm
Yes, the Next and Prev buttons work as they should.

I just experienced a crash after sliding the play direction slider all the way to the right (play once) and back to forward — the unit hung and I had to power cycle it.

The start/stop (grey) works as it should, so do Next and Previous.. Only the red button does nothing.

Thank you for the help!
Hello

RHS mode switch is not a 'play once' mode, it is a Fixed Sequence length mode.
This sets the sequence to a fixed number of total clock pulses, regardless of how many
pulses are set by the Stage Count switches.
Please read the manula for further explanation.

If the Fixed Mode is set to the maximum of 32 clock pulses, then sometimes it appears to be
frozen, as it is waiting to finish the total clock pulse count before starting again from stage 1.
Although in certain situations, the seq can go 'into the wilderness' whn the switching out of
Fixed Length mode when running.
This has now been fixed the new firmware update V3.33

Regarding your Red Button problem, can I check that you have been holding it for 3 seconds
to enable the menu settings ?
You can also try pressing the Next and Prev blue buttons
and holding down for 3 seconds. This should allow you to enter the Menu Settings.

ryk
...................................................
https://instagram.com/ryk_modular/

User avatar
misa
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:18 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ryk M185 Sequencer - per step repeat and gate mode

Post by misa » Sun Sep 20, 2020 3:45 pm

ryk wrote:
Sun Sep 20, 2020 2:57 pm
misa wrote:
Fri Sep 18, 2020 4:35 pm
Yes, the Next and Prev buttons work as they should.

I just experienced a crash after sliding the play direction slider all the way to the right (play once) and back to forward — the unit hung and I had to power cycle it.

The start/stop (grey) works as it should, so do Next and Previous.. Only the red button does nothing.

Thank you for the help!
Hello

RHS mode switch is not a 'play once' mode, it is a Fixed Sequence length mode.
This sets the sequence to a fixed number of total clock pulses, regardless of how many
pulses are set by the Stage Count switches.
Please read the manula for further explanation.

If the Fixed Mode is set to the maximum of 32 clock pulses, then sometimes it appears to be
frozen, as it is waiting to finish the total clock pulse count before starting again from stage 1.
Although in certain situations, the seq can go 'into the wilderness' whn the switching out of
Fixed Length mode when running.
This has now been fixed the new firmware update V3.33

Regarding your Red Button problem, can I check that you have been holding it for 3 seconds
to enable the menu settings ?
You can also try pressing the Next and Prev blue buttons
and holding down for 3 seconds. This should allow you to enter the Menu Settings.

ryk

Thank you for clearing that up, sorry I missed that.

I have tried many times and the red button doesn’t do it, I think I have counted up to ten seconds.

It used to work, and I don’t remember when it stopped working or what might have caused it.

I will try the blue buttons (together, right?) tomorrow.

Again thank you!

kainiggemann.bandcamp.com
anterasa.bandcamp.com
gratofficial.bandcamp.com
thedorf.net

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”