Euro power from 15v supply?

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
oozitron
solder fume huffer
Posts: 823
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: in a beautiful place out in the country

Euro power from 15v supply?

Post by oozitron » Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:19 am

Are there any circuits for obtaining 12v Euro power from a 15v supply?

I would like to use a Yarns in my 15v system, but would like to have just one power supply if possible...

thanks!
Drew
Never want to come down, never want to put my feet back down on the ground

User avatar
khakifridge
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 742
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:56 pm
Location: UK

Post by khakifridge » Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:22 am

Look up 7812 and 7912 datasheets.

User avatar
Morphology
Common Wiggler
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 7:31 am
Location: Kent, England

Post by Morphology » Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:33 pm

Just buy a uZeus?
There are only 10 different types of people: Those who understand binary, and those who don't

User avatar
cygmu
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1597
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 3:33 pm
Location: UK

Post by cygmu » Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:46 pm

If by 15V you mean you ave a +/-15V supply, then for the case of Yarns specifically it looks to me like it will just work. Everything inside the circuit is handled by voltage references, with the exception of the power supplies to the op amps, and those will be happy on +/-15V.

Obviously this applies to Yarns only -- other modules would have to be looked at individually, but on the whole the Mutable modules tend to be the kind of design so many of them will work unaltered.

And, fair warning, I have not tried this and could have missed something; but I'm pretty confident. The only issue I can see might be power dissipation in the voltage regulators. If they get too hot because of receiving too high an input voltage they could shut down. Hmmm.

EDIT: the Mutable Yarns page says the current draw on the +12V line is 60mA so the regulators are not handling much current at all, and the extra 3V is very unlikely to be an issue.

User avatar
oozitron
solder fume huffer
Posts: 823
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: in a beautiful place out in the country

Post by oozitron » Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:30 pm

I have a set of the big voltage regs (with the metal tab & screwhole). Can I just run the +/-15 volts (coming from the Blacet power supply) into those two regulators and then to the module?

Or would any other caps or resistors be needed?

Drew
Never want to come down, never want to put my feet back down on the ground

User avatar
nurbivore
Common Wiggler
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 7:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Post by nurbivore » Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:30 am

oozitron wrote:I have a set of the big voltage regs (with the metal tab & screwhole). Can I just run the +/-15 volts (coming from the Blacet power supply) into those two regulators and then to the module?

Or would any other caps or resistors be needed?

Drew
Usually a few other components will be required, or at least recommended. Read the datasheets for your regulators, they'll have some example schematics.

User avatar
keninverse
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1014
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: mission control htx

Post by keninverse » Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:28 am

I'd regulate down using a LM317T/337T for better line/load regulation and you just may want to add another 12V module somewhere down the line. Just follow the TI datasheet or buy a pcb on ebay. They're everywhere.

User avatar
Jaytee
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 783
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:12 pm

Post by Jaytee » Thu Feb 21, 2019 1:12 pm

I’m confused why we’re still talking about external regulator circuits. Is cygmu’s analysis of Yarns not correct? Or are we just discussing the general case at this point?

User avatar
oozitron
solder fume huffer
Posts: 823
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: in a beautiful place out in the country

Post by oozitron » Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:09 pm

If it's safe to run Yarns on +/-15v then that would be great.

But I certainly don't want to fry it...!

I'm putting it in a case with four Oakley ASVs, a "Four Voice" clone :sb:

So one power supply for the whole thing would be wonderful.

Drew
Never want to come down, never want to put my feet back down on the ground

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7479
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

Post by BugBrand » Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:37 am

I concur with cygmu.

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”