Help me tell the DIY shop guy he's wrong (?)

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Demi Jon
Switched Out

Help me tell the DIY shop guy he's wrong (?)

Post by Demi Jon » Mon Nov 11, 2019 1:51 am

I bought a new soldering iron today, not a super-expensive one or a soldering station, but a $40 temperature adjustable one. I soldered in the first few resistors in my DIY kit no worries, but then the point just stopped getting as hot as the shaft of the tip. Like, it would flow if I touched it to the sides but not to the top 1.5cm of the tip.

I took it back to the shop and the guy tested it, and he said 'the point never gets as hot'. To me this sounds like nonsense -- my cheap $10 soldering iron always got hot at the point, before the tip distorted and became useless. How else am I supposed to solder with precision, and also why have a point if it doesn't get hot?

I'm pretty new to DIYing, have only ever soldered a few passive modules. But I just treated myself to a Fonitronik Cascade and a new soldering iron, third arm and solder sucker, to try to get more into it. So I was thinking 'Oh well, maybe I don't know what I'm talking about'.

Am I right or is the shop manager right? :help:

NV
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by NV » Mon Nov 11, 2019 2:34 am

Your tip likely became oxidized, which affects heat transfer. This can happen with any iron but it's easier with cheap tips and certain solders. You can polish minor oxidation off with some flux and brass wool, or in more severe cases with tip activator or a polishing bar.