midiphy LoopA

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1880
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by djthopa » Fri Nov 27, 2020 7:07 pm

Thanks for the quick reply! Im think im going to order, mouser also has nearly all the parts.
Cheers!

User avatar
latigid on
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:05 am

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by latigid on » Sat Nov 28, 2020 4:31 am

Great! The 2k2 THT resistors would ship in a few days or you probably have some in the parts drawer. Actually you could use any value (1k/4k7) as the pullups are for unused I2C ports. But probably a resistor should go in.

The right-angle tact switch has a long lead time. It's not needed for operation but you could replace it with a taller version, just the switch wouldn't be aligned with the panel cutout. Conrad apparently will have them in a few weeks if you use the EU part number PHAP3363.

Happy building!

Best,
Andy

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1880
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by djthopa » Sat Nov 28, 2020 5:08 am

Hey Andy!

Thanks for the reply :)
Yes those 2 are the components i was missing.
Thanks for the info.
Farnell has the switch, but the posting is ridiculous !

I wanted to ask you, i have been reading the manual, but could not come up with an answer, how many different cc can i have per clip?

Thanks a lot for your help and support!

User avatar
latigid on
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:05 am

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by latigid on » Sat Nov 28, 2020 5:58 am

All good!
djthopa wrote:
Sat Nov 28, 2020 5:08 am
I wanted to ask you, i have been reading the manual, but could not come up with an answer, how many different cc can i have per clip?
Presently there is only one CC per clip (track) as an "extra layer". This was already an add-on to the the original note looping :). There is a plan to allow more CC recording (and other data types) in the future.

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1880
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by djthopa » Sat Nov 28, 2020 6:31 am

Thanks for the reply. Hmm just one cc per track might no do it for me unfortunately.
Thanks for your guidance and support!
cheers

User avatar
Modulus
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 522
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:49 pm
Location: Florida

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by Modulus » Sat Nov 28, 2020 9:44 pm

Hi Andy,
Got my Loopa and getting trained up on the ends and outs. One thing I'm having trouble with is slaving the tempo and sequencer start/stop to an external clock. My clock is coming in on IN1 port and I set it as such in the setup under MCLK IN -> DIN1. But Loopa acts like it is still the master clock and ignores the external clock. How is this accomplished?
Thanks for any ideas.

User avatar
latigid on
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:05 am

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by latigid on » Sun Nov 29, 2020 5:18 am

Hello,

LoopA should follow any clock with the right settings, so I would first check that the clock is being sent? What device is it? Can you check for the clock bits in the MIDI monitor? Also try another clock source, try a DAW over USB MIDI etc.

Best,
Andy

User avatar
Modulus
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 522
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:49 pm
Location: Florida

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by Modulus » Sun Nov 29, 2020 11:14 am

latigid on wrote:
Sun Nov 29, 2020 5:18 am
Hello,

LoopA should follow any clock with the right settings, so I would first check that the clock is being sent? What device is it? Can you check for the clock bits in the MIDI monitor? Also try another clock source, try a DAW over USB MIDI etc.

Best,
Andy
Thanks, you were right. Was a bad connection, I tried a different clock source and it worked ok. :doh:

User avatar
latigid on
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:05 am

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by latigid on » Sun Nov 29, 2020 11:28 am

All good! :nana:

User avatar
Modulus
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 522
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:49 pm
Location: Florida

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by Modulus » Sun Nov 29, 2020 11:39 am

djthopa wrote:
Sat Nov 28, 2020 6:31 am
Thanks for the reply. Hmm just one cc per track might no do it for me unfortunately.
Thanks for your guidance and support!
cheers
+1 would def be nice to have additional cc modulation lanes per track if somehow possible in the future :guinness:

TL072
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 3:42 pm

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by TL072 » Mon Dec 07, 2020 6:06 pm

Hey, since my prior comments on this threat I bought and built a LoopA. The Midiphy people (you are in this thread - thank you again) are very nice and were extremely patient in helping me debug a few stupid things that were a result of my own carelessness. I am really really enjoying using the LoopA. Several nice little tracks have already come together in the few weeks I have had it. It sits in a nice sweet spot between simplicity and limits, which keeps me focused on music and actually playing and jamming, but also flexibility. Another funny unexpected benefit: when I bought it, it had not occurred to me how useful it might be as a little midi router for several devices (even if the instruments are not being sequenced by the LoopA).

I am not sure if there is a better place than here to make feature requests? :) So my request I think would hopefully be pretty simple. It is just to be able to duplicate a pattern. So if I have a one bar loop, to be able to make a two bar loop of the one bar loop or a four bar from two. Although not having this I will become a better keyboard player which is probably a good thing, it would be a nice way to build up longer loops with variations if a pattern could first be duplicated and then for example overdub ornamentation played on top of it.

Anyway looking forward to future updates and learning to play this thing more - I have not yet even got around to using the midi controller tracks! :)

User avatar
hawkeye
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:45 pm

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by hawkeye » Wed Dec 09, 2020 5:13 am

Thanks for the praise, TL072, glad you like it! :)
TL072 wrote:
Mon Dec 07, 2020 6:06 pm
So my request I think would hopefully be pretty simple. It is just to be able to duplicate a pattern. So if I have a one bar loop, to be able to make a two bar loop of the one bar loop or a four bar from two.
Yes, this is already on the list - we're preparing a big new firmware update for the holiday time - can't promise this feature will make it into the upcoming v2.08, but if not, it will be in the next release. It will work like this: pushing and holding the SELECT encoder while duplicating the clip length on the CLIP screen will not only extend the length but also duplicate notes and recorded CCs.

Have a good day and best regards!
Peter

User avatar
latigid on
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:05 am

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by latigid on » Sun Dec 20, 2020 2:40 pm

Loopop does LoopA:


pulecz
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 10:03 pm

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by pulecz » Sun Dec 20, 2020 10:15 pm

Damn, I thought I'm just gonna use some MIDI splitters but this seems way more interesting to merge all the gear together.

And I love it's DIY kit, can't wait to sober up for the decision and start building.
Behringer UMC404HD; ESI ESP1010
Behringer (:/) Neutron, Crave, TD-3
Novation Bass Station II, Sonic Potions LXR + Bastl Instruments 60 Knobs and OmSynth for fun (lost my Kastle)

PC with Windows and ESI ESP1010 PCI, VCVRack and Linux compatible Ardour and LMMS
Skills: None

User avatar
latigid on
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:05 am

Re: midiphy LoopA

Post by latigid on » Mon Dec 21, 2020 12:53 am

Hehe thanks!

Two points there: you have 16 slots and you can of course send multiple instances to a single port (one user asked if they could echo everything onto USB). And you have 32 user instruments with custom naming to easily identify synths connected to a given port and MIDI channel.

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”