How do you delay an LFO?

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Silesius
Common Wiggler

How do you delay an LFO?

Post by Silesius » Sat Dec 14, 2019 7:03 pm

Hi, I’m building a monosynth 70’s style, with keyboard etc, and I want to have the classic delayed vibrato function. Specifically, I want to have a “Delay” knob for the LFO, as in many Roland Sh synths or in their 140 module.
I’ve been trying with an AD generator and a vca and it more or less works, but I need two pots instead of one and there isn’t a real delay. You can play with the attack time, but it’s not exactly want I wanted.
So, what is going on in that Roland circuits? I’ve looked at the schematics, but I’m not an engineer and they are quite difficult to understand. Are they using a envelope generator+vca to control the lfo? If so, what are you controlling with the “delay” control, the attack of an envelope?
In my synth I’m using the Electric Druid LFO’s. They have a very convenient level cv input that you can use as an vca. So what I really want to know is how to generate the needed envelope for the delayed vibrato with just one control. What kind of envelope would that be? Any ideas?

devinw1
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by devinw1 » Sat Dec 14, 2019 8:07 pm

I haven't looked at the a schematic yet, but seems to me you could just have an envelope generator feed into a comparator at say the 90% voltage of the envelope and have that go to a VCA. That way a longer attack time would cause a longer time delay before the comparator fires and snaps the vibrato on.

authorless
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by authorless » Sat Dec 14, 2019 8:25 pm

So you want an abrupt on after a fixed time, not a gradual fade in? Gate Delay into a VCA. An LFO with a reset input would be a nice addition.
"Wait a month and buy from a fellow wiggler who's desperate for new modules." - Johnisfaster