Neutron sound Dust of Time.

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:25 am

There will be an INIT preset made soon!
if you have no sound there are a couple of things to check.

1: make sure that you are using a gate if the output VCA is set to anything other than "ON" (see I/O button OUT VCA page, vca control) when it is set to ON the VCA is bypassed. (most of my presets use the VCA, so chances are it is this if you are using one of them)

2: use an oscillator that always sounds. Basic sin always makes sound, but some things like "noise LP" can be turned down so low you hear nothing.

3: some FX can be turned down or modulated so you hear nothing, press-turn the left encoder until the FX is set to "none"

if you can see the wave on the scope, you should hear it.
Last edited by Neutron7 on Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:26 am

Note that the SD card should be 32GB max and formatted FAT32, and have only one partition.

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1825
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by djthopa » Mon Apr 06, 2020 12:33 pm

Hi,
Thanks a lot for your support.
I have tried different cards, reformated, update firmware and all the option you have mentioned.
I attach some pictures.
I think something could have blown when the module crashed, but can spot anything under the scope :(
What feeds the jack outs?
Here are some pics module seems fully functional but no audio :bang:
dust1.jpg
dust2.jpg
dust3.jpg
Thanks for your support!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Mon Apr 06, 2020 1:45 pm

you can route the oscillators to the aux cv outs to hear if they are working internally, each of the AUX and DAC outputs use separate op amps, if they all do not work, then maybe its the 12v or -12v power. if just the main outs dont work, maybe the DAC needs to be reflowed. crashing the program because of bad SD card or anything should not harm anything though.

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1825
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by djthopa » Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:36 pm

Hi, thanks for your response.
Yes i can route the oscillators to the aux outs :)
But the sound is more of an lfo, and it looks like it on the scope.
I have reflowed and double checked the dac.
What ic feeds the stereo outs?
Cheers

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1825
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by djthopa » Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:26 pm

Ok, we are good ;)
Thanks!

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:36 pm

What was it?

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1825
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by djthopa » Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:46 pm

I wish i could say.....i assigned the oscillators to the aux outs and was getting sound.
I realized that if i fed a fixed voltage into the cv pitch in sound would become more noticeable. The right encoder was acting funky too. So i reflowed it and the Dac. No ics seems or looked burned.
To be honest i think it was a mixture of wrong settings, not thinking clear and maybe due to the pending calibration which i have not looked into. There is one right? Thanks for your help, its a great sounding module, have to get used to the interface.
Ive had 2 nodule crashes, where it would become unresponsive, ill try to reproduce what i was doing.
Thanks!

User avatar
LektroiD
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1382
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Scotland

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by LektroiD » Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:04 am

Where can I order this? I'd like a PCB/black panel if possible?

User avatar
KittenVillage
Common Wiggler
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:30 am
Location: Glenshaw, PA
Contact:

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by KittenVillage » Tue Apr 07, 2020 9:50 am

LektroiD wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:04 am
Where can I order this? I'd like a PCB/black panel if possible?
Michigan Synthworks.


Eurorack is an exercise in delayed desire.

User avatar
selfdestroyer
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:42 pm
Location: Fresno, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by selfdestroyer » Thu Apr 09, 2020 2:25 am

Altitude909 wrote:
Mon Mar 23, 2020 6:19 pm
Here's a PDF of the layout

DOT DIY.pdf
Just started mine tonight and this is EXACTLY what I needed. Thanks for the PDF Altitude909
My DIY / Music Blog They Remain Silent

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Fri Apr 10, 2020 11:37 am

I have added a patch called "INIT0001" to the github (in the PRESET folder). it has a basic sine on both oscs, and the VCA is turned off so it will play without a gate.

If you want to have INIT first on your patch list,

Put the SD card in you your computer, move everything in PRESET folder on your SD card to an empty folder on your computer, then move INIT back first. the order on the card is the order the files were created.

then you can sort them by name, (or however else you like), select everything, move them back to the card and they will be in order. (tested and worked with windows 10)

if you create new patches they will not be in whatever order you used, they will still be put at the end of the list.

You could make multiple INITs if you wanted "INITBASS", "INITPERC", "INIDRONE" or whatever suits you and do the same thing with them.

I suspect init files could start with "!" and automatically be sorted to first place when you do the sort on your computer, but i have not tried that.

User avatar
KittenVillage
Common Wiggler
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:30 am
Location: Glenshaw, PA
Contact:

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by KittenVillage » Fri Apr 10, 2020 11:41 am

Thanks for the Init patch!


Eurorack is an exercise in delayed desire.

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1825
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by djthopa » Fri Apr 10, 2020 11:51 am

Neutron7 wrote:
Fri Apr 10, 2020 11:37 am
I have added a patch called "INIT0001" to the github (in the PRESET folder). it has a basic sine on both oscs, and the VCA is turned off so it will play without a gate.

If you want to have INIT first on your patch list,

Put the SD card in you your computer, move everything in PRESET folder on your SD card to an empty folder on your computer, then move INIT back first. the order on the card is the order the files were created.

then you can sort them by name, (or however else you like), select everything, move them back to the card and they will be in order. (tested and worked with windows 10)

if you create new patches they will not be in whatever order you used, they will still be put at the end of the list.

You could make multiple INITs if you wanted "INITBASS", "INITPERC", "INIDRONE" or whatever suits you and do the same thing with them.

I suspect init files could start with "!" and automatically be sorted to first place when you do the sort on your computer, but i have not tried that.
Thanks for this! Ace :yay: :yay:

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Fri Apr 10, 2020 8:56 pm

New version 0.8.5 on github and FB group.



Version 0.8.5
Changed envelope display so the "diagram" is larger.and hopefully the controls are easier to navigate

Sub oscillator added parameters
besides bank and wave, you can now pick 1 or 2 octaves down, pick what it follows (osc1, osc2 or global tune) and pick maximum note it will play (the note it plays will "fold over", say you set note 64 as the max note, then it will play an octave down each time it gets above note 64) the "note number" is nowhere near accurate yet.

Fixed lfo reset phase not changing much.

Added "blind modes" When in the osc screen you can press the osc button again to toggle changing the opposite oscillator mode and methods
that way you can change the oscillator which you can not see or hear then when you fade back to it you will hear a different sound.

fixed negative sustain slope showing large number

User avatar
setzer
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 5:48 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by setzer » Sat Apr 11, 2020 6:36 pm

EATyourGUITAR wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:39 pm
I am impressed. 2020 is going to have a lot of amazing modules.
Kinda shifthing the topic here, I apologize in advance, but do you have insider info on upcoming 2020 modules ? and is their a site that has upcoming eurorack news etc ? I would love to know more !

Also, dust of time looks great :) I'm not really a DIY guy so I won't build, but would definitely consider buying a pre-built version

User avatar
EATyourGUITAR
has no life
Posts: 5405
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Providence, RI, USA

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by EATyourGUITAR » Sat Apr 11, 2020 7:32 pm

I'm too busy building things I designed. I can't build for hire. The only information I have on future modules not yet announced are my own. I will either build this dust of time for myself or I may do something with the new Daisy module when that comes out.
WWW.EATYOURGUITAR.COM <---- MY DIY STUFF

User avatar
selfdestroyer
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:42 pm
Location: Fresno, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by selfdestroyer » Sun Apr 12, 2020 2:08 am

Got mine fired up today! Im just waiting on the stereo jack for the MIDI (forgot to order it from MSW) and the correct OLED LCD. I was so excited since my LCD was getting delivered today and it turns out, I ordered the 0.96" one by accident! I was still able to hook it up just to test with but its annoying.

I still need to go through the calibration but this thing sounds fat and amazing. Playing with the stereo field is so fun with 2 oscillators.

Thanks Neutron7 for sharing such a wonderful project and Altitude909 for providing access to it. Ill post some pics when my LCD gets here and I can finally put on the panel.
My DIY / Music Blog They Remain Silent

User avatar
wery67564
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:22 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by wery67564 » Sun Apr 12, 2020 7:16 am

Any word on the click pots?

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Altitude909 » Sun Apr 12, 2020 9:22 am

wery67564 wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 7:16 am
Any word on the click pots?
They are here and I'll make the available this week

bawbag
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:29 am

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by bawbag » Sun Apr 12, 2020 10:21 am

I love the elegant aluminium panel on the prototype. Any chance of making that style available too?

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Altitude909 » Sun Apr 12, 2020 11:59 am

bawbag wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 10:21 am
I love the elegant aluminium panel on the prototype. Any chance of making that style available too?
No, those all go for the production devices

MindStasis
Common Wiggler
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:13 am

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by MindStasis » Sun Apr 12, 2020 5:09 pm

On a scale of one to screwed, how screwed am I?!

My iron slipped :(

From the traces it looks like it might be salvageable...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
EATyourGUITAR
has no life
Posts: 5405
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Providence, RI, USA

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by EATyourGUITAR » Sun Apr 12, 2020 11:40 pm

it is salvageable. it depends on your skill level. imagine what would happen if you made the same mistake again while trying to correct the first mistake. the most important rule is to fix your shorts and repair broken traces. with that much damage you have to think that there is a copper trace not attached to the substrate underneath. plan accordingly. watch louis rossman board repair videos to get pumped up about board repair. he fixes some pretty messed up boards while explaining his thought process.
WWW.EATYOURGUITAR.COM <---- MY DIY STUFF

MindStasis
Common Wiggler
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:13 am

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by MindStasis » Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:06 am

Thanks for the tip! Those videos are helpful, and the fix doesn't seem too crazy. Already had some success using a strand of wire to fix traces.

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”