Neutron sound Dust of Time.

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Wed Apr 15, 2020 2:19 pm

I have uploaded 0.9.0 firmware. it is the same as 0.8.5 except a fix for "DAC won't start"

I do not know if this will affect anyone here, but we encountered some modules where the DAC would not start (maybe cause by a newer version teensy hardware but I am not sure)

The first SPI command to the DAC tells it to use the internal voltage reference, but the pin was not rising to 2.5V as it should (and also internally it needs that voltage to work, or it uses 0 as reference) anyway i tried a lot of things and in the end decided to spam it with another "use internal reference" command, and it worked!

My guess, which may be completely wrong is that the new version of the MK66 chip on the teensy needs the SPI bus to be "woken up" beyond what is in the "spi.begin()" function, and the extra command happens to do it.

User avatar
selfdestroyer
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:42 pm
Location: Fresno, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by selfdestroyer » Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:21 pm

Got mine finally done! Loving it.
C60EC8AA-5A43-4D64-AEDB-F09F15BEFFDD_1_201_a-1024x1024.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My DIY / Music Blog They Remain Silent

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Fri Apr 17, 2020 5:37 pm

There might be a bit of confusion regarding the auto save and the INIT patch (or other patches without the VCA in use)

Currently, the auto save will save only when the envelope controlling the VCA is closed, that is because the sound engine must be switched off while it saves, and that causes a dropout in the sound.

that means, if you were working on a patch that was not using the VCA, that it will not be there next time you turn the module on!

It also means that if you loaded a patch with VCA in use, then turn the VCA off, then it will not remember that and it might seem like there is a problem next time you turn the module on, because there is no sound without a gate!

For now, you can save the patch, or turn the VCA on.

I will add a control to save it manually and try and come up with another "vca not required" auto-save mode that has a longer timer since last thing was changed. (mode can be optional on the cal/settings page)

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:45 pm

Suggestions and Questions if you are on FB Neutron sound Dust of Time Beta FB group.

User avatar
EATyourGUITAR
has no life
Posts: 5405
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Providence, RI, USA

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by EATyourGUITAR » Fri Apr 17, 2020 8:22 pm

maybe you can solve that by using the pc to generate patch settings. that way you never need to write patches on the module.

or maybe decouple the VCA envelope from the mute. make two separate functions. mute enables save.
WWW.EATYOURGUITAR.COM <---- MY DIY STUFF

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Sat Apr 25, 2020 12:27 am

here is a multitrack, all DoT, no effects except beat delay on "synth seq" sound.

https://soundcloud.com/neutron7/dust-of-time-multitrack

User avatar
evasporque
Common Wiggler
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:59 am
Location: MKE

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by evasporque » Sat Apr 25, 2020 6:16 am

Sweet! anticipating the arrival. I ordered a o_C build and A DoT from MSW...

t-b
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 6:37 am
Location: Fr

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by t-b » Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:34 am

Hi,
As a linux user, i can t use diptrace soft for the panel..
Is there any vector file that i can edit to prepare my panel with my cnc?

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Mon Apr 27, 2020 6:56 pm

t-b wrote:
Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:34 am
Hi,
As a linux user, i can t use diptrace soft for the panel..
Is there any vector file that i can edit to prepare my panel with my cnc?
Ill try and get something up on the github for you. is a PDF OK?

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Neutron7 » Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:10 pm

uploaded the PDF anyway, i hope thats ok!

https://github.com/jakplugg/Neutron-Sound-Dust-of-Time

sorry the dimensions are in inches and the hole diameters are in MM :lol:

t-b
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 6:37 am
Location: Fr

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by t-b » Tue Apr 28, 2020 3:52 am

Many thanks Neutron7!

pdf should be fine for me, just received my board today

User avatar
defalut
Common Wiggler
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:26 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by defalut » Wed Apr 29, 2020 10:57 am

DAMN this corona crap.. Ordered a bunch of DoT pcb´s and panels for me and a group of ppl, all of which of course got stuck on the wrong side of the pond (for us at least) and due to travel restrictions it won´t get here until everything is at least partly back to normal. :( Been lusting for this module for ages now, guess i´ll have to lust for a while longer..

Sry.. just wanted to vent my sadness a bit..

t-b
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 6:37 am
Location: Fr

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by t-b » Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:33 pm

defalut wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 10:57 am
DAMN this corona crap.. Ordered a bunch of DoT pcb´s and panels for me and a group of ppl, all of which of course got stuck on the wrong side of the pond (for us at least) and due to travel restrictions it won´t get here until everything is at least partly back to normal. :( Been lusting for this module for ages now, guess i´ll have to lust for a while longer..

Sry.. just wanted to vent my sadness a bit..

i checked my mail box every last days for my pcb, and it's arrived yesterday in france! easy and fun to build! the first couple of minutes spent with the module worth the weeks waiting ..
thks neutron
cheers

User avatar
wery67564
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:22 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by wery67564 » Wed Apr 29, 2020 2:02 pm

Clicky pots? :hail:

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Altitude909 » Wed Apr 29, 2020 3:57 pm

wery67564 wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 2:02 pm
Clicky pots? :hail:
I'll sort it out today. Problem is PCB place fucked up the unfucked up PCB panels and wont do anything about it. I can either sell the ones that have the messed up silk screen like the original seconds did with the current windows or run windows that fit these "fixed silk screen but messed up window hole" panels

User avatar
wery67564
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:22 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by wery67564 » Wed Apr 29, 2020 5:26 pm

Altitude909 wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 3:57 pm
wery67564 wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 2:02 pm
Clicky pots? :hail:
I'll sort it out today. Problem is PCB place fucked up the unfucked up PCB panels and wont do anything about it. I can either sell the ones that have the messed up silk screen like the original seconds did with the current windows or run windows that fit these "fixed silk screen but messed up window hole" panels
Sorry I am a bit confused, does that mean the potentiometers with push switches are tied in with the PCBs?

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Altitude909 » Wed Apr 29, 2020 7:52 pm

no, the circuit boards are the same. the PCB PANELS are not. When I reordered the corrected panels (with the "CV" fixed) the tact switch ones were fine but for who knows why, they decided to cut the windows out of the click pot panels differently so the windows that should fit both versions dont.

User avatar
wery67564
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:22 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by wery67564 » Wed Apr 29, 2020 7:58 pm

Altitude909 wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 7:52 pm
no, the circuit boards are the same. the PCB PANELS are not. When I reordered the corrected panels (with the "CV" fixed) the tact switch ones were fine but for who knows why, they decided to cut the windows out of the click pot panels differently so the windows that should fit both versions dont.
Sorry, I may just be misreading, I have the uncorrected original B side panel and window that I will glue in. Will it work with the click pots? And there are still no click pots available for purchase?

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Altitude909 » Wed Apr 29, 2020 8:39 pm

https://michigansynthworks.com/products ... -pack-of-6

all set

So if I sent you one of the first panels WITHOUT the holes for the tact switch, you're good to go with these. I'll figure out the panel situation tomorrow

User avatar
wery67564
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:22 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by wery67564 » Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:46 pm

Altitude909 wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 8:39 pm
https://michigansynthworks.com/products ... -pack-of-6

all set

So if I sent you one of the first panels WITHOUT the holes for the tact switch, you're good to go with these. I'll figure out the panel situation tomorrow
Thats what I needed, thanks!

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1825
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by djthopa » Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:20 am

im in the same situation....well sort of...bought the right panel with holes and it’s in limbo between usa and spain :(

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Altitude909 » Thu Apr 30, 2020 7:27 am

international shipping is a mess right now. Stuff is taking 2 months to get to Europe.

anyway, Maybe I am splitting hairs about this corner issue thing. Here is what I am talking about:
window cutout.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
wery67564
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:22 pm

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by wery67564 » Thu Apr 30, 2020 7:52 am

I am always a fan of getting what you paid for, and for a fairly expensive object at the end of the day, I can see getting those corners fixed. just how much closer it makes the window cutout to the switch cutouts is jarring.

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3442
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by Altitude909 » Thu Apr 30, 2020 8:36 am

no doubt. That's why i havent made them available but the torches and pitchforks are coming out. New windows are ordered, will be here next thursday

User avatar
evasporque
Common Wiggler
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:59 am
Location: MKE

Re: Neutron sound Dust of Time.

Post by evasporque » Thu Apr 30, 2020 12:55 pm

I got mine today! Its in the rack and making sound....I just was hunting for a manual or sorts...and I see the link above will get me started. (I don't have facebook)

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”