Power Switches on Modules

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
Studioalethea
Common Wiggler
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 2:20 am
Location: Seattle

Power Switches on Modules

Post by Studioalethea » Tue Jan 28, 2020 3:07 pm

Heyo!

Been a lurker for awhile... first post! Be kind.

I have seen debates about needing a master power switch for the whole rig (which I have already made), but I didn’t see anything about individual modules.

Is there concern about modules being unused and continuing to receive power? I guess I’m particularly thinking about continually oscillating chips. Does it make sense to circuit in power switches on oscillating modules to prevent unnecessary hours on CMOS ICs you are not actively using in a session?

Thanks!
N

User avatar
patched
Common Wiggler
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 12:42 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Power Switches on Modules

Post by patched » Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:37 pm

Can't say I've ever seen a module with a power switch.

I think I'd make patches and wonder why they don't work, just to find they were powered off if they had power switches. Power supplies are designed to handle all modules being powered at once :)

User avatar
khakifridge
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:56 pm
Location: UK

Re: Power Switches on Modules

Post by khakifridge » Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:18 am

Apart from saving a few cents on your electricity bill over a year, I can't think of a good reason to be powering-on individual modules. They were all designed to be running continuously.

User avatar
ersatzplanet
Synthwerks Design
Posts: 6465
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:18 pm
Location: Seattle WA

Re: Power Switches on Modules

Post by ersatzplanet » Wed Jan 29, 2020 12:44 pm

The only modules that I would consider a power switch being a good thing to have on them, are modules using processors or mini computers in them. Stuff like the ER-301, Granular synths, Wave and loop players, basically things that load programs at startup and need to sometimes be re-booted when stuck.
-James

James Husted - Synthwerks, LLC - www.synthwerks.com - info@synthwerks.com - james@synthwerks.com
Synthwerks is a proud member of the Mostly Modular Trade Association (http://www.mostlymodular.com).
Always looking to trade for Doepfer P6 cases

User avatar
acgenerator
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 735
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:44 am
Location: USA

Re: Power Switches on Modules

Post by acgenerator » Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:25 pm

https://www.modulargrid.net/e/vpme-de-p0wr can be used for this purpose. Or simply use a uZeus of 4ms Row Power for a single module.

Practical uses:
- testing of DIY modules so they don't fry others on the same bus
- individual start up of tube based modules with huge spikes of power at warmup like Metasonix

Razmasynth Telewizers had power switches which helps not have screen burn out / pixel burn in.
ADDAC Open Heart Surgery has a power button as it's a development module

User avatar
Yes Powder
Powder that makes you say "Yes"
Posts: 1397
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 2:23 am
Location: Albany, New York
Contact:

Re: Power Switches on Modules

Post by Yes Powder » Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:48 pm

You generally want to keep things like oscillators and filters on at all times while the rest of your system is powered, so they’re at operating temperature when you use them. Otherwise they’ll drift quite a bit as they warm up.

User avatar
fitzgreyve
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 496
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 4:49 am
Location: UK

Re: Power Switches on Modules

Post by fitzgreyve » Thu Jan 30, 2020 4:19 am

I only have one module with a (partial) power switch - it controls a valve heater which draws approx 400mA, so tend to leave it powered off when not in use (also gives some nice effects when the heater is powered up and down)
Under developement:
- "Muse"
---------------------------------------
https://fitzgreyve2.blogspot.com/

Studioalethea
Common Wiggler
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 2:20 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Power Switches on Modules

Post by Studioalethea » Fri Jan 31, 2020 2:43 am

Thanks for the input, all!

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”