EasyEDA and Silkscreens

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Studioalethea
Common Wiggler

EasyEDA and Silkscreens

Post by Studioalethea » Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:28 pm

Hello CadFriends!

I am pretty new to PCB design, so in quarantine I have been working on a prototyping board design.

I want to silk an image that in the Gerber, the silkscreen covers the plated holes. Obviously, it's NOT ideal to make a silkscreen that overlays the holes or exposed copper traces BUT, the time it would take to punch out all of that from the image or filled rectangles would be gigantic -- not to mention I don't know how to do it.

I have had trouble getting the answer from the JLCPCB rep and specific info from forums, so I've come here.

Does anyone have an example of a filled in silkscreen that in the Gerber file covered up the plated holes but in actual practice/production, the silkscreen layers behind the plates/exposed copper traces.

Thanks!

Synthiq
Veteran Wiggler

Re: EasyEDA and Silkscreens

Post by Synthiq » Fri Mar 20, 2020 4:53 pm

I don't know the answer to your question, but it is possible EasyEDA automatically removes the silkscreen where there is an opening in the solder mask before generating the Gerber. You can look at the generated Gerber files to see if this is the case.

Studioalethea
Common Wiggler

Post by Studioalethea » Fri Mar 20, 2020 5:02 pm

Synthiq wrote:
Fri Mar 20, 2020 4:53 pm
I don't know the answer to your question, but it is possible EasyEDA automatically removes the silkscreen where there is an opening in the solder mask before generating the Gerber. You can look at the generated Gerber files to see if this is the case.
The Gerber definitely shows it covered BUT in EasyEDA, the editor itself shows that the plates are over the silkscreen BUT the image preview (both photo and 3D) shows it covered :despair:

Synthiq
Veteran Wiggler