First time DIY synth builder and dreadbox Antiphon

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Demonument
Learning to Wiggle

First time DIY synth builder and dreadbox Antiphon

Post by Demonument » Sun Jun 14, 2020 3:14 am

I'm new to synth DIY and electronics work in general. I've recently been learning how to solder and now I have some modules to work on. The first modules I have are the dreadbox Antiphon and kasstronics 3340 vco and vcf. I believe that these are all probably not recommended for a beginner. The antiphon has a large number of components and the kassutronics boards are quite densely packed.

I've started out with the antiphon board as the initial part of the build involves soldering a large number of resistors and I thought that would be good practice. Initially I struggled as I was using a tip that wouldn't transfer heat, perhaps because it was too small (1mm) and actually I've found it much easier with a 2.5mm tip. I've also discovered how important it is to keep the tip free of dirt in order to efficiently transfer the heat.

I'm wondering what kind of problems am I likely to have as a beginner building this synth? I know that the slider potentiometers and trimmer pots can potentially be damaged by excessive heat and the guide states a max soldering temperature of 260c. At the moment I have an antex 25 watt iron which seems to be performing well but has no temperature control. Also I appreciate that the IC components are susceptible to both heat and electrostatic discharge. The antiphon kit is only supplied with sockets for one type of IC but I've bought additional sockets for the others to reduce the risk of cooking them and then need to desolder from the board. I'll also be careful to properly ground myself while handling these components.