extreme Moog MG-1 Realistic Concertmate expansion/mod kits coming soon - and a request for opinions!

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

belltones
Learning to Wiggle

extreme Moog MG-1 Realistic Concertmate expansion/mod kits coming soon - and a request for opinions!

Post by belltones » Sun Jul 05, 2020 3:30 pm

OK folks, bear with me because I have both a lot of information to deposit here, and a sort of convoluted request for opinions! gonna break it into 2 posts.

So I am closing in on imminently being able to release something I have been working on on and off for a couple years, what I have dubbed the "MG-1 ModEx" expansion/mod kit for the "Realistic Concertmate" Moog MG-1. To my knowledge, this might be the "most extreme" analog MG-1 mod design ever, um, presented, and I have particularly designed it for use with Eurorack and other modular gear, with 3.5mm jacks for all inputs and outputs, all inputs and outputs buffered and all inputs attenuated and capable of accepting positive and negative CV for maximum modular compatibility.

What I think are the two most important features that it offers are:

1) *Fully Independent* 1V/octave tracking pitch control for each of the two oscillators. I have done this by adding a second, fully independent tone source CV summer/scaler for Osc. 2. With an external sequencer or keyboard, this makes it a para-duophonic synth! You can play chords with one hand, send in a bassline from a sequencer and play a lead with the other hand. Oscillator 2 can also track the keyboard normally.
2) a second LFO with two waveforms, triangle and square, simultaneoulsy available at separate outputs. This LFO has a very wide frequency range.

I am awaiting polycarbonate panel overlays from Cubbison, design shown above (basically the same material as the original).

The PCBs are done:

Other features include: