A subharmonic synthesiser and polymetric sequencer with Teensy 4 and audio library

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

kallikak
Learning to Wiggle

A subharmonic synthesiser and polymetric sequencer with Teensy 4 and audio library

Post by kallikak » Wed Jul 22, 2020 7:03 pm

#########################################################
I figured it made sense to have the most up-to-date info here at the top, so here are the relevant links:
Currently (i.e. as of 23 Oct 2020) I have 3 sets of panels and boards from my second run still available.
#########################################################

Hello.

I'd like to share a project I've been working on for the last 2 months - A subharmonic synthesiser and polymetric sequencer with Teensy 4 and audio library inspired by Euclidean Rhythms, and the Moog Subharmonicon (and standard subtractive synthesis). The Subharmonicon uses polyrhythms to selectively trigger across two 4-note sequencers. Very interesting musical patterns are created by the changing interleaving when the rhythms share no small common divisors.

I came across these two things at about the same time and thought the double sequencer idea could well be joined with a Euclidean rhythm generator to make an interesting synthesizer. Using a Teensy 4.0 and the Audio shield and library, I created "The Euclidean" - a 4-voice subharmonic synthesizer and polymetric sequencer.

I've attached some pics from while I was building it, and the final prototype (outside of its case still)
Euclid1.jpg
Euclid2.jpg
Euclid3.jpg
Euclid4.jpg
Brief specs are:
  • 2 primary oscillators supporting various waveshapes, each with an associated sub-oscillator with frequency determined by dividing the primary frequency by an integer from 2 to 16
  • frequency modulation, pulse width modulation, multiple frequency quantisation options
  • AD envelope when sequencing, ASR when playing