Whiskers

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

gslug
Common Wiggler

Whiskers

Post by gslug » Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:11 am

I've currently got a TC Electronic 2290 in pieces to repair the power supply, but thought I'd use the opportunity to give it a good clean. On removing the outer front panel, I was greeted by this:
IMG_20200728_134544.jpg
I've seen tin whiskers on solder before, but these are zinc whiskers on the galvanised panel. The whole surface was covered in them. They came off easily with a scrubbing brush, but presumably will return in another 30 years.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
One day I'll get an avatar!

EATyourGUITAR
has no life

Re: Whiskers

Post by EATyourGUITAR » Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:48 am

Are you in the mood for plating? I worked in the plating industry. The best solution is to outsource the job to a local shop that already has everything and complies with EPA + OSHA regs. You probably don't want to do it yourself.
WWW.EATYOURGUITAR.COM <---- MY DIY STUFF

gslug
Common Wiggler

Post by gslug » Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:10 am

Having it replated is probably a bit extreme for me, though I might put some kapton tape over the metalwork to stop them coming loose/contacting the PCB.

devinw1
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by devinw1 » Tue Jul 28, 2020 12:43 pm

That's pretty wild. I'd imagine those coming off and getting into electronics could cause some serious "fun"!

I wonder how well it would work to mask off all the outside, clean the inside, and then apply an etching primer and epoxy paint to the inside. I suppose the whiskers would still continue to form and eventually ruin the pain though. But, it might take a very very long time.

gslug
Common Wiggler

Post by gslug » Tue Jul 28, 2020 3:54 pm