Adapting Eurorack circuits as guitar pedals? (12v > 9v power, CV control, etc.)

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Joe., luketeaford, lisa, Kent

tatou
Learning to Wiggle

Adapting Eurorack circuits as guitar pedals? (12v > 9v power, CV control, etc.)

Post by tatou » Sat Sep 12, 2020 9:34 pm

I'm a longtime DIY pedal builder who is now exploring Eurorack. One of the deals I made with myself is that 50%+ of my modules need to be DIY (inherited rule from the pedal library), and that I should pass on effect modules (for now anyway), since I already have dozens of pedals. So I'm interested in building a useful interface to bridge the two, in particular a 9v-powered pedal I/O of sorts.

Turns out what I've been thinking about does exist: the INTRFX! However, in the DIY spirit I would prefer to build a workalike myself (and I probably don't need 3 channels). The circuit for this SYINSI Pedal IO module seems like a good starting point...

In particular, the schematic is here:

But 3 changes are necessary:
* add a switch to toggle the direction of audio signal (EURO >> PEDAL or vice versa)
* convert from 12v bipolar to 9v unipolar power supply
* modify the "WET/DRY" mix to be CV-controlled (and use the pot as an attenuator when CV is supplied?)

The toggle seems simple enough with a 4PDT. As for the power, it seems to me that swapping in a standard 9v pedal power supply (with proper filter caps & polarity protecting diodes) should be fine? I don't see anything here requiring a bipolar supply and the TL072 should run fine on 9v. I'm asking here I guess as a sanity check... but about general best practices for adapting other modular circuits to guitar effects as well (filters?).