MTM Microphonie - Without Fuse?

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
minyu
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:18 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

MTM Microphonie - Without Fuse?

Post by minyu » Sun Dec 27, 2020 4:06 am

Hey Muffwigglers;

I was about to build a Microphonie from MTM. I have the pcb/panel from Thonk.
I live in Istanbul, I found all the necessary parts except the Fuse. For some reason this part does not exist here :/

I don't want to order the part from Mouser and wait for weeks.
In the BOM; it says "Optional, for power protection. Replace with wire if not used."

Has anyone built and use the Microphonie without the Fuse? Should I solder wire instead of this?
I am still a newbie and I want to make sure if its okay, I build this and use it without hesitation :)

Thanks in advance for the help XX

User avatar
dubtoms
Common Wiggler
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 4:34 am

Re: MTM Microphonie - Without Fuse?

Post by dubtoms » Sun Dec 27, 2020 6:44 am

Nice to see there are Turkey-based DIY Wigglers.

Yes you can use a wire instead (most modules don't use fuses) but don't skip on diodes for reverse power protection.

There's not a lot going on with with module so the worst thing you could do is frying the op-amp but it's veeery unlikely to be honest.

Kolay gelsin ve başarılar dilerim :)

User avatar
minyu
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:18 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: MTM Microphonie - Without Fuse?

Post by minyu » Sun Dec 27, 2020 6:55 am

Tesekkurler X

User avatar
minyu
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:18 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: MTM Microphonie - Without Fuse?

Post by minyu » Sun Feb 14, 2021 3:09 pm

Hey,

I managed to built successfully the Microphonie module, it works fine without the fuse.
And now, I am about to start building the Radio Music module.
Also this time I don't have the fuse (200ma PTC Poly Fuse) that mentioned on the BOM.

Do you think, this module also, will work fine without the fuse?

User avatar
JimY
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 10:03 am
Location: Middle of Wales

Re: MTM Microphonie - Without Fuse?

Post by JimY » Mon Feb 15, 2021 5:15 am

Polyfuse are commonly used to protect the battery in RC cars/drones etc. If there is an outlet for that kind of thing, they could have them. I've found them in cheap Chinese made motorized toys!

User avatar
minyu
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:18 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: MTM Microphonie - Without Fuse?

Post by minyu » Sat Feb 20, 2021 8:49 am

I found some polyfuses online that I can order, but there were not this exact one. Can I use one with different specifications?

User avatar
EATyourGUITAR
has no life
Posts: 6078
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Providence, RI, USA

Re: MTM Microphonie - Without Fuse?

Post by EATyourGUITAR » Sat Feb 20, 2021 10:19 am

minyu wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 8:49 am
I found some polyfuses online that I can order, but there were not this exact one. Can I use one with different specifications?
how can we answer you if you don't post the specifications of the replacement part?
WWW.EATYOURGUITAR.COM <---- MY DIY STUFF

User avatar
minyu
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:18 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: MTM Microphonie - Without Fuse?

Post by minyu » Sun Feb 21, 2021 3:18 am

Sorry, you are right. The specs on the correct one is; PPTC 60v Max 40Amps Max Hold .20 Trip .40 (Mouser No:652-MFR020)

The specifications on the closest one I could find is;
IH: 0.1A
IT: 0.2A
VMAX: 60V
PDTyp: 0.38W
Max. Time-to-trip: 0.5A 4s
Pitch: 5.8mm

Do you think this one should work? Or can you tell me which specs are important and which are not?
I am very new on electronics, and I really do not know what to look for exactly.

Thanks so much for your time. Really appreciated.

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”