Which soldering iron to get started?

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe., lisa

Kosmikos
Common Wiggler

Which soldering iron to get started?

Post by Kosmikos » Sat Jan 09, 2021 5:42 pm

I’ve started building my first diy beginners module today and the solder iron’s tip lasted only half the build. :waah:

The temperature was set to around 370C, so I don’t think I’ve over done it.

Ok, I’m a novice but I was expecting to fail on the technique, not on the tools.

I got a cheap amazon « 5 stars rated - product. I now suspect I need better quality soldering tool, or tips, and that rating was somehow not related to the product durability but to its cheap price. Don’t judge, I’m learning!

The question is what should I do at this stage? I’m not sure this is going to be a long term hobby, but I think I’m not too bad at it so I might continue buying kits from time to time (I have a stereo mixer to do next). Should I invest in a better iron? Which model brand? Or should I just buy better tips, where and which ones?

MikeDB
Wiggling with Experience

Re: Which soldering iron to get started?

Post by MikeDB » Sat Jan 09, 2021 8:48 pm

Can you link to the one you bought ? I actually got a cheap one from Amazon a while back for some odd jobs and I've kept using it over my Antex.

And how did the tip fail ? Pitted or broke off ?

Kosmikos
Common Wiggler

Post by Kosmikos » Sun Jan 10, 2021 2:46 am

The tip stopped conducting the heat in a uniform way. I had to start rolling it to get the hot points. It now does look pitted under a magnifier.
This is the one:

It was ok to start with, and started causing issues an hour in the job.

soejrd
Learning to Wiggle

Post by soejrd » Sun Jan 10, 2021 4:43 am

I highly recommend the TS100, fantastic little guy for no big money.

eljay
Common Wiggler

Post by eljay » Sun Jan 10, 2021 5:08 am