designing modules from scratch

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

deadpang
Learning to Wiggle

designing modules from scratch

Post by deadpang » Fri Apr 02, 2021 3:02 pm

this is admittedly a bit obtuse, seeing that I have zero experience with electrical engineering or programming, but what all goes into designing modules from scratch? As far as I can tell, one would need a robust understanding of programming, electrical engineering and soldering. I'm planning on getting some DIY kits to get my feet wet, but I'm trying to put together a conceptual understanding of what it would take to design a basic oscillator from scratch. Also, is there a typical programming language used to design modules or is the language used just dependent on the designer?

htor
Veteran Wiggler

Re: designing modules from scratch

Post by htor » Fri Apr 02, 2021 3:51 pm

i'd start watching this guy just to make it simpler (at least it worked for me):

you don't need to learn programming to make an analog VCO, but if you want to build a digital one, yes. there are several languages to choose from. c++ is popular. arduino is a c++ library which is very popular.

jingo
Common Wiggler

Post by jingo » Fri Apr 02, 2021 3:54 pm

Teensy is also a good starting point if you want to go for a digital module.

joem
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by joem » Fri Apr 02, 2021 4:33 pm

If you're not planning on doing formal EE education, then build some kits, study some schematics, play around with things, try to understand how things work. The Look Mum No Computer videos are indeed a pretty good resource in that case. So is the Logic Noise series from Hackaday: https://hackaday.com/tag/logic-noise/ (scroll to the older ones with the matching header images). That's a great series that steps you through some things, encourages experimentation, and explains some things without getting too heavy.

comrade_zero
Learning to Wiggle