Synthi A with external sequencers Vs AKS?

Discussing some incredible modules that don't quite fit into the other forum categories.

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

gone

Synthi A with external sequencers Vs AKS?

Post by gone » Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:35 pm

Anyone with experience of an AKS care to share their experience of the KS?

As the AKS can sometimes be much more expensive to acquire, I was wondering if the KS mojo justifies the extra expense.

If you have one, do you use it much?

Synthesiser user of 20 years here but I'm a Synthi noob. Be kind.

:tu:

blindoldfreak

Post by blindoldfreak » Wed Dec 23, 2015 1:16 pm

definitely WITH KS, in my opinion.

the way the sequencer works allows for very happy accidents.

I wish i could share it all now , as the next series of records i am releasing in 2016 are all AKS live....but here's something from the same sessions:

https://soundcloud.com/alessandrocortin ... recordings

A

rabbitfoot88
Learning to Wiggle

Post by rabbitfoot88 » Wed Dec 23, 2015 1:55 pm

Can anyone (more technical than me) confirm whether you can add a KS sequencer to a standard Synthi A without any issues?

That's assuming of course I could find one!! Which might be near impossible anyway : )

I had heard talk of the KS having some incompatibility with the power supply on the Synthi A, which it presumably draws on to operate.

My Synthi A is a very early (cream face) one with the separate waveform outs.

Alessandro - Looking forward to the rest of the Synthi album based on a first listen of that track! : )) Early Christmas present that one! : )

papz
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by papz » Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:27 pm

Your Synthi A is probably a MKI.
The original MKI PSU is not able to power a KS and will blow instantly if one is connected.