STG Digital Attenuator

Moog, Synthesizers.com, MOTM, Modcan, Moon and others..... Go big!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Sir Ruff
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1846
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Post by Sir Ruff » Wed Dec 18, 2019 8:08 pm

defutura wrote:
Sir Ruff wrote:I would also like a bit more explanation on the three modes.
I think this module shares the underlying design with the WMD Digital VCA, and there is some info about the different modes (albeit with different names, IIRC) on the website and in the (very brief) PDF manual:

https://wmdevices.com/products/digital-vca
Interesting, thanks. That fits with what the STG web page text says. The WMD manual mentions the gate (I guess V-trig mode on STG) being useful for S/H patches. Trying to imagine how that would work?
Benjamin Vraja (1950-1996) - Anthology: https://benjaminvraja.bandcamp.com/album/anthology

User avatar
dude
fuck yeah!
Posts: 9990
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: northeastohio

Post by dude » Wed Dec 18, 2019 10:19 pm

i feel so stupid that was sitting under my nose this whole time. literal years i've wondered this. thank you so much for making this more clear!

User avatar
defutura
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 11:30 am

Post by defutura » Fri Dec 20, 2019 8:46 pm

Last edited by defutura on Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
defutura
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 11:30 am

Post by defutura » Fri Dec 20, 2019 8:47 pm

Sir Ruff wrote:The WMD manual mentions the gate (I guess V-trig mode on STG) being useful for S/H patches. Trying to imagine how that would work?
Last edited by defutura on Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
suitandtieguy
Hammond King
Posts: 3363
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Chillicothe IL USA

Re:

Post by suitandtieguy » Sat May 09, 2020 12:58 am

dude wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:44 pm
can anyone clear up if these use/require +5v to power proper?
I'm fairly certain that it doesn't use the 5v rail at all, but I no longer have one to verify this.

this is about to be revised, i'll verify this and report back.
http://suitandtieguy.com
http://stgsoundlabs.com
http://knobcon.com
suboptimal wrote:... if it's music you want to make with your modular, STG should be in your system.

Post Reply

Return to “5U Format Modules”