DDSR output failure (1st run of DDSRs only)

Modular and other sound devices from BugBrand.

Moderators: Kent, BugBrand

Post Reply
User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7123
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

DDSR output failure (1st run of DDSRs only)

Post by BugBrand » Tue Mar 05, 2019 4:40 am

I meant to post about this a while ago. A few people have had to return their 1st run DDSRs due to one or more gate outputs stopping working (LED still shows) - enough failures to give me some worries! It is an easy enough fix for me - replace transistors - but means a return to base, so not ideal.

This is due to me stupidly leaving off a resistor on each output - just ordered 2nd run of DDSRs and have modified to include this. I can also manage to add this on to original DDSRs without too much trouble, though I didn't on the first few repairs as I hadn't at that point realised.

Suffice to say - your original DDSR gate outputs won't necessarily die (my 2 still work fine for example) but if they do I can easily sort the repair. User reports have suggested that outputs have failed just in normal use / out of the blue so something to be aware of.

User avatar
chrisdermo
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 887
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 1:52 pm

Post by chrisdermo » Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:25 am

Oh no! Good to know, mine still works fine too.
WTB / WTTF: Bugbrand PRC2B, DD3, PRC4, ENV1

Current Bugs frame:
https://www.modulargrid.net/f/racks/view/580413

sungja
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:44 am

Post by sungja » Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:39 am

My ddsr is working fine but when or if it fails i let you know Tom.

How many people have had this problem? Is it reasonable to think it will fail eventualy sooner or later??

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7123
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

Post by BugBrand » Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:47 am

I think 3 or 4 (out of initial run of 40).

sungja
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:44 am

Post by sungja » Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:51 am

I am not worried..

User avatar
T. Jervell
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:13 pm
Location: Norway

Post by T. Jervell » Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:31 am

We’ll I’m one of the people who had to send it back, and I’m sure the output failed when I managed to patch an output of my SQ-1 to the output of the DDSR :doh:
So user error in my case, got to pay better attention to my ins and outs I guess :hihi:

sungja
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:44 am

Post by sungja » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:00 am

Its easy to do this sometimes when patching in late hours or getting to excited. I have done similar patching errors before and will probably do it again. Luckily i have noticed these mistakes seconds later and pulled the plug before frying anything. :hihi:

sungja
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:44 am

Post by sungja » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:07 am

I am taking my ddsr out of the frame any day now so thinking of maybe putting those resistors on the gate outputs myself.
Any guide as to how Tom? Resistor values?

User avatar
DickMarker
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 486
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:04 am
Location: London

Post by DickMarker » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:50 am

Happened to me, can't pinpoint exactly why - Tom fixed it up super quick.

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7123
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

Post by BugBrand » Wed Mar 06, 2019 6:37 am

sungja wrote:I am taking my ddsr out of the frame any day now so thinking of maybe putting those resistors on the gate outputs myself.
Any guide as to how Tom? Resistor values?
It is a bit fiddly - depends on your skills.
I have to do one of mine in the next few days so will see if I can snap some pics. But it involves i) cutting small traces & ii) working with 0805 size resistors (470ohm is ideal)

sungja
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:44 am

Post by sungja » Wed Mar 06, 2019 8:53 am

Ok i was thinking adding a few resistors between the pcb and banana jacks would do it but if it involves cutting traces i am not the man for the job. :hihi:

I will offcourse take a look at pictures when they are up.

User avatar
phisynth
banana nabab
Posts: 1760
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:06 pm
Location: right above my feet

Post by phisynth » Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:07 am

well, it looks like my first gate output just died :ripbanana:

Post Reply

Return to “BugBrand Devices”