I need help with my MOTU 828 mkii

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: lisa, Kent, Joe.

User avatar
MicroFi
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 325
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:42 am
Location: Brussels

Post by MicroFi » Wed May 19, 2010 1:24 pm

There's no such thing as a "USB2-cable".
Cables used on a USB/USB2-connection are exactly the same.


About this:
oneano wrote:Cuemix acts strange and sometimes it simply will not open, it will tell me that audio is in use or something like that.
Does it say "Audio in use" or does it say "Core Audio in use"?

User avatar
1nput0utput
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:00 pm
Location: USA

Post by 1nput0utput » Wed May 19, 2010 2:47 pm

MicroFi wrote:About this:
oneano wrote:Cuemix acts strange and sometimes it simply will not open, it will tell me that audio is in use or something like that.
Does it say "Audio in use" or does it say "Core Audio in use"?
There is no Core Audio in Windows. That is a feature of Mac OS X. The message that oneano is referring to appears when a program is using the MOTU FireWire WDM or ASIO driver and the user tries to open the MOTU Audio Console program. This is not allowed because changing parameters in MOTU Audio Console (such as sample rate or buffer size) could cause client programs (such as Cubase or Sonar) to behave unexpectedly.
oneano wrote:After working with the unit yesterday for about an hour, I did get it to work, but not without problems, it has some horrible digital distortion. I adjusted the latency and all parameters that I could come up with.
Which version of the driver is installed? The version number is displayed in the General tab in MOTU Audio Console. I recall there being a playback distortion problem with some older version of the driver, but MOTU must have fixed it because I don't have that problem with the current driver version.

User avatar
MicroFi
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 325
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:42 am
Location: Brussels

Post by MicroFi » Thu May 20, 2010 12:56 am

1nput0utput wrote:There is no Core Audio in Windows. That is a feature of Mac OS X.
You're absolutely right.
I should learn to read more than just the first and the last post in threads :doh:

User avatar
oneano
Common Wiggler
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 6:54 pm

Post by oneano » Tue May 25, 2010 1:01 pm

After a lot of trial and error, I was out of ideas. Being purchased used, I wasnt sure if MOTU would allow me to register the device, so finally I was able to send them the proof of purchase that they required for registration.

I submitted a service ticket and they asked me to install the latest version of the driver....

It worked!!!

I haven't updated the driver since I purchased the unit in January/2010 so I assumed that since the unit was several years old when I purchased it, that the drivers then were likely to be the most up to date.


So the lesson learned, always check with the manufacturer and triple check the drivers

:hyper: :love: :nana: :nana:

sandyb

Post by sandyb » Tue May 25, 2010 3:14 pm

oneano wrote:After a lot of trial and error, I was out of ideas. Being purchased used, I wasnt sure if MOTU would allow me to register the device, so finally I was able to send them the proof of purchase that they required for registration.

I submitted a service ticket and they asked me to install the latest version of the driver....

It worked!!!

I haven't updated the driver since I purchased the unit in January/2010 so I assumed that since the unit was several years old when I purchased it, that the drivers then were likely to be the most up to date.


So the lesson learned, always check with the manufacturer and triple check the drivers

:hyper: :love: :nana: :nana:
ha!
nice to now i'm right now and then - it doesn't happen often :hihi:
glad you got it working :bananaguitar:

Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”