Neutron The New Behringer Semi-Modular Synthesizer

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
Donny
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:31 pm
Location: Devon, UK

Post by Donny » Wed Dec 19, 2018 8:30 am

Hey all, fairly new to modular but I purchased a neutron last month and have been loving it, I've been using a circuit as a sequencer and it seems to work okay.

I've just ordered a Euro case and was wondering what are your guy's opinions on what modules would be a good starting point to work with the neutron, possibly some drums?

Diy modules would work best for me to save some dollar, I look on modular grid and just get overwhelmed with options haha

User avatar
AndyHornBlower
Common Wiggler
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:48 am
Location: UK

Post by AndyHornBlower » Thu Dec 27, 2018 6:53 am

Allotropes wrote:
AndyHornBlower wrote:The post I was referring to about the ATT1 CV routing is here:

viewtopic.php?p=2883548&highlight=#2883548
AndyHornBlower wrote:As it turns out, mine does not have the ASSIGN output normalised to the ATT1 CV input - that part of the manual is wrong, at least in my case.
- in the post after that, I pointed out the inconsistencies about it in the manual.

No one seemed to care, and I get that, but it would be nice to know if other people's are different to mine.
Sorry only just found this thread, yeah mine's is like that too. I got mine the first week it was released. It doesn't seem to have any of the problems (real or imagined) the later batch that hit USA supposedly did, judging by some comments on GS :whistle:
Thanks :) I don't get the notifications any more (it's broken), so I didn't see your reply, until now.

I notice they've taken that off the routing diagram, in the new Neutron manual that goes with the 2.0 firmware, but it still says it in the table that describes the default routing connections - I assume that's just sloppy editing...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

meatballfulton
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:15 am

Post by meatballfulton » Sun Jan 20, 2019 5:31 pm

Donny wrote:Hey all, fairly new to modular but I purchased a neutron last month and have what are your guy's opinions on what modules would be a good starting point to work with the neutron
Multiples, mixers and attenuators. These aren't sexy but they help with modulation routings which is where all the fun is in modular. They are also cheap and easy to DIY.

bfuzz
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:25 pm

behringer neutron CV

Post by bfuzz » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:57 pm

whats up? Just took my neutron out of its home and placed it in a case i built.
Got my neutron hooked up via cv from beat step pro. Theres a continuous drone going non stop. when a note is played or sequence stops gate stays OPEN. going gate to gate from BSP and pitch to oscillator for v/oct. Bsp settings are set up with vtrig. Updated and rebooted neutron. still nothing. Its as if the ADSR does nothing no matter how i patch. ADSR works fine tho when triggered via midi...(but that is only when i put the neutron back in its O.G. case.). So wtf? Im not a pro please help!!!

User avatar
Dave Peck
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3301
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:22 pm
Location: SF bay area

Re: behringer neutron CV

Post by Dave Peck » Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:30 am

bfuzz wrote:whats up? Just took my neutron out of its home and placed it in a case i built.
Got my neutron hooked up via cv from beat step pro. Theres a continuous drone going non stop. when a note is played or sequence stops gate stays OPEN. going gate to gate from BSP and pitch to oscillator for v/oct. Bsp settings are set up with vtrig. Updated and rebooted neutron. still nothing. Its as if the ADSR does nothing no matter how i patch. ADSR works fine tho when triggered via midi...(but that is only when i put the neutron back in its O.G. case.). So wtf? Im not a pro please help!!!
...is the VCA BIAS knob turned up? If so, it is letting the audio pass through the VCA non-stop. Turn it all the way down so the VCA only opens when the envelope causes the VCA to open.

User avatar
needto
Common Wiggler
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:20 am
Location: Berlin

Post by needto » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:23 am

Donny wrote:I've just ordered a Euro case and was wondering what are your guy's opinions on what modules would be a good starting point to work with the neutron, possibly some drums?
You could get a Disting, there's a massive variety of modes you can try out with it: play with the turing machine, put a LFO or an envelope through a quantizer, plug an osc into a waveshaper, make a ringmod patch, play some samples - that's just a small portion of everything you'll be able to do with one.

bfuzz
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:25 pm

Re: behringer neutron CV

Post by bfuzz » Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:35 am

Dave Peck wrote:
bfuzz wrote:whats up? Just took my neutron out of its home and placed it in a case i built.
Got my neutron hooked up via cv from beat step pro. Theres a continuous drone going non stop. when a note is played or sequence stops gate stays OPEN. going gate to gate from BSP and pitch to oscillator for v/oct. Bsp settings are set up with vtrig. Updated and rebooted neutron. still nothing. Its as if the ADSR does nothing no matter how i patch. ADSR works fine tho when triggered via midi...(but that is only when i put the neutron back in its O.G. case.). So wtf? Im not a pro please help!!!
...is the VCA BIAS knob turned up? If so, it is letting the audio pass through the VCA non-stop. Turn it all the way down so the VCA only opens when the envelope causes the VCA to open.


Hey dave thanks for reply BIAS knob has been down the whole time. Still drones. Thank you for response! any other suggestions?

bfuzz
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:25 pm

Re: Neutron help with sequencer.

Post by bfuzz » Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:42 am

astromass wrote:Hey
New to modular here. I’m attempting to sequence the neutron with a metropolis.

Gate out from metropolis to env1 input on neutron. Pitch output on metropolis to osc1/2 input. Output out heading into my mixer. This works correctly, but the note hangs once the sequencer stops...just drones on and on. The envelopes on the neutron have no effect. Shouldn’t the envelopes still work since they’re normalized?

Any help would greatly be appreciated!

Thanks


astromass im experiencing this same problem with the beat step pro.. how did you resolve this problem?

Ttrev2k
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 7:58 am

Post by Ttrev2k » Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:37 am

Is there anyone who owns a Neutron and a Moog M32 rack? I’m wondering if it would be possible to use the Moog rack stands with the Behringer 80HP products? Those screw holds look very close and I’m thinking of chaining a few Pro1s and a Neutron :hmm:

User avatar
deftinwulf
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:34 am

Post by deftinwulf » Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:25 am

On the Neutron Facebook group, there seemed to be a number of people who had issues with the 2.0 firmware upgrade. Not just getting the updater software to recognize their Neutron, but problems with features like the note priority for paraphony or something like that, and at least one person whose Neutron would no longer show up as a Midi device in their DAW after the update.

I've got mine racked in my Mantis case so upgrading it means returning it to the factory case and then setting it up with the editor software to make sure it's set to my desired version of all the new options (LFO can now be one-shot or retrig, etc.) before switching back to the rack again, so for now I've decided to hold off in hopes that they will release a 2.1 update in the near future which addresses the reliability of the firmware. :hmm:

User avatar
needto
Common Wiggler
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:20 am
Location: Berlin

Post by needto » Sun Feb 03, 2019 5:41 pm

Digging the tone with the overdrive circuit bypassed a lot recently. Much cleaner, crisper and fuller IMO, wish there was a simple bypass button available. Patching VCF1 into VCA IN does the job.

User avatar
computer controlled
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3836
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 4:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post by computer controlled » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:05 pm

deftinwulf wrote:On the Neutron Facebook group, there seemed to be a number of people who had issues with the 2.0 firmware upgrade. Not just getting the updater software to recognize their Neutron, but problems with features like the note priority for paraphony or something like that, and at least one person whose Neutron would no longer show up as a Midi device in their DAW after the update.

I've got mine racked in my Mantis case so upgrading it means returning it to the factory case and then setting it up with the editor software to make sure it's set to my desired version of all the new options (LFO can now be one-shot or retrig, etc.) before switching back to the rack again, so for now I've decided to hold off in hopes that they will release a 2.1 update in the near future which addresses the reliability of the firmware. :hmm:
My update went just fine, but i can't get the control app to recognize the Neutron.
Stuff: SH-01A . TR-8S . MX-1 . D-20 . Waldorf MicroQ - Waldorf Microwave II . Ensoniq EPS 16+ . Yamaha MODX6 . Yamaha DX7 . MPC Live . Avalon BassLine . Behringer Neutron . Behringer MS-101 . Behringer Pro-1 . Behringer K-2 . Behringer TD-3 . E-Mu Emax . BeatStep Pro . Keystep .

User avatar
needto
Common Wiggler
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:20 am
Location: Berlin

Post by needto » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:12 pm

computer controlled wrote: My update went just fine, but i can't get the control app to recognize the Neutron.
Have you selected the Neutron's midi ports in the drop downs on the right next to the midi channel selector? I was a bit stumped by this initially, no idea why can't they just look for devices named "Neutron" in there automatically, or use the USB device/manufacturer ID.

User avatar
deb76
Common Wiggler
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:52 pm
Location: France Haute-Normandie
Contact:

Post by deb76 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:24 am

needto wrote:
computer controlled wrote: My update went just fine, but i can't get the control app to recognize the Neutron.
Have you selected the Neutron's midi ports in the drop downs on the right next to the midi channel selector? I was a bit stumped by this initially, no idea why can't they just look for devices named "Neutron" in there automatically, or use the USB device/manufacturer ID.
Yes, you have to choose Neutron in "In" and "Out". For my part, I appreciate more and more Neutron with its possibilities related to patchbay. I am not a specialist of modular and I found that what could be a problem with the Neutron was actually my lack of knowledge of the synth or modular. Today, I can get from an idea what I want. I appreciate as much its very clean side by cycling the overdrive (VCF1 => VCA In) for sequences with the Uvi Falcon (Ircam Solo Instruments), Model D and Deepmind 12 in a contemporary / dodecaphonic / serial / spectral music, and its versatile appearance with progressive sequences in drone (with the VCA Bias) that are reminiscent of what I was doing 35 years ago with my EMS Synthi AKS.

User avatar
deftinwulf
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:34 am

Post by deftinwulf » Wed Feb 13, 2019 3:46 pm

So is the 2.0 update going smoothly for everyone here? The comments on the FB group and this thread on the company forum (https://forum.musictribe.com/showthread ... th-via-USB) made me feel like it wouldn't be worth the effort to try updating right now. But since it doesn't seem Behringer is going to make an official statement or hotfix to the firmware/Neutron App any time soon, I might have to give it a shot anyway.

Anyone have any hot tips about how they got the firmware to update with minimal fuss/headache?
computer controlled wrote: My update went just fine, but i can't get the control app to recognize the Neutron.
That was one of the common issues I've seen discussed elsewhere on the net. Did you ever resolve it?

Panason
is banned
is banned
Posts: 3324
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 7:56 am

Post by Panason » Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:18 pm

I have not touched any updates for this, and probably won't. The last thing I'm going to do is wait for Behringer to fix bugs.
For me the Neutron is what it is.. it works, and not having to worry about firmware and updates is one of the reasons to have analog gear like this.

User avatar
Muzone
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:30 pm
Location: London

Post by Muzone » Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:35 am

deftinwulf wrote:
Anyone have any hot tips about how they got the firmware to update with minimal fuss/headache?
followed the instructions to the letter ;)
things that seemed to have cropped up over and again on the FB page/s
unplug the MIDI connection
do the slightly arcane driver install/resintall thing
take note of the reset button/power up combinations
maybe (not confirmed) use USB2 rather than 3

It is worth it unless you're really hung up on the paraphonic note priority as you get easy access to extra functions that are either clunky front panel key presses or not available without the app

User avatar
deftinwulf
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:34 am

Post by deftinwulf » Thu Feb 14, 2019 9:21 am

Muzone wrote:It is worth it unless you're really hung up on the paraphonic note priority as you get easy access to extra functions that are either clunky front panel key presses or not available without the app
I suppose that may be the biggest issue with this update, and it's one that is not related to a clunky update procedure or bug - it's a feature.

I don't have enough experience with monosynths to know what note priority mode I prefer (Neutron is my first), but the fact that once you update, whatever mode you put it into applies to both monophonic and paraphonic modes seems problematic. As I understand it, last note priority is better for mono playing and low note priority is better for duophonic playing. I'd really like the update for the other features it adds, but not being able to designate both note priorities simultaneously (one for para and one for mono) is making me question it.

Buyakasoundman
Common Wiggler
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:46 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Post by Buyakasoundman » Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:28 pm

Donny wrote:Hey all, fairly new to modular but I purchased a neutron last month and have been loving it, I've been using a circuit as a sequencer and it seems to work okay.

I've just ordered a Euro case and was wondering what are your guy's opinions on what modules would be a good starting point to work with the neutron, possibly some drums?

Diy modules would work best for me to save some dollar, I look on modular grid and just get overwhelmed with options haha
There is a new modular drum sampler on the market called the Nutella. It’s 16 tracks with 8 audio out. I believe it can be had DIY too.

User avatar
Broadwave
Common Wiggler
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:05 am
Location: Manchester UK

Post by Broadwave » Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:44 am

Oh, oh... I'm having a bit of a problem with external CV control of the Neutron's VCOs.

If I use the Neutron via MIDI (Roland System 8/Kronos) everything sounds fine with both VCOs scaling correctly, but if I use either the Arturia Keystep/System 8 or ARP 2600 Keyboard CV output (BTW, all 3 are calibrated for precisely 1V/Oct) and plug it into the VCO 1&2 input, the Neutron's VCO scaling is way out, to the point of being unuseable with a CV based keyboard.

I'm going to try and rescale the VCOs with the internal trimmers for external CV control, but I suspect that I won't be able to use it via MIDI afterwards, unless there's also a trimmer somewhere for MIDI CV scaling :hmm: :despair:

I'm also going to do the sync mod, the default is dreadful.

User avatar
AndyHornBlower
Common Wiggler
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:48 am
Location: UK

Post by AndyHornBlower » Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:58 am

I've read a similar complaint on Gearslutz, Broadwave - in the main thread for it there. I think he sent it to be looked at, in the end.

I've only played mine via MIDI... I probably ought to check that. I've used a VCO input for fine tuning, but not for notes.

User avatar
Muzone
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:30 pm
Location: London

Post by Muzone » Sun Mar 24, 2019 12:24 pm

George Hall tutorials using the Neutron, good introduction to the synth and recreates some classic sounds :)
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvNM5I ... zRiP3s2s5Q

Hudson_303
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:08 pm

Post by Hudson_303 » Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:27 pm

Hi guys! Love making patches on this. Managed to get a hoover sound out of it...



OSC 1: SAWTOOTH (OCT 16)
OSC 2: SAWTOOTH (OCT 32)
OSC Mix: 55%

FILT MODE: LP
FREQ: 100%
RESO: 0
MOD DEPTH: 0
ENV DEPTH: 0

LFO RATE: 0

ENV 1: A= 10%, D=50%, S=60%, R=45%
ENV 2: A=50%, D=100%, S=50%, R=30%

ATT1: 25%

Patching: ENV2 --- ATT 1 IN, ATT 1 --- OSC 1+2

Play with the ATTENUATOR 1 knob ;)

User avatar
mrf
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 12:35 pm
Location: russia
Contact:

Post by mrf » Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:21 pm

have anybody played lfo as osc?
what do you think about neutron's lfo?
and how about making it clean?

12kHz filtered out to dc by hw. tracking is bad due to heavy optimization

meatballfulton
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:15 am

Post by meatballfulton » Sun Mar 31, 2019 1:33 pm

What's the level sensitivity for the Audio Input jack on the Neutron's back panel? How hot a signal is required here?

Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”