1010music Blackbox - Compact Sampling Studio

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

User avatar
blipson
Common Wiggler
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2018 10:30 pm
Location: 光仔
Contact:

Post by blipson » Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:59 am

Shakespeare wrote:So has anyone had this show up in their studio yet? Would love to hear more first-hand impressions.
My quick impression is that I like the tactile quality of it, which you might not expect, given the touchscreen. But the mix of touchscreen, buttons, and knobs does have a nice feel when you hold this very portable device in your hands to operate it solo.

High V3locity
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 9:45 am

Midi out

Post by High V3locity » Sun Jun 23, 2019 1:29 pm

So I have a question. From my understanding it has 16 separate sequencers. Dose this mean I could use this to sequence up to 16 different midi devices with the midi out?

User avatar
SOPiiAC
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:47 pm

Re: Midi out

Post by SOPiiAC » Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:51 pm

High V3locity wrote:So I have a question. From my understanding it has 16 separate sequencers. Dose this mean I could use this to sequence up to 16 different midi devices with the midi out?
Indeed. I'd not recommend chaining 16 devices all in a row but this would work beautifully with some kind of midi router. The other thing to keep in mind is there is no sequencing of anything other than notes at this time.

High V3locity
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 9:45 am

Re: Midi out

Post by High V3locity » Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:58 pm

SOPiiAC wrote:
High V3locity wrote:So I have a question. From my understanding it has 16 separate sequencers. Dose this mean I could use this to sequence up to 16 different midi devices with the midi out?
Indeed. I'd not recommend chaining 16 devices all in a row but this would work beautifully with some kind of midi router. The other thing to keep in mind is there is no sequencing of anything other than notes at this time.
So I can plug the black box into something like a midi to CV module and use it to sequence my gate, 1v/Oct and velocity correct?

User avatar
SOPiiAC
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:47 pm

Post by SOPiiAC » Sun Jun 23, 2019 4:13 pm

Just notes and gates right now with a midi to cv module. Although you could use a separate track to sequence the velocity, I suppose.

One thing to keep in mind if you're interfacing with modular. The i/o is DC coupled so you can record modulation from your modular and then playback and sequence the modulation on the 6 different mono outs and send it back into your modules. :tu:

User avatar
landmax
Common Wiggler
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:39 pm

Post by landmax » Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:08 pm

When programming one shot drums in the sequencer, are they all at the same velocity? If so is there a way of adjusting velocities on the different hits/notes?

vegeta897
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 5:15 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by vegeta897 » Thu Jun 27, 2019 5:04 pm

Note velocity can be recorded live to a sequence, but it can't be edited after the fact or set when programming in steps. According to 1010, they want to address this.

User avatar
DruidTek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:06 am
Contact:

Post by DruidTek » Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:07 am

landmax wrote:When programming one shot drums in the sequencer, are they all at the same velocity? If so is there a way of adjusting velocities on the different hits/notes?
Adjust the velocity fader on the right side of the main screen.

RichMakeGame
Common Wiggler
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 4:16 am
Location: Newcastle UK

Post by RichMakeGame » Wed Jul 03, 2019 7:41 am

once you have a sample recorded, can you add to it? overdub/overwrite or record more on the end?

Spectromat
Common Wiggler
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:03 am
Location: UK

Post by Spectromat » Sun Jul 14, 2019 2:23 am

New beta firmware 1.1 available on the 1010Music forum:

We are pleased to make available our first feature update to blackbox. Version 1.1 includes the following:

Destructive editing. You can now trim a sample using the start and length controls in sample mode
WAV file saving. You can embed loops, root note, beat count, and slice markers into WAV files for future use
Control of the root note of a sample for matching the internal keyboard and MIDI
Control of the beat count of a clip for those recordings with odd beat counts and far tempo jumps
MIDI thru. You can now play external MIDI from the touch screen. Inbound MIDI will also route to the active SEQ and its MIDI channel.
Clips will now hold until you press the Play button. This allows you to stage several at once and unleash them in time.
Improved capture of SEQ changes when recording song sections.
Version 1.1 includes the following bug fixes:
There was digital bleed through from the Out 3 signal to the headphones and vice versa.

Just ordered one of these.. looking forward to having a play :hyper:

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10764
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Mon Jul 15, 2019 12:43 am

Great news!
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

versipellis
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:25 pm
Location: Boston

Post by versipellis » Mon Jul 15, 2019 2:49 am

SOPiiAC wrote:One thing to keep in mind if you're interfacing with modular. The i/o is DC coupled so you can record modulation from your modular and then playback and sequence the modulation on the 6 different mono outs and send it back into your modules. :tu:
The manual isn't super clear on this, but can you record and save your CV modulations?

Spectromat
Common Wiggler
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:03 am
Location: UK

Post by Spectromat » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:54 am

versipellis wrote:can you record and save your CV modulations?
@14.55 there is talk of CV recording.
[video][/video]

versipellis
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:25 pm
Location: Boston

Post by versipellis » Tue Jul 16, 2019 6:10 pm

Spectromat wrote:
versipellis wrote:can you record and save your CV modulations?
@14.55 there is talk of CV recording.
[video][/video]
Yes, I've seen that, but it doesn't say anything about saving the CV recordings.

vegeta897
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 5:15 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by vegeta897 » Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:36 am

versipellis wrote:Yes, I've seen that, but it doesn't say anything about saving the CV recordings.
The machine does not differentiate or even "know" the difference between a CV recording and an audio recording, so yes, it saves WAVs of them the same way it saves audio samples.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5654
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Wed Jul 17, 2019 12:59 pm

how is the audio recording working,
is it the same as in the bitbox ?
same kind of menüs and quantisation setup ?
( i have now a bitbox )


the bitbox seems to have destructive sample editing, is this right ?
can this be apllyed after the recording without a need to change pages or a mode or so.
(means: record / there you have your just recorded sample / just edit and cut from there.......or at least not more than one button push )
For sale / reduced prices ( swiss (we are NON-EU)/ in case it makes sense_ EU/WW)(CHF +- = $):
lowered prices: Dotcom Q960: 650.- / Q119: 420 / ( i also have one or much likely two 19" Frames)
ATV A-Frame incl. Accu and Bag: 830.-, like new, quasi unused.

Miguel606
Common Wiggler
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 7:42 pm

Post by Miguel606 » Wed Jul 24, 2019 3:34 pm

does anyone know if you can you plug the usb into laptop and backup projects or swap wav files back and forth?

User avatar
anselmi
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3983
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:08 pm

Post by anselmi » Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:09 am

I´d want to know more about live looping

Is it possible to loop an incoming audio on the fly and then (automatically) the loop replace the source without glitches?

I mean: I´d want to sample and loop my Digitakt and let the loop run immediatly, muting the audio source without superposition of both, so I could change the pattern and then mix it back to make flawless transitions

User avatar
DruidTek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:06 am
Contact:

Post by DruidTek » Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:50 am

anselmi wrote:I´d want to know more about live looping

Is it possible to loop an incoming audio on the fly and then (automatically) the loop replace the source without glitches?

I mean: I´d want to sample and loop my Digitakt and let the loop run immediatly, muting the audio source without superposition of both, so I could change the pattern and then mix it back to make flawless transitions
Yes, of course! It just takes a while to learn the different quantise and recording settings, then practice the timing until you can do it.

Spectromat
Common Wiggler
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:03 am
Location: UK

Post by Spectromat » Thu Jul 25, 2019 12:37 pm

Miguel606 wrote:does anyone know if you can you plug the usb into laptop and backup projects or swap wav files back and forth?
I believe file transfer is by the removable microSD card only currently.

User avatar
appliancide
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1461
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:51 am
Location: Idiocracy

Post by appliancide » Thu Jul 25, 2019 4:35 pm

Happy to report that the blackbox is great for child-friendly industrial/noise performances.

[video][/video]

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10764
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Tue Jul 30, 2019 2:49 am

New beta firmware seems to allow resampling. Finally!
I haven't tested it yet but I'm looking forward to it.
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
anselmi
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3983
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:08 pm

Post by anselmi » Tue Jul 30, 2019 2:13 pm

Paranormal Patroler wrote:New beta firmware seems to allow resampling. Finally!
I haven't tested it yet but I'm looking forward to it.
still no resonant filter?

any kind of modulator?

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10764
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Wed Jul 31, 2019 2:54 am

No resonant filter that I know of, although to be honest I'd be far more interested in a decent parametric EQ and a full fledged compressor. Devices like these need EQ, Compression, Level, Panning, and Reverb. The rest I can outsource. But that's just what I'd expect.
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
anselmi
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3983
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:08 pm

Post by anselmi » Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:36 pm

Paranormal Patroler wrote:No resonant filter that I know of, although to be honest I'd be far more interested in a decent parametric EQ and a full fledged compressor. Devices like these need EQ, Compression, Level, Panning, and Reverb. The rest I can outsource. But that's just what I'd expect.
oh, no! too much DAW...and less an instrument, like the MPC live...leave this stuff for computers and add instrument features instead!

reverb would be OK

Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”