Sequencer For Digital Synthesizer Ensemble

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

operator808
Common Wiggler

Sequencer For Digital Synthesizer Ensemble

Post by operator808 » Mon Mar 09, 2020 2:17 am

Hey guys.

I'm looking for some advice. I'm set to begin composing a large-scale A/V piece that has been commissioned by a film studio/tech company and I'm looking for a capable and stable sequencer or a combination of hardware and software tools to control an ensemble of digital gear. Here's a bit of background:

I have limited DAW knowledge but own licensed copies of Ableton and Bitwig.
I've got 15 years of analog and digital synth expertise.
I have used hardware sequencers such as Oberkorn, Doepfer, SQ-1, etc but none of the new stuff in the digital realm other than Eloquencer and FLXS1
I am a very fast learner.

Here's the gear being used in the show:

Novation Peak (played by SL MK3)
ASM Hydrasynth
Elektron Digitone
Eurorack system (w/ Make Noise Telharmonic as main voice)
Arturia Farfisa-V
Eventide H9 Max

I just really want to know whether I'd be safer and better off writing sequences in the DAW using something like Five12 Numerology OR whether it would make sense to have a piece of hardware. I can accept the learning curve for either but my primary concerns are this:

a. Stability of OS X powered machine running a DAW when it comes to clocking and sending MIDI messages + stability of MIDI-CV box/module

b. Flexibility of hardware sequencer since I would need, other than a stable clock, options for ratcheting, step LFOs, and the ability to easily compose/sequence melodic parts and trigger them live. Ability to import MIDI from computer into this would be great too.

c. Budget of $1500

Help?

JankySwitch
Learning to Wiggle

Re: Sequencer For Digital Synthesizer Ensemble

Post by JankySwitch » Mon Mar 09, 2020 5:23 am

Have a look at the Squarp Pyramid - it might do what you want.