More CVs into DFAM

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
Bite
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 1:06 pm
Location: Stockholm, SWE

More CVs into DFAM

Post by Bite » Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:41 am

Hi

Finally I got my DFAM, great stuff - but I badly miss an input on the machine. A CV input allowing me to control/modulate the "VCF EG Amount".
Why, oh why, did that input not made it into the design?

But.. With a soldering iron and insights I guess it's doable (maybe not so advisable). Somone out there that have been brave enough to hack their DFAMs and extended the capabilities and would like to share some insights?

User avatar
Tajnost
Common Wiggler
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 8:52 am
Location: Moscow

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by Tajnost » Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:44 am

Aha, and also step reset input for the sequencer...

I talked to many synth technicians, and all of them told me that it's super hard if not impossible to hack dfam due to the way it made inside.
However, would love to see some mods, especially sequencer related (back/frw playing, random, step reset or just set the seq length ).

User avatar
Richard deHove
Common Wiggler
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:32 pm
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by Richard deHove » Wed Mar 25, 2020 11:08 am

Loopop has a good video on the DFAM which has a workaround for sequence length. The Moog Music channel also has a worthwhile hour long video on some deeper aspects. There's still a lot that can be done with DFAM even though it has quite a few "wish it had" aspects.

User avatar
hinterlands303
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 785
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:57 pm
Location: Detroit

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by hinterlands303 » Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:48 am

Bite wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:41 am
Hi

Finally I got my DFAM, great stuff - but I badly miss an input on the machine. A CV input allowing me to control/modulate the "VCF EG Amount".
Why, oh why, did that input not made it into the design?
Do you have a modular outside of the DFAM? If so you could use an external (DC coupled) VCA.

Set the VCF EG amount know to zero. Envelope out into VCA in. Control signal to CV input of VCA. VCA output to VCF Mod input.

flashheart
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1642
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:58 am

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by flashheart » Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:17 pm

Bite wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:41 am
Hi

Finally I got my DFAM, great stuff - but I badly miss an input on the machine. A CV input allowing me to control/modulate the "VCF EG Amount".
Why, oh why, did that input not made it into the design?

But.. With a soldering iron and insights I guess it's doable (maybe not so advisable). Somone out there that have been brave enough to hack their DFAMs and extended the capabilities and would like to share some insights?
Adding control of an amount of something (in this case the EG) involves a VCA, not that trivial, would have been nice but I can see why it's not there as standard. Wouldn't be easy to add either.
I'm not buying a maths though, not my idea of fun...

flashheart
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1642
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:58 am

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by flashheart » Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:20 pm

Bite wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:41 am
Hi

Finally I got my DFAM, great stuff - but I badly miss an input on the machine. A CV input allowing me to control/modulate the "VCF EG Amount".
Why, oh why, did that input not made it into the design?

But.. With a soldering iron and insights I guess it's doable (maybe not so advisable). Somone out there that have been brave enough to hack their DFAMs and extended the capabilities and would like to share some insights?
Adding control of an amount of something (in this case the EG) involves a VCA, it's not that trivial. Yes it would have been nice but I can see why it's not there as standard. It'd need more than a sodering iron and a drill :)
I'm not buying a maths though, not my idea of fun...

seta666
Common Wiggler
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:15 am

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by seta666 » Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:24 am

It would be nice if the sequencer could be hacked. Number of steps and reset.
FM audio input would be nice too.

Transistor
Common Wiggler
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:07 am
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by Transistor » Fri Mar 27, 2020 10:01 am

+1 on the reset, horrible omission. I still very much looove the DFAM though!

hru
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:36 pm

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by hru » Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:15 am

Behringer pls install the DFAM to your upcoming Q960 Clone-Sequencer
Moog is these Days apparently too stupid for that

Otherwise Pattering + Expert Sleepers FH-2 works with DFAM well

seta666
Common Wiggler
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:15 am

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by seta666 » Fri Mar 27, 2020 4:16 pm

I wish moog had used Korg's SQ-1 sequencer..

hru
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:36 pm

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by hru » Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:33 am

SQ-1 is great but there would also be no reset.
almost all hardware sequencers have too few CVs

Maybe a Voltage Block + Attenuators (Dfam needs different Volts)

seta666
Common Wiggler
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:15 am

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by seta666 » Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:52 am

hru wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:33 am
SQ-1 is great but there would also be no reset.
I know it has no reset but it is still way better than DFAM's own sequencer

I use the step jump button as a manual reset button, and if you press stop button at least it goes back to first step.

In DFAM you have to stop the sequencer and manually advance to the last step...it is a very dumb dumb sequencer..
Last edited by seta666 on Sat Mar 28, 2020 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

hru
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:36 pm

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by hru » Sat Mar 28, 2020 4:29 am

seta666 wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:52 am

I use the step jump button as a manual reset button, and if you press stop button at least it goes back to first step.

In DFAM you have to stop the sequencer and manually advance to the last step...it is a very dumb dumb sequencer..
very good Tip, Thanks!

User avatar
msboude
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:22 pm

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by msboude » Tue Mar 31, 2020 3:58 pm

Not sure how to post a video.. but here is my dfam reset patch.. heh!


User avatar
msboude
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:22 pm

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by msboude » Tue Mar 31, 2020 6:49 pm


User avatar
msboude
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:22 pm

Re: More CVs into DFAM

Post by msboude » Tue Mar 31, 2020 8:27 pm

This patch uses the pitch row of the DFAM to create a reset point.

The first knob of the pitch row is fully CCW, the rest are fully CW.

The DFAM's pitch row voltage goes out to VCA #1 input. The CV input for this VCA is your reset input. The output of VCA #1 goes out to the CV input of VCA #2.

You will feed a super fast LFO, clock or oscillator to the input of VCA #2. The output will go to an OR combiner.

The Or Combiner will also have your normal clock source. The output of the Or Combiner goes to your DFAM's adv/clock input.

When you trigger VCA 1 (your reset trigger), it sends the pitch cv row voltage out to open the 2nd VCA and allowing your super fast lfo to mix in with the clock at the combiner. On reset, once it reaches the first step, the pitch cv is fully CCW so it pulls VCA 2 closed and stops the super fast LFO from mixing with the clock at the combiner. It will advance to step 2 when it receives it's next normal clock signal and VCA two will then be open and ready for another reset.

Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”