MOTU 2408 and TDIF/Tascam input problem... no audio

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
helix
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:13 am
Location: London, England

MOTU 2408 and TDIF/Tascam input problem... no audio

Post by helix » Fri May 22, 2020 12:16 pm

Hey there, so in realising i could re-jig some of the equipment round, i realised i could move one of my MOTU 2408's over to where the modular is, for an extra 8 inputs to my DAW from the modular. Great..

So i connected the two synths that WERE connected to that 2408, up to my MAIN 2408 via a TRS to TASCAM/TDIF cable. Now i get no audio showing up on the main 2408 interface at all. Have checked wires, all connected correctly.
Have checked all software, all inputs are enable too.
Have i bought a TDIF cable that somehow doesn't work with the 2408?? It's very annoying!

Anyone have experience connecting these up?

EDIT. DELETE THIS IF YOU WILL. I'M A SILLY MAN. IT'S NEVER GOING TO WORK I SEE THAT NOW. :bang: :lol:
Last edited by helix on Fri May 22, 2020 1:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.

helix
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:13 am
Location: London, England

Re: MOTU 2408 and TDIF/Tascam input problem... no audio

Post by helix » Fri May 22, 2020 12:36 pm

Oh no. It;s not an analogue to digital converter is it.

Shit.

How might i go about this then? I've used the 8 analog INs on my 2408mk3, and i want to input more... Anything i can do?

Mr.Kus
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 5:29 am

Re: MOTU 2408 and TDIF/Tascam input problem... no audio

Post by Mr.Kus » Fri May 22, 2020 1:13 pm

Are you using all of the adat inputs? I think you can only use either adat or TDIF per input. If you have adat inputs free you can add more a/d converters through them.

helix
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:13 am
Location: London, England

Re: MOTU 2408 and TDIF/Tascam input problem... no audio

Post by helix » Fri May 22, 2020 3:23 pm

It won’t work as the tdif is digital and expects a digital signal where as I’ve got analog going into it. Doh! I asked over on SOS too and the ever helpful Hugh Robjohns confirmed that I am indeed a silly billy. Of course it won’t work! :waah:

Mr.Kus
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 5:29 am

Re: MOTU 2408 and TDIF/Tascam input problem... no audio

Post by Mr.Kus » Fri May 22, 2020 4:19 pm

Yeah tascam digital interface. ;) I meant that if you are out of analog inputs, but haven't used all adat inputs you can expand the interface with something like Behringer ADA8200 or Focusrite Clarett OctoPre.

helix
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:13 am
Location: London, England

Re: MOTU 2408 and TDIF/Tascam input problem... no audio

Post by helix » Fri May 22, 2020 5:38 pm

Mr.Kus wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 4:19 pm
Yeah tascam digital interface. ;) I meant that if you are out of analog inputs, but haven't used all adat inputs you can expand the interface with something like Behringer ADA8200 or Focusrite Clarett OctoPre.
Yuss, i may end up going this way, although have rejigged again and now have my Rolands JP-8080 and MKS-50 going into a patchbay instead ready to be patched into the main 2408 when needed. Allowing me to move the secondary 2408 over to the 3rd one i have that is my 8 ins from the modular to DAW and 8 CV outs from the DAW. Now i'll have 16 of each :D

I doubt i will use all 16 but my 8 inputs got used up pretty quickly with a clouds and a warps in delay mode being used as stereo FX units basically

Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”