Recommend a reverb unit (rack or pedal) for ambient?

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Johnnyfive
Wiggling with Experience

Recommend a reverb unit (rack or pedal) for ambient?

Post by Johnnyfive » Sun Feb 07, 2021 11:03 am

Hi folks,

so, I've been using a Strymon Blue Sky as my only reverb for about three years - it's hooked up as an aux send on my mixer, and I generally use it for pretty long droney reverbs which are quite prominent in the mix. I make ambient music, mainly based around looping guitar in eurorack and also with some analog synths.

I like the Strymon a lot, but since reverb is such a big component of my sound, I want to experiment with other options too. Not looking to replace the Blue Sky necessarily, but more to find something which complements it. Budget is max around £350, and I'm happy to go secondhand. I need stereo out - stereo in is not necessary as my mixer only has mono sends, but I'd prefer it as i sometimes patch reverb as a stereo send from my DAW.

I'm pretty easy in terms of whether it's a pedal or rackmount, and I'm open to exploring older 80s/90s rackmount effects (although I'm wary that some of them are pretty old now so may not be so reliable). I really like the fact that the Blue Sky is very hands on, and I'd like something similar for this unit (which again means rackmount may not be so good).

When I bought the Blue Sky, the main alternative I looked at was the Eventide Space - that still sounds like an option, but I'm conscious that there are lots of well-regarded reverb pedals that have come out in the last few years. The Meris Mercury 7 sounds pretty great, and I've heard good things about Empress and the Oto Bam (although Bam is over budget). Another option is to upgrade to a Big Sky.