Cheapest DC-coupled interface?

Reaktor, MAX/MSP, VST/AU, etc. A place for all things soft....

Moderators: lisa, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
dpcoffin
Common Wiggler
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 12:06 pm
Location: Brookings OR USA
Contact:

Cheapest DC-coupled interface?

Post by dpcoffin » Fri Oct 04, 2019 1:33 pm

Just wondering if there's any hardware audio interface out there that might be inexpensive enough to be worth investigating for routing CV between software devices with all the features only a real hardware I/O device might offer, as suggested in this, from the Numerology forums, under the heading Inter-app Virtual CV:

http://www.five12.net/showthread.php?t=3546&page=3

"So I did some experimenting with a few things. First I tried Soundflower and Loopback. They work for sending CV as audio between VCV rack and your DAW, but performance is not good enough and it's not very stable. Then I tried using the virtual audio channels of my audio interface. My motu 16A lets me create more channels than I have actual physical I/O for, I guess for using with their AVB networking features. The 16A has a maximum of 32 physical in and out, but if I'm using thunderbolt I can create a setup with 128 I/O with virtual channels. I can use those virtual channels to send audio between VCV rack and ableton, with high performance and stability. So until there's a high performance, inter-app standard for sending audio and/or virtual CV, using the virtual channels of networkable audio interfaces (Dante-capable, or AVB) is a viable option. For now the biggest limitation for doing this with VCV rack is the fact that right now you can only have one active audio I/O module in a rack or it crashes. And the way you select banks of channels for those modules is not flexible. But the VCV dev community is receptive to suggestions and sometimes they are lightening-fast."

Thanks!

User avatar
rjungemann
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 830
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 2:18 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA

Post by rjungemann » Fri Oct 04, 2019 3:24 pm

You should be able to use an Aggregate Device in OS X's Audio MIDI Setup to combine multiple audio devices into a single device, to use with an Audio module in VCV Rack, fwiw. I don't think it introduces additional latency.

As an aside, in the past I've used Homebrew to install jackd, and then manage audio channels in a Terminal. It's slightly janky and it's not a solution for everyone, but that's how I routed audio when I was doing live-coding with ChucK.
My modular (ModularGrid). Check out my new synth-pop album, Umbram.

OMN
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 10:05 am
Location: Istanbul

Post by OMN » Sun Oct 06, 2019 6:23 am

If you have already an ADAT out on your interface, I would go with Expert Sleepers Adat->CV converters..

djphoto7896@me.com
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 2:09 pm
Location: united kingdom

Post by djphoto7896@me.com » Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:15 am

I bought an id22 works sometimes but due to the limitations of ableton can only use 1 in out at a time

User avatar
renderful
Common Wiggler
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:18 pm

Post by renderful » Mon Nov 11, 2019 12:28 pm


dpcoffin
Common Wiggler
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 12:06 pm
Location: Brookings OR USA
Contact:

Post by dpcoffin » Tue Nov 12, 2019 6:12 pm

Thanks—I've been watching it:)

But I just got this info today, re the idea in my original post about internal routing, which appeals since I don't have any other hardware to send to or back from:
Thank you for your interest in our products! The least expensive MOTU interface that features the same internal routing/mixing application as the 16A would be the UltraLite-mk4.
A BIT spendy, esp. Considering that MIDI 2 may solve this for me soonish anyway…

Stides
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:26 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

Post by Stides » Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:22 am

Check out the presonus 1812c and its siblings

dpcoffin
Common Wiggler
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 12:06 pm
Location: Brookings OR USA
Contact:

Post by dpcoffin » Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:37 pm

Stides wrote:Check out the presonus 1812c and its siblings
Did you maybe mean 1810c? Can't find an 1812 anywhere…

Stides
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:26 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

Post by Stides » Tue Nov 26, 2019 9:40 am

dpcoffin wrote:
Stides wrote:Check out the presonus 1812c and its siblings
Did you maybe mean 1810c? Can't find an 1812 anywhere…
Yes... I was mistaken. I have the 1824c and so far am pretty pleased with it.

Post Reply

Return to “Music Software”