Versatile drum synth (for drum sound design) in 2019

Reaktor, MAX/MSP, VST/AU, etc. A place for all things soft....

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

High Wolf
Veteran Wiggler

Versatile drum synth (for drum sound design) in 2019

Post by High Wolf » Fri Nov 15, 2019 8:28 am

Hey,

I'm new to software synthesis (experienced modular and hardware user though) and I'm looking for a way to synthesis futuristic / experimental / digital drums. Absolutely not interested in analogue sounding software, I got this covered. Not into sample based stuff either. I'm using Ableton Live 10.

So far my research led me to those two :

- microtonic
- Tremor by Fxpansion

I lean towards Tremor BUT it is discontinuited which makes it a bit complicated for future things (Mac OS Catalina and whatnot). Also those are fairly "old" so I wonder what else is there? What alternative would you recommend?

Thanks a lot for your help

xradii
Learning to Wiggle

Post by xradii » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:15 am

May not be what you are looking after but if you have Max For Live w/ your copy of Ableton Live then ESQ is great for running drums through it for more experimental,"off the grid" stuff: https://k-devices.com/products/esq

But again, it's a sequencer not a drum machine, so might not be what you are after. Figured I'd mention it though. Also, I think Max For Live is your best bet for this.

High Wolf
Veteran Wiggler

Post by High Wolf » Sat Nov 16, 2019 4:34 am

I got Max for Live but haven’t really tried to design my own stuff with it yet (I find the UI a bit rough for my taste). Still is something I want to learn down the line.
I am not looking for a sequencer, it really is about designing drum sounds. I am into some kind of more advanced « beat repeat » plug ins as well if someone has recommandations.

oisin
Veteran Wiggler

Post by oisin » Sat Nov 16, 2019 6:07 pm

there are the digital drum synths for M4L the christian kleine did.. they might be in m4l essentials or something.