RackPlanner 1.3

Downloads, information and resources for the RackPlanner software.

Moderators: Kent, dougcl

Post Reply
User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4051
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Post by dougcl » Sun Nov 21, 2010 12:50 am

Here's an example of the new scaled image quality.

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4051
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Post by dougcl » Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:41 pm

Hi folks, 1.2 is now available. SaveAs JPG now works with any directory.

If you haven't upgraded in a while, the latest version is much improved. Just copy RackPlanner.jar over your existing one.

User avatar
KNYST
hiding in the forest
Posts: 2935
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:09 am
Location: the Taiga, Sweden
Contact:

Post by KNYST » Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:18 pm

:tu:
NOISE HEALS.
patch responsibly.
LISTEN | WATCH

User avatar
dslocum
darwin's nemesis
Posts: 1976
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 6:58 am
Location: "Exit 89", NJ USA
Contact:

Post by dslocum » Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:34 pm

I started playing with RackPlanner about a month ago so I'm a newb, but couldn't find any MU / DOTCOM rack XMLs for studio or portable cabs. Am I missing something?
Doug Slocum
Synthetic Sound Labs
www.steamsynth.com
------------
"I guess all the Forest Mims Radio Shack books I read finally paid off!"
"I ordered twice as many _______ as I thought I'd need, only to find out that I'm still less than half way to having enough."
"...this whole thing was started by a dream and a mouse." - Walt Disney
"Flatulence sounds aren't just for brass and reed instruments anymore, thanks in large part to Dr Moog." - Ockeghem

User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4051
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Post by dougcl » Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:52 pm

dslocum wrote:I started playing with RackPlanner about a month ago so I'm a newb, but couldn't find any MU / DOTCOM rack XMLs for studio or portable cabs. Am I missing something?
Probably not. Some people have created background images, and some stuff is available here: http://squiggletronics.com/files/RackPl ... es/images/

But it's hit and miss whether what you need is there. If you can't find anything, do the following
1) Create a background image jpg and put it in the images subdirectory.
2) Create a subdirectory for your modules, and put all the modules in there.
3) Open an existing rack, delete all the modules out of it and save as a new rack.
4) Use Edit->Rack Properties to point to the background image and modules directory. Specify the correct HP for the rack. HP is the number of horizontal module spaces in your rack (must match whatever you did in the image).

Post the image and rack.xml in this subforum so others can use it :)

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2682
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:22 pm

dslocum wrote:I started playing with RackPlanner about a month ago so I'm a newb, but couldn't find any MU / DOTCOM rack XMLs for studio or portable cabs. Am I missing something?
Your timing is real good!
I just installed RACK-O-MATIC on ModuleMaker

Image
Let me know how that works out. :nana:

If you want me to add more rack image formats PM me and I'll ask you for some measurements etc.
(Sounds)--> :eek:

User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4051
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Post by dougcl » Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:27 pm

OMG :lol:

Looks awesome. Maybe create a separate thread for this.

User avatar
Petur
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Stockholm

Post by Petur » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:07 pm

Does anyone have a link to the complete zip of euro modules from http://squiggletronics.com/files/RackPl ... browse.php ?

The link at the top (to the zip containing all modules) seems to be broken and i'd prefer to not download each module one by one.

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2682
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:15 pm

Yikes. Sorry about that. I didn't know it was broken.

It's fixed now! 23.47MB of euro zips could take awhile.

Euro's gotten so big. Maybe we need some other way to pick modules for downloading.
(Sounds)--> :eek:

User avatar
Petur
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Stockholm

Post by Petur » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:18 pm

BananaPlug wrote:Yikes. Sorry about that. I didn't know it was broken.

It's fixed now! 23.47MB of euro zips could take awhile.
Super! Thanks! Downloading right now.

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2682
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:59 pm

:doh: Just fixed another broken thing in today's revised ModuleMaker. That's what I get for rushing it out the door. Nothing serious just a typo disabling essential functions.
(Sounds)--> :eek:

User avatar
Drumdrumdrumdrum
What she said
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:06 am
Location: Tropical Australia

Post by Drumdrumdrumdrum » Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:14 am

So this is only for PC?

User avatar
qu.one
hypnotic and sanctified
Posts: 4456
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:52 pm
Location: Pelham, NY

Post by qu.one » Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:42 am

Drumdrumdrumdrum wrote:So this is only for PC?
not at all. it's java.
--------------------------------------------
Qu.One Instagram
Qu.One Bandcamp
Qu.One on YouTube Music

User avatar
Henfield
Better Chemistry through Sound
Posts: 1245
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:20 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Post by Henfield » Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:19 am

Hey, I tried this today, but I could not get any Rack Image .jpgs to download for the Dotcom format. No issues with Euro, 5U, etc., but it wouldn't work for Dotcom.

User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4051
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Post by dougcl » Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:56 am

http://squiggletronics.com/files/RackPl ... Dotcom.zip

This is just the button at the top of the dotcom area.

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2682
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:54 pm

Henfield: I noticed an out of date file. I replaced that, tried it, it worked.

dougcl: You're linking him to a big file of all the dotcom module zips but I think he was asking for a Rack-o-matic rack image to use in RackPlanner.
(Sounds)--> :eek:

User avatar
Henfield
Better Chemistry through Sound
Posts: 1245
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:20 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Post by Henfield » Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:32 pm

BananaPlug wrote:Henfield: I noticed an out of date file. I replaced that, tried it, it worked.

dougcl: You're linking him to a big file of all the dotcom module zips but I think he was asking for a Rack-o-matic rack image to use in RackPlanner.
I appreciate the help! You are right, I am looking for a Rack-o-matic image. I may be doing something wrong, but it still does not work for me.

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2682
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:20 pm

Turns out I was too stingy about handing out memory and the small test I did had enough but yours did not. It will now make a 50 space wide Dotcom without complaining and should avoid fatal errors if you ask for something too big but the numbers are not working out quite as I expected so I can't guarantee that.
(Sounds)--> :eek:

User avatar
Henfield
Better Chemistry through Sound
Posts: 1245
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:20 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Post by Henfield » Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:51 pm

BananaPlug wrote:Turns out I was too stingy about handing out memory and the small test I did had enough but yours did not. It will now make a 50 space wide Dotcom without complaining and should avoid fatal errors if you ask for something too big but the numbers are not working out quite as I expected so I can't guarantee that.
A huge thank you!!! It works!!! I just need the Oakley MU modules added to the Library!!

User avatar
essex sound lab
wiggler of the spheres
Posts: 2431
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:07 pm
Location: Boston, Mass

Post by essex sound lab » Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:56 pm

Henfield wrote: I just need the Oakley MU modules added to the Library!!
I've done a few, but perhaps I didn't make them public or they were rejected.

They're hard to do well because there aren't many straight-on shots of them.

User avatar
Drumdrumdrumdrum
What she said
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:06 am
Location: Tropical Australia

Post by Drumdrumdrumdrum » Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:19 am

Has anyone got this working on an iPad?
"There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats."
- Author, Albert Schweitzer.

"Modular synths can take your ego out of the equation which, in music, is a blessing" - Jeremy Greenspan


http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/glennkingsleymortimer

User avatar
krisp14u
Oakley4All!
Posts: 1176
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by krisp14u » Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:28 am

Henfield wrote: I just need the Oakley MU modules added to the Library!!
I Photographed and uploaded the whole lot this weekend just waiting for them to be processed
If anyone want the files PM or email me and I will send them over
Cheers :guinness:

Paul
www.krisp1.com/store/
Fine Modular systems Built in Yorkshire UK EU Planet Earth

User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4051
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Post by dougcl » Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:22 pm

Drumdrumdrumdrum wrote:Has anyone got this working on an iPad?
Unfortunately Apple has decided to try to kill both Java and Flash. RackPlanner is written Java, and the Modular Planner is written in Flash. Neither can be legally run on the iPhone or iPad.

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2682
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:30 pm

krisp14u wrote:
Henfield wrote: I just need the Oakley MU modules added to the Library!!
I Photographed and uploaded the whole lot this weekend just waiting for them to be processed
If anyone want the files PM or email me and I will send them over
Done. Sorry for the delay.

I do intend to farm this out to module moderators but I have to write some code for that and several things have higher priorities.

User avatar
krisp14u
Oakley4All!
Posts: 1176
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by krisp14u » Wed Jan 18, 2012 2:40 am

BananaPlug wrote: Done. Sorry for the delay.

I do intend to farm this out to module moderators but I have to write some code for that and several things have higher priorities.
Thank you very much for doing it so fast
you sir are a gentleman :hail:
Cheers :guinness:

Paul
www.krisp1.com/store/
Fine Modular systems Built in Yorkshire UK EU Planet Earth

Post Reply

Return to “RackPlanner”