RackPlanner 1.3

Downloads, information and resources for the RackPlanner software.

Moderators: Kent, dougcl

Post Reply
User avatar
akrylik
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1907
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:13 am

Post by akrylik » Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:29 pm

If you want to make any size eurorack (not just a multiple of 84HP wide), then you can take the following rack image file:

euro_1HP.jpg

and use it with the below rack.xml. The <cols> tag is given in HP.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<rack>
	<properties>
		<scale>1.0</scale>
		<rows>4</rows>
		<cols>104</cols>
		<imagesPath>./images</imagesPath>
		<modulesPath>./euro_modules</modulesPath>
		<rackImageFilename>euro_1HP.jpg</rackImageFilename>
		<rackHP>1</rackHP>
	</properties>
	<modules>
	</modules>
</rack>
The above rack.xml is for the 12U 104HP gorillabox.

sgnhh
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1589
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:20 am
Location: california

Post by sgnhh » Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:41 pm

i got some zips from the module maker database and they all appear with gray faceplates and of the exact same width when i import them into the rack planner. any ideas what i can do to fix this?

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2529
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:44 pm

Maybe you didn't put those zips where RackPlanner expects to find them. There's some talk about this in the readme. The XML file defining the rack has a line saying where the modules are.

Here's an excerpt from one of my rack files:

<properties>
<scale>1.0</scale>
<rows>3</rows>
<cols>3</cols>
<imagesPath>./images</imagesPath>
<modulesPath>./modcanA</modulesPath>
<rackImageFilename>modcana_rack_126_551.jpg</rackImageFilename>
<rackHP>7</rackHP>
</properties>

In the same folder as my RackPlanner.jar is a folder named modcanA and that's where the zip files are. Other formats are in other folders next to that one, such as Euro, Frac, etc.

sgnhh
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1589
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:20 am
Location: california

Post by sgnhh » Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:08 am

:bananaguitar:

User avatar
Drumdrumdrumdrum
What she said
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:06 am
Location: Tropical Australia

Post by Drumdrumdrumdrum » Fri May 11, 2012 11:17 pm

I just downloaded this and got it working on an iMac

Looks great.

Where do I find all the images? There are a few folders of images, but not a whole lot.

When clicked on one of xml files my East West VST opened???!
"There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats."
- Author, Albert Schweitzer.

"Modular synths can take your ego out of the equation which, in music, is a blessing" - Jeremy Greenspan


http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/glennkingsleymortimer

User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4024
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Post by dougcl » Fri May 11, 2012 11:21 pm

Drumdrumdrumdrum wrote:I just downloaded this and got it working on an iMac

Looks great.

Where do I find all the images? There are a few folders of images, but not a whole lot.

When clicked on one of xml files my East West VST opened???!
The module library is here
http://squiggletronics.com/files/RackPl ... browse.php

You can also get them from John Noble's eurorackdb.com.

Save the module zips intact into the appropriate subdirectory of the RackPlanner directory (don't unzip them). Have a look in the euro subdirectory to see what I mean.

Don't double click on the XML files. Double click on the jar file. Then use the file menu to open and save racks.

Welcome to RackPlanner!

Doug

User avatar
Drumdrumdrumdrum
What she said
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:06 am
Location: Tropical Australia

Post by Drumdrumdrumdrum » Sat May 12, 2012 2:59 am

Thx Doug! :yay:
"There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats."
- Author, Albert Schweitzer.

"Modular synths can take your ego out of the equation which, in music, is a blessing" - Jeremy Greenspan


http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/glennkingsleymortimer

User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4024
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Post by dougcl » Tue May 22, 2012 11:37 pm

Hi folks, I just released v1.3. You can now select multiple modules in the Add Module dialog.

User avatar
sonicwarrior
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3815
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 3:36 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Post by sonicwarrior » Wed May 23, 2012 11:52 am

Nice! Thanks for the update. :chug:
Soundcloud
For sale: Jürgen Haible Tau Phaser (MOTM format)

User avatar
qu.one
hypnotic and sanctified
Posts: 4402
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:52 pm
Location: Pelham, NY

Post by qu.one » Wed May 23, 2012 12:00 pm

:party: :party: :sb:

i actually already had it open today and gonna DL the new version asap!

a trick for anyone who might want to open more than one layout at a time - just dupe the RackPlanner app as many times as you need layouts open :guinness:

Image

User avatar
jln
Common Wiggler
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:25 am

Post by jln » Wed May 23, 2012 2:01 pm

qu.one wrote::party: :party: :sb:

A trick for anyone who might want to open more than one layout at a time - just dupe the RackPlanner app as many times as you need layouts open :guinness:

Image
Not sure I should thank you for letting me know I can plan two 12U at a time. :-)

On a more serious note, thanks for the trick. I'll can test two different config for my one and only system. *try to convince himself*

User avatar
jln
Common Wiggler
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:25 am

Post by jln » Wed May 23, 2012 2:01 pm

(deleting duplicated post)

User avatar
RichyHo
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1185
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 5:51 pm
Location: UK

Post by RichyHo » Sun Jun 10, 2012 5:17 am

Nice feature update, thanks dougcl.

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2529
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:01 am

FYI there are Serge files in the library now.

User avatar
digital_steve
Muppet
Posts: 1692
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 7:50 pm
Location: Australia

Post by digital_steve » Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:07 am

Maybe a dumb question... But iOS version on any horizon?
I'd certainly pay for the pleasure.
richard wrote:
MrBiggs wrote:serious instrument. What does that even mean?
I think it means you have to frown when you play it.
causticlogic wrote:Yeah, digital_steve spells "fun" with a capital FU...

User avatar
jln
Common Wiggler
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:25 am

Post by jln » Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:42 am

Some more experienced developers may correct me if I'm wrong but I think Java app are not allowed on iOS so I guess porting Rackplanner to iOS is far from straightforward to say the least.

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2529
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:49 am

The Apple control freak trait makes it very unlikely. iOS is a closed proprietary system requiring the developer to pay a yearly subscription ($$) and be at the mercy of Apple's centralized approval process for apps. Remember, they decide for you.

User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4024
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Post by dougcl » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:10 am

It's not a technical problem. Apple legally forbids it. Something about "no applications that can host other applications." This is exactly what the Java JVM is.

I've gotten well into an Android port, but now I'm wondering if that was a good decision. They really hosed up the Android implementation of Java. There are whole new (unnecessary) class hierarchies that basically mean the code is completely different. The idea of using the JVM to support portable code was lost.

I think the answer is an online planner based on the module standard that RackPlanner established.

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2529
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:38 am

I think the answer is an online planner based on the module standard that RackPlanner established.
I'm in the midst of a big overhaul to ModuleLibrary and keeping an open mind about following up with a web based planner. In many ways I prefer the possibilities provided by the application + files approach of Doug's RackPlanner or Richy's work in progress but for certain situations, including closed platforms, a web app would be good. It would lean heavily on jQuery and an API to the new library.

User avatar
digital_steve
Muppet
Posts: 1692
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 7:50 pm
Location: Australia

Post by digital_steve » Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:59 am

I dunno anything about technical stuffs... I'd still pay for it if it ever happens.

Cheers and keep up the great work.
richard wrote:
MrBiggs wrote:serious instrument. What does that even mean?
I think it means you have to frown when you play it.
causticlogic wrote:Yeah, digital_steve spells "fun" with a capital FU...

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2529
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:43 am

Two updates to the ModuleLibrary

Somehow in the move to version 2 I designed away important information like, where the heck does one get the RackPlanner application. So that's all right on the front page now. :hide:

The clump of thumbnails of recently added modules is now wired up like the search results are. Mouse over thumbnail to see full size image, click thumbnail for module details and download button. :nana:

hydrophilos
Common Wiggler
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Single Serge modules

Post by hydrophilos » Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:12 pm

Is it possible to add single Serge modules to the rack planner?

User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4024
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Re: Single Serge modules

Post by dougcl » Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:59 pm

hydrophilos wrote:Is it possible to add single Serge modules to the rack planner?
Yeah I think so. All the modules are up on squiggletronics. Let me know if you need help.

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2529
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:12 pm

Somebody was asking elsewhere about individual Serge modules (not panels). I guess they want to recreate custom panels they already have. I could do that if somebody wants to cut up the images and give them filenames like the module names (to be used as Model in RackPlanner zip). PM me for details.[/i]

User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4024
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Post by dougcl » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:14 pm

BananaPlug wrote:Somebody was asking elsewhere about individual Serge modules (not panels). I guess they want to recreate custom panels they already have. I could do that if somebody wants to cut up the images and give them filenames like the module names (to be used as Model in RackPlanner zip). PM me for details.
I see. looks like the obelisk is already there as a 1HP single module. So yeah, just need jpgs to make modules in module builder and submit them to the library.

Post Reply

Return to “RackPlanner”