cables vs. breakout boxes

Discussion and support for MOTU's Volta software.

Moderators: Kent, stretta

Post Reply
User avatar
mateo
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1128
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

cables vs. breakout boxes

Post by mateo » Sat Dec 05, 2009 9:08 pm

I'm looking for opinions; what are you guys using for connecting your soundcards to your modulars, special cables or a breakout box? I'm not sure what makes more sense, both practically and financially, as the only place I've seen selling cables is charging $12 a piece :hmm:

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Sun Dec 06, 2009 4:52 am

Why would you need special cables? Normal patch cables and adaptors work for me. For practical reasons (length being one) I'm considering my options here:
I am planning to buy a 1/4" snake, cut it in half and mount 1/8" jacks to the cut ends; that gives you half the length of the snake, but twice the number of cables.

You're going from 1/4" to what?

EDIT: Ah, you mean the "floating ring" type?

User avatar
doctorvague
ole fuckity fuck
Posts: 3095
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Re: cables vs. breakout boxes

Post by doctorvague » Sun Dec 06, 2009 8:49 am

mateo wrote:I'm looking for opinions; what are you guys using for connecting your soundcards to your modulars, special cables or a breakout box? I'm not sure what makes more sense, both practically and financially, as the only place I've seen selling cables is charging $12 a piece :hmm:
You don't mention whether you're DIY oriented or what your setup is....
Your breakout box could be a module. You could bring your lines in to the back of a module so the jacks are integrated, or connect to the front of a module using something like DB connector, if that's more practical. If you're on a tight budget you could buy a roll of 18 gauge zip (lamp) cord and make individual cables from that and tie them into a 'snake' with wire ties. There' no audio going TO the modular from Volta that I'm aware of, just CV's, gates, DC voltages, etc. The only audio is coming back into Volta and that's only for calibrating oscillators so zip cord might even work for that too (not sure). Are you going to 1/8"? Zip cord may or might not work with small plugs.

I bit the bullet and bought a 24I/O on ebay, ran a long audiowire (Firewire) cable to it and set it on top of my dotcom system backwards with the jacks facing me. Instant patch bay. Also have plenty of outs to run audio (like loops) from the computer right into the modular at the same time. I'm really happy with this setup, but it wasn't cheap.
Hey you asked :mrgreen:

User avatar
patchdub
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 419
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:19 pm
Location: Taos, NM

Post by patchdub » Sun Dec 06, 2009 5:43 pm

i took a multiple panel from bridechamber and wired it like a patchbay but left out the ring. i run a snake from my motu into the patchbay. really happy with this method.Image

User avatar
mateo
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1128
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by mateo » Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:56 pm

Yeah, I meant the floating ring types, 1/4" to 1/8". I'm not at all the DIY type, so I was thinking of either buying pre-made cables (at $12 a pop, unless someone knows of a cheaper place), or finding someone to build me a simple module to act as a patchbay (either eurorack or 1U). I think the later would end up being cheaper in the long run, when dealing with more than 8 I/Os, but running cables direct from the soundcard into the modules seems simpler... so I don't know!

User avatar
mateo
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1128
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by mateo » Mon Dec 07, 2009 1:28 pm

I just email Alex at Ad Infinitum, and his UM410+ is perfect as an interface box, as it does not short the ring to the sleeve, so I think I'm going to go with that!

User avatar
stevenclements
Common Wiggler
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:55 pm
Location: e-town Alberta Canada

Post by stevenclements » Mon Dec 21, 2009 2:16 pm

Image

Either disconnect (or don't solder) the ring on a stereo jack, stick the stereo with the ring attached into the MOTU and the 1/4 where you've cut it off into the desired CV socket.

Or use a jackfield (patchbay), and don't connect the ring in a female socket.

I think the jackfield/patchbay idea is great.... that way you don't need special cables that you have to hunt for. You have a bunch of stereo cables that you connect from the MOTU interface into the jackfield/patchbay

I would have stereo (balanced) female jacks on one side and mono (unbalanced) female jacks on the other... these are wired together leaving the ring untouched. (correct me if I'm wrong)

Steve - just got Volta... want to use it with my 828MKII
life is a treasure... dig it!

User avatar
julian
i like synthesisers...
Posts: 1401
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:38 pm
Location: UK

Post by julian » Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:53 am

Ill see if i cant find a photo of it later, but somone asked me to cut a 4hp euro panel for his setup some time back. I think they were just planning on using the standard cliff jacks, to match their other euro modules.


Hmm... i cant find a photo of the finished item, and it looks like it wasnt 4hp either, but here is their design -

Image

Im sure i did see a photo on this forum of the item in use, but, where - who knows!

User avatar
Junk Rhythm
Big Bottom Shaker
Posts: 2243
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

Post by Junk Rhythm » Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:29 pm

via this thread:


Image

User avatar
Mad Dog
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:37 pm
Location: Texas... or so I'm told

Post by Mad Dog » Fri Feb 25, 2011 3:02 pm

I built a 32 port patch panel for stretta for the 1512 modular which is currently under construction. You can see the progress in the eurorack forum.

Since we were dealing with 2 - 828mk3s, we elected to cut the cables and solder them to the jacks on the panel (or at least the is the plan). That way the 828 can face the correct direction and the patch panel takes care of the jack conversion. Further more, we can locate the patch panel in the rack where it makes the most sense. :tu:

Nice and clean and it wasn't too difficult to build. However, with that said, the panel shown above is really nice. :yay: :hail:
Mad Dog Modular Designs

The unfacts, did we have them, are too imprecisely few to warrant our certitude

User avatar
julian
i like synthesisers...
Posts: 1401
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:38 pm
Location: UK

Post by julian » Fri Feb 25, 2011 3:09 pm

Junk Rhythm wrote:via this thread:


Image

Yep, that was the one - thank you.

I seem to remember that i cut two at the time, so there must be another user out there with the same panel also, but i cant be sure of that at the moment.

User avatar
stevenclements
Common Wiggler
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:55 pm
Location: e-town Alberta Canada

Post by stevenclements » Fri Feb 25, 2011 3:33 pm

julian wrote:
Junk Rhythm wrote:via this thread:


Image

Yep, that was the one - thank you.

I seem to remember that i cut two at the time, so there must be another user out there with the same panel also, but i cant be sure of that at the moment.
That would be me :)
life is a treasure... dig it!

User avatar
julian
i like synthesisers...
Posts: 1401
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:38 pm
Location: UK

Post by julian » Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:33 am

I think Steve/Monobass (the owner of the one in the photo) sold his whole volta system -

Do you find the panel usefull in your setup?


I made a couple for my own euro system years ago, one from my kenton pro2000 (which i found very usefull) and some bus ones to the mixer, but i moved before i really started using them (and had to downsize the huge 8-bus mixer to somthing more sensibly sized!)
.



_________

For stocked euro / buchla / midibox see - http://thebeast.co.uk/?post_type=product

For custom cnc engraved panels see - http://thebeast.co.uk/?page_id=21

User avatar
stevenclements
Common Wiggler
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:55 pm
Location: e-town Alberta Canada

Post by stevenclements » Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:56 am

that is the plan... integration into the rack... but alas I think I'm going to sell Volta a well. I've installed it months ago and just haven't used it.

:(
life is a treasure... dig it!

User avatar
Monobass
thonk.co.uk
Posts: 8750
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: Brighton, UK

Post by Monobass » Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:59 pm

julian wrote:I think Steve/Monobass (the owner of the one in the photo) sold his whole volta system -

Do you find the panel usefull in your setup?


I made a couple for my own euro system years ago, one from my kenton pro2000 (which i found very usefull) and some bus ones to the mixer, but i moved before i really started using them (and had to downsize the huge 8-bus mixer to somthing more sensibly sized!)
yeah it was a great panel but I'm moving to a new case where everything goes in the front, won't be able to have any bus lines coming out of the back of the case... which is a shame in some ways cos I prefer to keep things tidy.

User avatar
stevenclements
Common Wiggler
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:55 pm
Location: e-town Alberta Canada

Post by stevenclements » Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:02 pm

cases are meant to be modified :)
Monobass wrote:
julian wrote:I think Steve/Monobass (the owner of the one in the photo) sold his whole volta system -

Do you find the panel usefull in your setup?


I made a couple for my own euro system years ago, one from my kenton pro2000 (which i found very usefull) and some bus ones to the mixer, but i moved before i really started using them (and had to downsize the huge 8-bus mixer to somthing more sensibly sized!)
yeah it was a great panel but I'm moving to a new case where everything goes in the front, won't be able to have any bus lines coming out of the back of the case... which is a shame in some ways cos I prefer to keep things tidy.
life is a treasure... dig it!

User avatar
Monobass
thonk.co.uk
Posts: 8750
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: Brighton, UK

Post by Monobass » Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:18 pm

stevenclements wrote:cases are meant to be modified :)
yeah sure, I'm making it myself :) But having cables coming out of the rear or sides isn't suitable in this situation.

As for Volta, it offered me nothing Silent Way didn't.. and SW offers me a lot more besides.

User avatar
stevenclements
Common Wiggler
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:55 pm
Location: e-town Alberta Canada

Post by stevenclements » Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:25 pm

What about a RS232 like connection... on the top :)
life is a treasure... dig it!

User avatar
Monobass
thonk.co.uk
Posts: 8750
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: Brighton, UK

Post by Monobass » Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:18 pm

yeah that wouldn't be so bad :) but to be honest things like the ES3 mean that is redundant also.

Post Reply

Return to “Volta”