Volta Updates?

Discussion and support for MOTU's Volta software.

Moderators: Kent, stretta

Post Reply
User avatar
Buckage
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: LA, CA

Volta Updates?

Post by Buckage » Sat Jul 17, 2010 1:01 pm

I thought I remembered hearing about an update for Volta a while ago on here. Any murmurs in the Strettasphere?

User avatar
oliviaarthur
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:36 pm
Location: North Hollywood CA
Contact:

Post by oliviaarthur » Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:32 pm

Man - i wish! it could be sweet, but it deffinatly needs some work

User avatar
emergencyofstate
Synthesist
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by emergencyofstate » Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:53 pm

i'd love to be able map volta's parameters if nothing else.

User avatar
oliviaarthur
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:36 pm
Location: North Hollywood CA
Contact:

Post by oliviaarthur » Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:25 pm

emergencyofstate wrote:i'd love to be able map volta's parameters if nothing else.
+1

User avatar
MrBiggs
I see dead people
Posts: 3038
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:16 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Post by MrBiggs » Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:59 pm

Yeah I have Volta but have considered switching to Silent Way just because of the silent way in which MOTU seems to be dealing with Volta. Os told me I'd be sorry. Hope he's not right...
•Music and stuff: Dance Robot Dance.
•Current contents:Modulargrid

User avatar
emergencyofstate
Synthesist
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by emergencyofstate » Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:18 pm

oliviaarthur wrote:
emergencyofstate wrote:i'd love to be able map volta's parameters if nothing else.
+1
you know, at the time I was ignorant to the fact that I could "configure" volta's plug-in parameters in Live so I could automate them...which I was what I meant by mapping parameters.

My complaints now are having to use the dongle (which is so fucked up now that I have to tweak up at a 30 degree angle to make a proper connection)

that and Volta's not so desireable way of changing parameter values inside the UI. (having to click, hold, and drag as opposed to being able to type in a value, or pull a slider)

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:15 am

Sound of tumble weed blowing across the desert.........

:despair:

User avatar
Waz
Wiggling with Scurvy
Posts: 2746
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Detroit

Post by Waz » Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:20 am

This is why paying 100's or 1000's of dollars for software sucks. It'll either be a paid update or a buggy free one!

*edit
Open Source!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User avatar
oliviaarthur
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:36 pm
Location: North Hollywood CA
Contact:

Post by oliviaarthur » Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:44 pm

emergencyofstate wrote:
oliviaarthur wrote:
emergencyofstate wrote:i'd love to be able map volta's parameters if nothing else.
+1
you know, at the time I was ignorant to the fact that I could "configure" volta's plug-in parameters in Live so I could automate them...which I was what I meant by mapping parameters.
i was not aware that this was possible--
I just sat through a MOTU training at work - when i asked about an update- i was brushed off-
doubt there will ever be one

User avatar
giorgio
NITE MIND
Posts: 2459
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 6:42 pm
Location: BRAND NEW YORK

Post by giorgio » Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:57 pm

there is an update. but they changed the name to "silent way" or something like that
▲✌♡✂☃☂☁☀☻☹☺♢✄✐☒☠☣☢☤☎✇✈✖▼

User avatar
emergencyofstate
Synthesist
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by emergencyofstate » Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:58 pm

yeah it's completely up in the air, which is part of the reason i switched over to silent way.

User avatar
Bath House
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1245
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 5:20 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Post by Bath House » Tue Dec 14, 2010 3:47 pm

I'm another who's jumped ship to Silent Way. Volta has two major issues that have crippled it for me (one is detailed in the dedicated thread I made for it) - but the main one is that it constantly loses my calibration/the pitch scaling goes wonky mid-session. I find myself constantly calibrating, and often have to nuke the plugin mid-session then re-load it with defaults in order to get it to stop "remembering" the bad scaling. Was really driving me insane. Silent Way calibrates in a snap and then never goes weird like Volta does.

Also, Silent way is just cooler - lots of neat features, the type of stuff that Volta should have gotten in updates. It feels like abandonware these days.

User avatar
dogoftears
Puddle of Sealions
Posts: 2864
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 3:34 pm
Location: NorCal
Contact:

Post by dogoftears » Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:18 pm

i've been confused since the day i opened the plug in why there is no internal mod-matrix. i mean OBVIOUSLY i want to mod an LFO w/ another LFO...
does silent way do this? maybe it's time to switch. i do use Volta still in every single project. ill never getting over having stacks of midi syncd LFOs.

also does silent way have the envelope stages as automatable parameters?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13858
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:20 am

I'll be glad to answer all your Silent Way questions over at the Expert Sleepers forum.

Post Reply

Return to “Volta”