Volta + SH 101

Discussion and support for MOTU's Volta software.

Moderators: Kent, stretta

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Tue May 19, 2009 6:07 am

You're right it didn't work :help:

But I'm getting kind of closer to a possible solution. A lot of the problem dose seem to stem from when you go from normal playing mode to calibration...Volta seems to stop sending any cv voltage at all.

If it carried on sending the same voltage as the last key pressed in normal playing mode then the HZ/Volts synth would not revert back to a really low non calibrational pitch.

I nearly got around it by pulling the CV lead out of the back of the CS-30 so it produced a C3 pitch then hit calibrate on Volta while as quickly as I could plug the CV lead back up to the CS-30.

The problem also seems to be that Volta is going through all the high and low pitches to calibrate the CS-30 but it always ends up as just over 1 octave of Green Calibration, which is odd as I am clearly hearing a 7 octave range during the calibration procedure and Volta is clearly locking to the pitch .... very odd indeed.

Still I think I will sell this CS-30 and build an even bigger Oakley modular with the money. I'll keep the CS-5 I love the filter on it.

kaoss
Common Wiggler
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:49 am
Location: tdot

Post by kaoss » Thu May 21, 2009 10:53 am

stretta wrote:Ironically, the MS-20 turns out to be calibrate-able via other means with Volta.
Could you please elaborate. Thanks!!

User avatar
stretta
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 698
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 3:43 pm

Post by stretta » Thu May 21, 2009 11:17 am

http://dvdborn.blogspot.com/2009/05/mot ... volta.html

MS-10, not MS-20. Maybe the same thing could be done with the MS-20

User avatar
brandon daniel
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:38 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by brandon daniel » Thu May 21, 2009 6:04 pm

The MS-20 pitch mod inputs can be scaled near enough to v/oct that they can probably hit calibration w/ volta. then just use the ESP as a way to get proper S-trig gates from Volta's V+ gates, and it should be totally possible to use it with Volta.
MOAR EURO

User avatar
wwbjd
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:50 am
Location: Dallas, TX

Post by wwbjd » Thu Jul 16, 2009 9:22 am

So.... the topic is about the SH-101, but moved on to the CS series and briefly the MS series.

Any luck with the SH-101? I've got everything set up at home (again) and thinking about moving my 101 over to Volta instead of the Kenton.

monsieurescargot
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:49 am
Location: New Zealand

volta + sh101

Post by monsieurescargot » Fri Sep 04, 2009 3:20 pm

yes please! sh101!

no luck with calibration here either, and with sequencing too: the cv input plays the 101 totally out of tune (from a traveller mk1)
the 101 is in tune when played normally, and just with the gate, but as soon as i plug the cv input, it goes right down and not even tunable with midi pitch correction.
HELP PLEASE!!!

User avatar
MGA
Common Wiggler
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:33 pm
Location: Qld, Oz

Post by MGA » Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:43 pm

Are the issues with the Volta across the entire CS range?
Anyone tried a CS10 with a Volta?

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Sat Sep 05, 2009 7:44 am

I know it's the wrong forum ut I changed over to Expert Sleepers and got the CS-30 working over 6 octaves. Take a look at the youtube video I did:

[video][/video]

I found Expert Sleepers to calibrate a LOT easier than Volta. Give the demo a go on the SH-101.

amstrad664
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:40 am

Post by amstrad664 » Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:57 am

so... any news about sh101 calibration?
thx

Post Reply

Return to “Volta”