FH-2 Power/devices questions

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

kiki_90291
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2018 12:25 pm

FH-2 Power/devices questions

Post by kiki_90291 » Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:15 pm

I was reading the FH-2 manual about power draw from USB devices. If you have a powered USB hub between the FH-2 and the devices (I will be using Beatstep Pro, Keystep and a Roland A-01), will that work or does each device need to be powered on it's own? (Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm having fits with USB power issues right now :-) )

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:04 am

If you use a powered hub, then the devices should draw their power from that, not from the FH-2.

I don't know off hand whether those three devices are bus powered, or what their power requirements are.

kiki_90291
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2018 12:25 pm

Post by kiki_90291 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:31 am

Thanks!

They are all bus powered - the Keystep and A-01 have a pretty low draw. But the Beatstep has a pretty high draw - it's the source of my USB power issues at the moment. For some reason, it crashes my iPad when plugged in through a USB hub, but not directly, for some reason (even when you are providing a separate power source for the Beatstep). Very annoying.

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:44 am

Is it going to be possible to connect an iOS device directly to the FH-2?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:49 am

Via the Camera Connection Kit.

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:53 am

Via the USB-C?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:55 am

Yes.

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:58 am

Can you link to the adapter? I can’t find it.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:01 am

<googles apple camera connection kit>

https://www.apple.com/uk/shop/product/M ... ra-adapter

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:05 am

That one doesn’t have USB-C. It has a female lightning port for charging.

So just a USB-C to USB-A cable into a regular USB-A to lightning camera connection kit should work.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:12 am

Yes, that works fine.

midilifestyle
Common Wiggler
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:35 pm

Post by midilifestyle » Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:37 pm

Hardest working man in eurorack! Were you able to get any word from Teenage Engineering about compatibility with the Op-1 or Op-z and the Fh1 or Fh2?

Oh to be able to use those sequencers with my modular would be :bananallama:

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:06 am

They should all be compatible. There was something up with the OP-1 receiving MIDI clock from the FH-1 but they were looking at it.

If you just want to sequence from the OPs there are no problems I know about.

midilifestyle
Common Wiggler
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:35 pm

Post by midilifestyle » Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:09 pm

Excellent, thanks!

midilifestyle
Common Wiggler
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:35 pm

Post by midilifestyle » Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:59 pm

So to double clarify, now that my FH2 arrived today and I have to go get some sort of dongle:
I cannot use a usb c to lightning cable and plug my iphone directly into the fh2, eg https://www.apple.com/shop/product/MKQ4 ... -cable-2-m

Correct?

Also, I hope your holiday was excellent, Os!

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:16 am

I'm 99% sure that won't work, though I'll confess to not having tried it. You want what used to be called the Camera Connection Kit - a Lightning to USB A socket converter. Ideally the one with the pass-through for charging.

Videographics
Common Wiggler
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 4:25 pm
Location: California

FH-2 compatibility with Audiofront MIDI Expression devices?

Post by Videographics » Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:24 pm

I have a MIDI Expression Quattro from Audiofront. It's a class-compliant USB MIDI device, but it isn't working with my FH-2 with 1.4 firmware. It apparently only draws 35 mA. Any thoughts?

https://www.audiofront.net/MIDIExpression.php

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Tue Dec 04, 2018 3:58 am

I have the original MIDI Expression, which appears to be recognised by the FH-2. When you say it's not working, do you mean it's not being recognised as a device, or you're not getting any messages from it?

Videographics
Common Wiggler
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 4:25 pm
Location: California

Post by Videographics » Tue Dec 04, 2018 2:09 pm

It's not recognized. I'm using a direct connection, tried different cables, etc. My FH-2 still acts as if the MIDI Expression isn't even there. My MIDI Expression is less than a year old and it's always worked fine connected to a hub on my Mac. It also connects properly to my iOS devices when I configure it. Just no FH-2 action.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Tue Dec 04, 2018 3:20 pm

I'll have to see if I can get hold of one and debug.

It might help if you could run a USB Prober (e.g. https://touch-base.com/documentation/USBMacProber.htm) on your Mac and capture the USB device descriptors.

Videographics
Common Wiggler
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 4:25 pm
Location: California

Post by Videographics » Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:53 pm

I'm just realizing this may be a firmware issue. (I've been lazy about this as AudioFront's firmware update process is anything but straightforward.) I'll try updating and report back. Meanwhile...

Apple's System Information utility reports this:

MIDI Expression BLUE:

Product ID: 0x0471
Vendor ID: 0x16c0
Version: 2.00
Serial Number: XXXXXXXXXXXX
Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Audiofront
Location ID: 0x14100000 / 29
Current Available (mA): 500
Current Required (mA): 100
Extra Operating Current (mA): 0

Is this helpful?

Videographics
Common Wiggler
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 4:25 pm
Location: California

Post by Videographics » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:20 am

Hold tight. I’m working through this with Audiofront. This situation may require a ‘pared down driver’ that currently isn’t installing for me.

Videographics
Common Wiggler
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 4:25 pm
Location: California

Post by Videographics » Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:02 pm

Support from both Audiofront and Expert Sleepers has been excellent! The pared down driver is working for me. I was having problems installing the pared down driver with their latest software release but they quickly turned around a pre-release version that worked perfectly for me.

slown
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:11 pm
Location: France

Post by slown » Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:39 am

I have the little Elektron TM-1 MIDI USB interface, do you know if it works with the FH-2 ?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:08 pm

Should do, but you'd be better to use the FH-2's own 5-pin DIN MIDI via the breakout.

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”