FH-2 Firmware Feature-Requests

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Aug 03, 2018 12:36 pm

FH-2 config tool: when I upload from FH-2, LFO Tempo Based Multipliers are not sent
Confirmed - I'll fix that.
What is the ratio between midi speed and hz?
It's exponential

Code: Select all

0 0.1
1 0.103692663829
2 0.107521685319
3 0.111492099701
4 0.115609128138
5 0.119878184596
6 0.124304882957
7 0.128895044407
8 0.133654705089
9 0.138590124039
10 0.14370779142
11 0.149014437053
12 0.154517039269
13 0.160222834088
14 0.166139324727
15 0.172274291477
16 0.178635801925
17 0.185232221567
18 0.192072224812
19 0.199164806383
20 0.206519293148
21 0.214145356385
22 0.222053024502
23 0.230252696218
24 0.238755154246
25 0.247571579466
26 0.256713565631
27 0.266193134613
28 0.276022752209
29 0.286215344539
30 0.296784315039
31 0.30774356209
32 0.319107497292
33 0.33089106442
34 0.343109759068
35 0.355779649034
36 0.368917395444
37 0.382540274663
38 0.396666201016
39 0.411313750342
40 0.426502184423
41 0.442251476316
42 0.458582336614
43 0.475516240683
44 0.493075456903
45 0.511283075948
46 0.530163041156
47 0.54974018001
48 0.57004023679
49 0.591089906423
50 0.612916869593
51 0.635549829136
52 0.65901854779
53 0.683353887329
54 0.708587849149
55 0.734753616349
56 0.76188559737
57 0.790019471241
58 0.819192234495
59 0.849442249826
60 0.880809296532
61 0.913334622825
62 0.947061000077
63 0.982032779063
64 1.01829594828
65 1.05589819443
66 1.09488896513
67 1.13531953391
68 1.17724306768
69 1.22071469661
70 1.26579158667
71 1.31253301474
72 1.36100044661
73 1.41125761781
74 1.46337061739
75 1.51740797486
76 1.57344075029
77 1.63154262774
78 1.6917900122
79 1.75426213004
80 1.81904113318
81 1.88621220713
82 1.95586368304
83 2.0280871538
84 2.10297759455
85 2.18063348751
86 2.26115695154
87 2.3446538764
88 2.431234062
89 2.5210113628
90 2.61410383751
91 2.71063390436
92 2.81072850208
93 2.9145192568
94 3.02214265518
95 3.13374022386
96 3.24945871559
97 3.36945030221
98 3.49387277475
99 3.62288975092
100 3.75667089031
101 3.89539211744
102 4.03923585315
103 4.18839125446
104 4.34305446332
105 4.50342886455
106 4.66972535328
107 4.8421626123
108 5.02096739961
109 5.20637484663
110 5.39862876738
111 5.59798197912
112 5.80469663481
113 6.01904456781
114 6.2413076494
115 6.47177815941
116 6.71075917058
117 6.9585649471
118 7.2155213579
119 7.48196630514
120 7.75825016857
121 8.04473626628
122 8.34180133251
123 8.64983601298
124 8.96924537867
125 9.30044945848
126 9.64388379154
127 10.0

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Aug 03, 2018 12:55 pm


toneburst
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 844
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 2:41 pm
Location: London

Post by toneburst » Sat Aug 04, 2018 3:56 am

Hi @os,

Wondered if you’d had a chance to think about the arpeggiator patterns idea I posted above.

a|x

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sat Aug 04, 2018 4:05 am

I'm not really into lifting features wholesale from other devices. I am working on some new arpeggiator features though which I think will be fun.

User avatar
Seaweed Sound
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by Seaweed Sound » Mon Aug 06, 2018 1:20 am

Is anyone using the FH-2 as a master clock?

I'm still deciding on the master clock for a new rig but the FH-2 is a good candidate since it sends MIDI clock (on both DIN & USB), Dinsync24, and analog clock/trigs.

When clock source is Int, an analog clock "pre-roll" feature could be useful for the following use cases:

1) Devices like SND ACME-4 require 1 bar pre-roll of analog clock before syncing
2) Using a clock to trigger a metronome sound as a count-in before the rest of your track(s) start
3) A lot of devices (drum machines, clock dividers/multipliers) have sloppier sync when initially starting or require a few clock ticks to accurately sync

I'm not sure if/how this could be cleanly implemented in the FH-2 or if others would use it if available. Maybe some kind of new clock type which is active for a customizable number of ticks before the other clocks including MIDI start up. It may make sense to just have the FH-2 receive external sync in a studio situation doing recording takes.

toneburst
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 844
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 2:41 pm
Location: London

Post by toneburst » Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:32 am

os wrote:I'm not really into lifting features wholesale from other devices. I am working on some new arpeggiator features though which I think will be fun.
Fair enough. I'll have a play with the latest firmware. Looks interesting :)

a|x

User avatar
Seaweed Sound
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by Seaweed Sound » Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:31 am

Minor bug in FH-2 firmware v1.2:

In Settings menu, while adjusting the Contrast setting rotate the encoder at moderate to fast pace (not slowly tick by tick). The screen will then refresh incorrectly such that some of the display lines wrap around to the top of the display. Once in this state, top level menu is unaffected while main and sub level menus are. Issue is cleared/resolved upon reboot.

Possibly applies to the General CV OLED too.. :hmm: I don't have that one to test

Another clue perhaps.. the screenshot received from the FH-2 Screenshot Tool is completely normal
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Seaweed Sound
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by Seaweed Sound » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:01 am

Another question/suggestion: when the module is first turned on the outputs must be set to some initial value. It appears to currently be the lowest possible DAC value of 0.

This makes sense when the Output Range is configured to be 0-10V or 0-1V as a DAC value of 0 yields an initial value of 0V before receiving any MIDI.

In the case where the Output Range is +/-5V, when the module is turned on currently the output defaults to -5V. Wouldn't an initial/nominal value of 0V (DAC value of 8192) make more sense for the +/-5V Output Range?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sat Sep 15, 2018 3:17 am

Thanks for the feedback!

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:37 am

Seaweed Sound wrote:In Settings menu, while adjusting the Contrast setting rotate the encoder at moderate to fast pace (not slowly tick by tick). The screen will then refresh incorrectly such that some of the display lines wrap around to the top of the display. Once in this state, top level menu is unaffected while main and sub level menus are. Issue is cleared/resolved upon reboot.
Fixed this in v1.3, which I just released.

User avatar
Seaweed Sound
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by Seaweed Sound » Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:07 am

That was fast.. confirmed it in v1.3, thanks!

I'm setting up config/presents and ran into another issue I'd like to run by you. Have an Arturia Keystep connected via USB-A to FH-2. When sending an 1/8th note monophonic sequence at anything ~130 bpm or higher the FH-2 MIDI/CV gate output gets stuck high. Gate length is set to 50% on Keystep. Oddly enough Time Div (on the Keystep) of 1/16th or 1/32nd which is even faster rate seems to work better.

Any thoughts? Should I record the MIDI output of the Keystep? Anyone else getting gates stuck high? FWIW, I'm using a Gate Level of Low=0 and High=4500 instead of the default values. Also the Keystep is sending MIDI Clock.. can't find a way to turn that off.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:37 am

If you were able to record the MIDI stream, that might be useful. Using the new stuff in 1.3 you can now echo the MIDI through to another port, if that helps.

Or route the Keystep through a computer before sending it on to the FH-2.

User avatar
Seaweed Sound
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by Seaweed Sound » Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:11 am

After fresh reboot of FH-2,just recorded Keystep USB-A MIDI port forwarded (awesome feature!) to USB-C monitored by computer MIDI-OX. It looks like there are def missing Note OFF commands (please see attached txt file).

I tried a similar test coming into the FH-2 via MIDI DIN breakout and it works solid while the USB-A flakes consistently.

Also recorded Keystep directly into an MPC Live via USB and the visual grid editor shows distinct notes with no hung notes so I'd imagine the Keystep is sending the Note OFFs.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:30 am

Thanks. Just for completeness, could you attach the Keystep to the computer via USB and monitor the MIDI stream?

User avatar
Seaweed Sound
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by Seaweed Sound » Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:00 am

Whoops.. completely DAWless so didn't even think to do that. Please see attached. All I'm doing is pressing Play on Keystep.. tempo is ~133 BPM sending alternating octave C notes.

Number of Note On's and Off's match in the stream recorded directly to computer.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:32 am

Thanks, but could you set up exactly the same thing for the tests with the FH-2 and without? Looking at the relative frequency of clocks and notes, those two examples were recorded at very different tempos.

User avatar
Seaweed Sound
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by Seaweed Sound » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:31 am

Roger that.. re-tested back to back scenarios with only touching play/stop on Keystep. Reboots of FH-2 & Keystep between each test run (tempo ~135 bpm).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:25 am

Mmm, clearly problems there. I'll take a look.

midilifestyle
Common Wiggler
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:35 pm

Post by midilifestyle » Wed Sep 26, 2018 5:06 pm

I find myself wishing the FH-2's inputs could be used for more things, like changing LFO speed, clock tempos and multiples, euclidean patterns, etc.

Any plans to implement this in the future?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu Sep 27, 2018 2:16 am

Quite possibly. I'd planned to implement some general CV/MIDI functionality, and that MIDI could be used by the FH-2 itself to control things.

midilifestyle
Common Wiggler
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:35 pm

Post by midilifestyle » Thu Sep 27, 2018 9:32 pm

os wrote:Quite possibly. I'd planned to implement some general CV/MIDI functionality, and that MIDI could be used by the FH-2 itself to control things.
I'm trying to get the "hardest working man in eurorack" moniker to catch on. You deserve it!

midilifestyle
Common Wiggler
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:35 pm

Post by midilifestyle » Fri Oct 26, 2018 5:19 pm

I feel greedy posting two requests back to back, but...maybe this functionality is already available?

I got a Rene 2 and I’m excited about its select bus integrations.

Is there a chance that the FH-2 preset selection could follow Rene 2’s state changes via select bus? IIRC, Disting can follow preset changes from Rene 2, right?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:58 am

The disting mk4 can, yes, but the FH-2 cannot.

You could however use the Select Bus breakout, and the FH-2's MIDI breakout, and connect it up that way.

User avatar
Seaweed Sound
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by Seaweed Sound » Sun Nov 04, 2018 10:10 pm

os wrote:Mmm, clearly problems there. I'll take a look.
Curious if any investigation on this has been done to determine if it is code related and if so is this is something in the cards for v1.4 or a future build? Thanks

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:55 am

I've been looking at it. No resolution so far.

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”