disting mk4 MIDI troubles

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

Post Reply
User avatar
solipsvs
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:39 pm
Location: not how i really look

Post by solipsvs » Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:36 am

no matter what i do, i cant seem to control my mk4 with midi. i have tried every pin combo, ive checked continuity, ive tried all note values, all cc messages listed in the midi chart, i cant get anything to work. i have 2 mk4 units, nothing works on either. i also cant seem to find a step by step that spells it out for me, since im obviously a dumbass

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Dec 09, 2019 11:17 am

Splitting this out to a separate topic, since it's not a feature request.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Dec 09, 2019 11:18 am

Are you using the Expert Sleepers MIDI breakout?

User avatar
solipsvs
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:39 pm
Location: not how i really look

Post by solipsvs » Mon Dec 09, 2019 1:40 pm

i have both that one and the pusherman version.

thanks for the help.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Dec 09, 2019 1:44 pm

Perhaps some photos of what you've done would help?

The 'MIDI Clock' algorithm might be a good one to test with, since that both sends and receives MIDI, and ignores the MIDI channel setting, so there's less to get wrong.

User avatar
solipsvs
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:39 pm
Location: not how i really look

Post by solipsvs » Mon Dec 09, 2019 3:13 pm

i guess i should stick to the kit you offer. am i overlooking something? which 4 leads should i use since there was only an 8 lead cable included? i hope i am a dumbass and i can use my multisampled lfo waveform collection over midi... i have the perfect midi sequencer for that ready to rock! it does work nicely over cv and trig with the J6 algorithm. this would take a step out of the conversion process, which i can very much appreciate! i have most of your products btw.

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
solipsvs
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:39 pm
Location: not how i really look

Post by solipsvs » Mon Dec 09, 2019 5:29 pm

imay have the pcb upside down. i also switched to a 4 lead ribbon to make sure im plugged in right

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Tue Dec 10, 2019 3:38 am

Yes, you have the panel upside down, so the input is labelled 'out' and the output is labelled 'in'.

bradw
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:34 am

Post by bradw » Wed Dec 11, 2019 2:17 am

I've been having issues just now too. I'm having a software issue, but I thought it would be useful here in case the OP ran into this while testing their hardware setup.

I've got one disting doing MIDI file playback, and another disting with MIDI / CV conversion. If the MIDI file playback one is going out MIDI channel 1, and the MIDI/CV is configured for channel 1 input, then it works fine (I can see the lights flashing showing voltage changes based on the midi file), but when I try using a channel other than 1 it doesn't work! I've got a video if that'll help

firmware 4.14

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Wed Dec 11, 2019 4:12 am

If you attach the MIDI files I can try it myself.

User avatar
solipsvs
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:39 pm
Location: not how i really look

Post by solipsvs » Wed Dec 11, 2019 4:21 am

ok so the midi clock is being read, i have a blinking a jack. i guess i need to rtfm to make this work with j6? i think my midi woes are done for.

i have a unrelated question: how do you hook up more than one disting to the same midi breakout?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Wed Dec 11, 2019 4:39 am

how do you hook up more than one disting to the same midi breakout?
You don't, as such. If you want to send the same MIDI into multiple distings, you can use the select bus breakout, or you can chain the out of one disting to the in of the next, and activate soft thru.

User avatar
solipsvs
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:39 pm
Location: not how i really look

Post by solipsvs » Wed Dec 11, 2019 11:19 am

doh! that would work wouldnt it

thank you!

bradw
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:34 am

Post by bradw » Wed Dec 11, 2019 2:51 pm

os wrote:If you attach the MIDI files I can try it myself.
Alright, these files are in the root of the sd card. there are 2 midi files and also the corresponding midi playlist files.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12396
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Wed Dec 11, 2019 3:20 pm

Both of those use MIDI channel 1.

Is that what you expected?

bradw
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:34 am

Post by bradw » Wed Dec 11, 2019 3:48 pm

I didn't know that midi files specify the channel. I expected the channel to be determined by the disting's midi output setting

bradw
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:34 am

Post by bradw » Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:50 pm

i made a new topic for the midi channel thing in case there's more discussion on that. sorry for hijacking here!

viewtopic.php?t=224972

User avatar
solipsvs
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:39 pm
Location: not how i really look

Post by solipsvs » Thu Dec 12, 2019 2:21 am

this thing is an amazing product. thank you for your patience with my simple mind! i am now using my lfos seamlessly with the rest of my setup.

Duksos
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:47 am

Re: disting mk4 MIDI troubles

Post by Duksos » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:03 am

Hello I’m hoping someone can help me here
I’m trying to use 1 midi breakout and send it 2 distings
Is this possible
Do I just make a y jumper from out on the breakout to ins on distings
And same for the out ?
Thanks sorry I don’t want to damage anything

User avatar
solipsvs
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:39 pm
Location: not how i really look

Re: disting mk4 MIDI troubles

Post by solipsvs » Thu Jan 16, 2020 9:19 am

Duksos wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:03 am
Hello I’m hoping someone can help me here
I’m trying to use 1 midi breakout and send it 2 distings
Is this possible
Do I just make a y jumper from out on the breakout to ins on distings
And same for the out ?
Thanks sorry I don’t want to damage anything
no you have to daisy chain them together. in din plug to disting in a, out from disting a to in on disting b, set disting a to midi thru

Duksos
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:47 am

Re: disting mk4 MIDI troubles

Post by Duksos » Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:18 pm

Ok thanks then what do I do with midi breakout?

User avatar
solipsvs
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:39 pm
Location: not how i really look

Re: disting mk4 MIDI troubles

Post by solipsvs » Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:27 pm

you need to hook the input of the breakout to the input of the disting. 2 little wires from the back of the breakout to the back of the disting.

Duksos
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:47 am

Re: disting mk4 MIDI troubles

Post by Duksos » Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:04 pm

Ahhh ha ....... I think I might possibly finally understand
Can’t wait to get in front of it tonight
Thank you

Duksos
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:47 am

Re: disting mk4 MIDI troubles

Post by Duksos » Sat Jan 18, 2020 7:59 am

A million Thanks to you sir
I am up and running better than ever

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”