FH-2 for microtonal scales

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

Post Reply
User avatar
sentimentalist
Common Wiggler
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:21 am
Location: germany

FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by sentimentalist » Thu Jan 09, 2020 4:48 pm

Hi Os,
I bought an FH2 and it works fine with Trigger/Gate/Note from Ableton into Modular, but now I want to use the FH2 as internal transformer for microtonal scales with my CV-Keyboard.

Input in FH-2 X/Y:
X: CV direct from CV-Keyboard French Connection 0-10V
Y: Gate from Keyboard

I use the newest firmware 1.72.
I load a scale from the Huygens Fokker Website with the scale configurator. The FH2 shows the installed scale on the display.
If I get it right, the module should work internally as a scale transformer via CV input?
But I only get fluctuating CV values via the deepest piano keys ...
Maybe it's just a calibration setting, because I’m using 0-10V input?
Input Test in FH-2 says X: low 36 (lowest Key C1) High 3282 (C5).

This is the simple configuration for output 1:
FH-2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
_____________________________________
http://soundcloud.com/sentimentalist-1

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12419
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by os » Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:50 am

This isn't a usage I'd considered, but I guess it should work.

You don't want CV/MIDI channel Y enabled.

I would start with the values recommended in the manual (0/4096) for the 0V/5V levels.

Then maybe examine the MIDI generated on a computer, before trying to link it to the FH-2's own MIDI/CV converter.

User avatar
sentimentalist
Common Wiggler
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:21 am
Location: germany

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by sentimentalist » Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:36 am

Thank you for your prompt reply!
os wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:50 am
I would start with the values recommended in the manual (0/4096) for the 0V/5V levels.
I

At first I disable Input Y. Now, no Gate In and the Input is deactivated.
If I change the values (CV/Midi) for InputX: 0 / 5V:
0/127 or 0/4096 or 0/8192, then I hear no difference.


Could it be, that my settings in the menu of the FH2 are fundamentally wrong ?:
Setting / Calibration / Basic:
Output 1
Center: 8192
+3 Oct: 13107

and

Preset / direct:
Out 1
Direct: 16382
Coarse 127



And do I have to install next to the scl. file also a kbm. file?
_____________________________________
http://soundcloud.com/sentimentalist-1

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12419
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by os » Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:43 am

I strongly recommend you get the CV/MIDI working first, before worrying about your output calibration and scala.

But yes, you do need to install a kbm as well.

User avatar
sentimentalist
Common Wiggler
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:21 am
Location: germany

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by sentimentalist » Fri Jan 10, 2020 11:02 am

OK, reduce sources of error.

Opened Midi Monitor app on computer for checking what happens.
FH2
CV In X: CV from Keyboard.
When I set CV In to CC, I get the keyboard values displayed on the midi monitor:
C1: Ch1, Bank Select 1
C5: Ch1, Bank Select 101

I assumed that the pitch CV should go in as a "note",
but if I do this, then no values are transferred.
_____________________________________
http://soundcloud.com/sentimentalist-1

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12419
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by os » Fri Jan 10, 2020 11:20 am

You need CV/MIDI X set to Note, and you also need to put a gate CV into Y.

User avatar
sentimentalist
Common Wiggler
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:21 am
Location: germany

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by sentimentalist » Sat Jan 11, 2020 9:37 am

Thank you for your help!
The first impression, it seems to be working !!!
Now, I can play microtonal with the FH2 and the French Connection.
(and even better, if I have rummaged through the confusing Huygens Fokker archive and find or generate the right keyboard mappings)

These are now the settings for French Connection Gate and CV in:
(strange there is no difference if I use Trigger In 0/0 or 0/127?)
Einstellungen11.0120.jpg

What I'm missing now, is to switch the note priority.
Now: first note priority,
but I need last note priority. If I play with the button from French Connection and keep the VCA slightly open (no new trigger/gate is generated) but I will play the next note...
I don't find the point in the menue, tried to use a trigger instead of the gate or switch to legato, but it always stays with first note priority.
Where can I switch it?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
_____________________________________
http://soundcloud.com/sentimentalist-1

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12419
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by os » Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:51 am

You should not have CV/MIDI channel Y enabled.

User avatar
sentimentalist
Common Wiggler
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:21 am
Location: germany

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by sentimentalist » Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:07 pm

os wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:51 am
You should not have CV/MIDI channel Y enabled.
:doh: Oh, so simple, I could have thought of it myself!
and is so much easier than menu diving.... :tu:
_____________________________________
http://soundcloud.com/sentimentalist-1

User avatar
sentimentalist
Common Wiggler
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:21 am
Location: germany

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by sentimentalist » Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:58 pm

os wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:51 am
You should not have CV/MIDI channel Y enabled.
After being so enthusiastic about the simple idea, I have to realize that unfortunately it does not work in my configuration.
Am I doing something wrong?

There is no difference if I activate or deactivate "In Y" in the configuraton tool.
In all configurations "In Y" must be crossing zero to trigger a note exchange.
(and if I don't enter a gate signal/cable the note change will not recognized)
_____________________________________
http://soundcloud.com/sentimentalist-1

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12419
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by os » Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:36 am

Yes, you need to supply a gate signal to Y, but you don't need to enable the CV/MIDI section for Y. Enabling X in Note mode automatically uses Y for gate.

User avatar
sentimentalist
Common Wiggler
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:21 am
Location: germany

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by sentimentalist » Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:26 am

os wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:36 am
Yes, you need to supply a gate signal to Y, but you don't need to enable the CV/MIDI section for Y. Enabling X in Note mode automatically uses Y for gate.
It doesn't work!
If I use the CV for pitch (CH1) instead from the FH2 from my keyboard, I play in mode:
first note priority, down

However, this mode is not passed by the FH2.
Not even Gate X In and CV for pitch Y In (also Out "internal" for both channel is aktiv).
If:
X: aktiv and Y: deactivated = first note priority up and down
If:
X: deactivated and Y: aktiv = no CV for pitch

Does the mode possibly depend on the entered number for 0/5V?
I tried: 0/5V = 0/0 or 0/127 or -127/127 or -126/127: no difference.
_____________________________________
http://soundcloud.com/sentimentalist-1

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12419
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by os » Fri Jan 17, 2020 1:32 pm

The user manual suggests values of 0 & 4096 for Note type CV/MIDI.

User avatar
sentimentalist
Common Wiggler
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:21 am
Location: germany

Re: FH-2 for microtonal scales

Post by sentimentalist » Fri Jan 17, 2020 2:59 pm

os wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 1:32 pm
The user manual suggests values of 0 & 4096 for Note type CV/MIDI.
Voltage for Note Type X (best result for my French Connection is: 0/5V -2048/2047
But what is it for Y Trigger Typ (I tried: 0/5V = 0/0 or 0/127 or -127/127 or -126/127)?
I realize no difference for Trigger Type with the number combinations.

Where could be the mistake?
Or do you think it wouldn't work with this Keyboard?
_____________________________________
http://soundcloud.com/sentimentalist-1

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”