ES-9 standalone summing?

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

Post Reply
User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by LDT » Wed Oct 14, 2020 10:55 am

I have just made my mind up, that for the ultimate no-brainer recording of my modular setup, I would like to have some kind of multitracking with minimum 18 channels. Option A is to get a Zoom LiveTrak L-20, a mixer with 20 track recording. Option B would be some audio interface for my MacBook. But then I find there is this ES-9...
So am I right, that an ES-9 plus ES-5 would give me 22 tracks into my Macbook? And then the really big question: Will I be able to sum all of those tracks when I am not connected to a computer?
(I have a Faderfox EC4 for controlling my FH-2 already, so it seems I could also use it for mixing the ES-9.)

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13881
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by os » Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:08 am

The ES-5 is an output expander, not an input expander.

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by LDT » Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:12 am

Ah, so the 14 analog inputs is the max?
But even so, it seems like an interesting solution, since ES-9 also has sort of become a mixer.

User avatar
behndy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1571
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am
Location: East Bay, Cali
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by behndy » Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:19 am

dunno if it would help you, but i went with an ES-9 and a Befaco ST Mix. that way i can run 12 ins as either mono or stereo, then 4 stereo ins from hardware synths into the ST Mix into the final 2 inputs. that way one could monitor 10 stereo ins, or when recording 12 separate tracks, then choose 1 of 4 stereo ins to record.

i mean, i have a bunch of Elektron boxes, so with Overbridge i can record any individual outs they have over their USB, so monitoring 20 mono/10 stereo ins and recording 14 mono/7 stereo inputs at a time as well is total overkill for me.
music, noise, in progress silliness - http://www.youtube.com/c/behndy

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by LDT » Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:32 am

behndy wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:19 am
dunno if it would help you, but i went with an ES-9 and a Befaco ST Mix. that way i can run 12 ins as either mono or stereo, then 4 stereo ins from hardware synths into the ST Mix into the final 2 inputs. that way one could monitor 10 stereo ins, or when recording 12 separate tracks, then choose 1 of 4 stereo ins to record.

i mean, i have a bunch of Elektron boxes, so with Overbridge i can record any individual outs they have over their USB, so monitoring 20 mono/10 stereo ins and recording 14 mono/7 stereo inputs at a time as well is total overkill for me.
Yup, something like that.

Just to round up the current state of ES-9: We can set levels and pan for all inputs via midi-cc, right?
My concern would then be, how much hassle will it be to go from standalone mixing to a recording-into-computer situation?

User avatar
behndy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1571
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am
Location: East Bay, Cali
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by behndy » Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:53 am

there was an issue with the beta that had MIDI-CC level and pan mixing inside the ES-9, but Os is a BEAST. i'm sure he'll iron out the issues sooner rather than later.

right now i'm doing virtually the same thing by having a Live set open, an audio track pointed at each ES-9 input with monitor on, then mixing/level balancing monitoring with an SL MixFaaaaaace and the Push changing the levels of those audio tracks.

inside ES-9 will be BETTER, but this works for me for now.
music, noise, in progress silliness - http://www.youtube.com/c/behndy

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13881
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by os » Wed Oct 14, 2020 12:43 pm

LDT wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:32 am
My concern would then be, how much hassle will it be to go from standalone mixing to a recording-into-computer situation?
As soon as you connect a computer the ES-9 will switch to your saved routings for computer operation.

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by LDT » Wed Oct 14, 2020 4:21 pm

os wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 12:43 pm
LDT wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:32 am
My concern would then be, how much hassle will it be to go from standalone mixing to a recording-into-computer situation?
As soon as you connect a computer the ES-9 will switch to your saved routings for computer operation.
Oh, that sounds brilliant!

osten
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 6:19 am

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by osten » Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:46 pm

Im trying to figure out a way to output only selected tracks from Ableton to the headphone output so I can monitor. Has anyone done this?

Cedre
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 7:43 am

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by Cedre » Fri Oct 16, 2020 6:36 pm

Is there a chance that one day that the push button set the master volume ?
Cause it is very annoying to not be able to set the master volume.

Is there any news of more than 8 inputs available in stand alone mode ?

Thanks

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13881
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by os » Sun Oct 18, 2020 6:25 am

osten wrote:
Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:46 pm
Im trying to figure out a way to output only selected tracks from Ableton to the headphone output so I can monitor. Has anyone done this?
You can set up a cue mix in Live:
Screenshot 2020-10-18 at 12.25.00.png

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13881
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by os » Sun Oct 18, 2020 6:26 am

Cedre wrote:
Fri Oct 16, 2020 6:36 pm
Is there a chance that one day that the push button set the master volume ?
No, sorry.
Cedre wrote:
Fri Oct 16, 2020 6:36 pm
Is there any news of more than 8 inputs available in stand alone mode ?
The beta releases earlier in this thread offer that.

Cedre
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 7:43 am

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by Cedre » Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:57 am

os wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 6:26 am
Cedre wrote:
Fri Oct 16, 2020 6:36 pm
Is there a chance that one day that the push button set the master volume ?
No, sorry.
Cedre wrote:
Fri Oct 16, 2020 6:36 pm
Is there any news of more than 8 inputs available in stand alone mode ?
The beta releases earlier in this thread offer that.
So why there is a push button ? Is it a hardware limitation ?
Do you plan a feature for this push button ?
Or would it be possible to have an option to choose between Headphone volume and master volume ?

Ok for the beta, but the last time I install it, my ES9 doesn't work any more (I don't really know if it is due to the firmware), so I return it.
And then 1 month later I buy a second one.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13881
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by os » Sun Oct 18, 2020 12:19 pm

The push button does nothing currently. It may one day.

The pot is physically part of the headphone circuit. There's no way to make it do anything else.

User avatar
behndy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1571
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am
Location: East Bay, Cali
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by behndy » Sun Oct 18, 2020 12:34 pm

Cedre wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:57 am
Ok for the beta, but the last time I install it, my ES9 doesn't work any more (I don't really know if it is due to the firmware), so I return it.
And then 1 month later I buy a second one.
doooood it's a BETA. that's... that's how they work. he's offering an insane amount of expanded features and access, AT YOUR OWN TO RISK, to it before it's totally complete. and he went out of his way to help people that had an issue.
music, noise, in progress silliness - http://www.youtube.com/c/behndy

Cedre
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 7:43 am

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by Cedre » Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:23 pm

behndy wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 12:34 pm
Cedre wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:57 am
Ok for the beta, but the last time I install it, my ES9 doesn't work any more (I don't really know if it is due to the firmware), so I return it.
And then 1 month later I buy a second one.
doooood it's a BETA. that's... that's how they work. he's offering an insane amount of expanded features and access, AT YOUR OWN TO RISK, to it before it's totally complete. and he went out of his way to help people that had an issue.
I understand, no problem, i'm a developer too, but know I will wait for the final release.

User avatar
behndy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1571
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am
Location: East Bay, Cali
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by behndy » Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:29 pm

feeeel you. lol. i also, am EXCITED and all the impatients for the good stuff.
music, noise, in progress silliness - http://www.youtube.com/c/behndy

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by LDT » Fri Oct 23, 2020 2:23 pm

So, new ES-9 in my system, and up and running. So far I am working on stand-alone mode and setting my Faderfox up for controlling volumes and pan. There seems to be something fishy going on with the assignment of CC's. Are we sure that all is as it should be? (I am running what I believe is the newest beta, - the one with the DC offset faders at the bottom.)
For example, right now I can control the first pan fader on the first macro mixer with both CC01, CC08 and CC09, which I just can't see a logical explanation for.

User avatar
behndy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1571
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am
Location: East Bay, Cali
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by behndy » Fri Oct 23, 2020 2:49 pm

TAKE THAT BETA OFF.

there's a significant problem with it, Os knows about it and is working on fixing it, but it can bork your ES-9.

MIDI mixing is coming, but not there yet from what i understand.
music, noise, in progress silliness - http://www.youtube.com/c/behndy

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by LDT » Fri Oct 23, 2020 4:31 pm

behndy wrote:
Fri Oct 23, 2020 2:49 pm
TAKE THAT BETA OFF.

there's a significant problem with it, Os knows about it and is working on fixing it, but it can bork your ES-9.

MIDI mixing is coming, but not there yet from what i understand.
But the beta that was bad, that was the one with the EQ, right? Os, took that one down.

User avatar
behndy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1571
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am
Location: East Bay, Cali
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by behndy » Fri Oct 23, 2020 11:23 pm

i dunno man. he told me to go back to the last released version.

lol. now i'm not sure of ANYthing!
music, noise, in progress silliness - http://www.youtube.com/c/behndy

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by LDT » Fri Oct 23, 2020 11:37 pm

behndy wrote:
Fri Oct 23, 2020 11:23 pm
i dunno man. he told me to go back to the last released version.

lol. now i'm not sure of ANYthing!
I am pretty sure the sensible man would have removed any module-killing beta from this thread. He removed the one with EQ, as he found it was lethal, but left the previous versions. I hope I am right about this. Os?
os wrote:

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13881
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by os » Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:17 am

You are, yes.

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by LDT » Sat Oct 24, 2020 5:17 am

Anyway, I just have to say, that I am abundantly thrilled with my new setup. I will give you a quick run-through:

I no longer have audio mixers in my modular case. I have a Zoom L-8 mixer on the side, which gives me a few nice bonuses.
So, I have 14 tracks of audio going into ES-9. Some are mono, some are stereo. The stereo mix out from ES-9 goes into the L-8, and L-8 also takes 2 more sources from the modular, plus my Hydrasynth (stereo). L-8 feeds my speakers and phones (and takes my mic, that is routed into my modular).
My Faderfox EC4 now controls level and pan for each of the (stereo or mono) sources going to ES-9. I have off course named each knob on the EC4 accordingly, so it is super easy to work with. (A bonus is, that you can arrange the sequence of knobs, so it makes sense to you, without changing any cables on the ES-9). And mixing with the Faderfox/ES-9 totally f**king works! :party: :party: :party:

So far, this is my Standalone live setup. How about recording?
I connect my Macbook to the ES-9, and also to the L-8 (which also behaves as an audio interface.) In the mac, I have made an aggregated audio driver with both ES-9 and L-8. In my daw I have all the tracks with their respective inputs set, so when I click record, it records 18 channels of audio, going into 12 tracks, some mono, some stereo. (I can also record an additional stereo track of the mix “as it was played”, which is great for reference, since all individual tracks are recorded pre-fader.)

If I want to check what has been recorded, I can then play the stereo out from my mac through the L-8. So I do not change anything in ES-9 going from “standalone” to “hosted”, which really makes the recording setup a no brainer for me, since it it essentially identical with the live setup.

The only thing I am missing now according to my grand plan, is to have my daw sync to my modular. And if that doesn’t work, then the other way around. But this is just for the convenience of having the correct tempo and bars in the daw after recording.

Bottom line: I am sooooo happy with this setup.
(I am not using the eight ES-9 outputs at all, but some rainy day I might look into using them also.)
Last edited by LDT on Sat Oct 24, 2020 5:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 standalone summing?

Post by LDT » Sat Oct 24, 2020 5:26 am

Oops, double post

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”