5-pin DIN MIDI

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

Post Reply
micdrop11
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 9:32 pm

5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by micdrop11 » Sat Feb 01, 2020 9:41 pm

For the FH-2 expansion to 5-pin DIN MIDI, what is the default output number? I'm trying to output basic start/stop and clock information from the MIDI Out to an analog drum machine.

I've tested the 5-pin DIN MIDI module and it appears to be working. I've sent MIDI information to the IN socket and the FH-2 acknowledges the incoming MIDI information on its screen.

Appreciate any help.

Thanks,
Mike

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13009
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by os » Sun Feb 02, 2020 4:30 am

what is the default output number?
Not sure what you mean by that.

It may be relevant to point out that you have to enable the DIN MIDI output in the FH-2 settings.

micdrop11
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 9:32 pm

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by micdrop11 » Sun Feb 02, 2020 9:39 am

Thanks for the help. I didn't realize that I needed to enable the output in Settings.

However, after enabling that Setting, I'm still struggling to send MIDI information out over the 5-pin DIN MIDI expander... Any other thoughts?

(FYI, when I asked about a default output, I was wondering if I need to configure something in the "FH-2 Output Configurator" to send this MIDI information out.)

micdrop11
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 9:32 pm

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by micdrop11 » Sun Feb 02, 2020 9:50 am

Got it! I think I figured it out. I configured the MIDI Forwarding.

User avatar
Kattefjaes
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:47 am
Location: UK

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by Kattefjaes » Thu Feb 20, 2020 10:01 am

This tripped me up too.

Hey, os, would you consider adding a small reminder to the manual for this common use case? The manual has all the info, but having a little box with both of these snippets together in the section on MIDI might save you having to answer this question over and over.

(Also, lots of places in the manual refer to envelope settings explained elsewhere in the manual- but in the end, I gave up looking for them, after loads of scrolling and searching. Maybe consider mentioning exactly where they are, like a page or section number, for dumbasses like me, who only get time to use their stuff late at night when they're tired?)

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13009
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by os » Thu Feb 20, 2020 10:10 am

Could you give me an example of where it refers to "envelope settings explained elsewhere in the manual"?

User avatar
Kattefjaes
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:47 am
Location: UK

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by Kattefjaes » Thu Feb 20, 2020 10:35 am

Let me check, I might have totally mis-remembered.

Edit:

In this case, I suppose the Distring docs are a better example- clearly you should never trust my memory. Sorry for dragging you off-topic.

The actual phrasing is variants of
Parameters 0 & 2 are the standard sample folder and envelope time parameters, described above.
I'm sure there is a section that explains it too, not a criticism. However, I had trouble finding it- if it could say "on page xx", that'd be easier, even if it's a pain because you need to either update it or use some sort of TOC function when you change the document.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

hru
Common Wiggler
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:36 pm

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by hru » Thu Feb 20, 2020 3:13 pm

Hello,
What is pls the smallest setting for 5 Pol Midi-Sync?

FH-2 - Settings - General - Enable Din Midi out + Enable Midi Clock out
Drumcomputer (Yamaha ry30) - Sync Clock Midi (extern)

is it? try many other Hard and Software settings the last days
the FH-2 Displays shows a outgoing Din-Clock but it don't run

Maybe is the Midi Breakout Module broken or old Midi-Hardware need a always running Midi-Clock?
https://forum.mutable-instruments.net/t ... -app/13288

Thanks for any suggestion

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13009
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by os » Fri Feb 21, 2020 3:33 am

@Kattefjaes Have you tried clicking on 'above'?

@hru I would double check that the MIDI breakout is connected correctly. Try sending MIDI into the FH-2 and see if it is received.

hru
Common Wiggler
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:36 pm

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by hru » Fri Feb 21, 2020 7:10 pm

Thanks for the fast reply

FH-2 GT3 (Pin1 red) - Midi Breakout GT1 (Pin1 red)
Yamaha Ry30, Midi out - Midi Breakout, Midi in

Tested your help, Ry30 Midi out to FH2 Midi in with several Cables and Midi-Hardware sadly the FH-2 Nothing received on Display

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13009
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by os » Sat Feb 22, 2020 6:35 am

Are you using the same row of connectors on the ribbon cable at both ends?

User avatar
Kattefjaes
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:47 am
Location: UK

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by Kattefjaes » Sat Feb 22, 2020 8:04 am

os wrote:
Fri Feb 21, 2020 3:33 am
@Kattefjaes Have you tried clicking on 'above'?
Bloody hell, thank you! Couldn't see that it was a link at all.

hru
Common Wiggler
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:36 pm

Re: 5-pin DIN MIDI

Post by hru » Sat Feb 22, 2020 5:38 pm

os wrote:
Sat Feb 22, 2020 6:35 am
Are you using the same row of connectors on the ribbon cable at both ends?
yes, i checked again

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”