G5 Tuner acting up on the disting mk4

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

Post Reply
User avatar
GIUFJ
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:00 pm
Location: Denmark - EU
Contact:

G5 Tuner acting up on the disting mk4

Post by GIUFJ » Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:07 pm

Good evening

I have an issue with the G5 tuner algorithm.

When I have no cable patched in, the display shows A-, and the b output flashes like crazy.
When I patch in an oscillator I wish to tune, the display is a blurry mangle with no discernible letter on it. Kinda like it writes several letters all at once.
It is the only algorithm - of the ones I use- I have any trouble with.

What to do, any thoughts?

Apart from that, lovely little module:-)

cheers
/Mort

User avatar
GIUFJ
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:00 pm
Location: Denmark - EU
Contact:

Re: G5 Tuner acting up on the disting mk4

Post by GIUFJ » Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:08 pm

I updated the firmware, hoping that would solve the issue, but it didn't

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13855
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: G5 Tuner acting up on the disting mk4

Post by os » Sun Mar 01, 2020 4:23 am

Sounds like you have a lot of noise on the input. Are you trying it with a fairly pure waveform e.g. sine or triangle?

User avatar
GIUFJ
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:00 pm
Location: Denmark - EU
Contact:

Re: G5 Tuner acting up on the disting mk4

Post by GIUFJ » Tue Mar 03, 2020 2:15 pm

I'm not entirely sure what the waveform is... it's coming out of MI tides. I used to be able to tune the tides, as I recall.
I've tried switching cables, so it's not that.
When I plug in my roland SE-02 the display jumps a lot until I play a note. Then, all is well. As soon as I release the note (with the cable still inserted), the display goes nuts again.

Should the tuner algorithm display an A- when there is no input? Or is it a sign, that something is amiss?

cheers

/Morten

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13855
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: G5 Tuner acting up on the disting mk4

Post by os » Wed Mar 04, 2020 2:50 am

Yes, showing A- with no input sounds right.

User avatar
megarat
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:09 pm
Location: Squirt Island, USA

Re: G5 Tuner acting up on the disting mk4

Post by megarat » Mon Mar 09, 2020 5:27 am

I've found that the Disting Mk.4 tuner algorithm works fine with clean waveforms, like a pure sine or triangle, but gets hung up on complex waveforms, such as anything that comes out of my Ataraxic Iteritas. When fed a complex waveform, the display goes bonkers, as if it's recognizing several different notes in extremely rapid succession.

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”