USAMO Clock Command Specs

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

Post Reply
CamAdair
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2020 12:41 pm

USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by CamAdair » Tue Mar 24, 2020 12:47 pm

Does the USAMO receive and send Start, Stop, Continue, and Song Position Pointer messages?
Is it able to run from printed audio code and not only the plugin?
Will it run DIN Sync machines?
If I put a MIDI through splitter box after it would it cause any problems multiplying the clock?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12990
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by os » Tue Mar 24, 2020 1:54 pm

>>Does the USAMO receive and send Start, Stop, Continue, and Song Position Pointer messages?

It sends all MIDI messages.

>> Is it able to run from printed audio code and not only the plugin?

If you capture the plug-in output, you can replay that to the USAMO, but in practice that's unlikely to be convenient.

>> Will it run DIN Sync machines?

No.

>> If I put a MIDI through splitter box after it would it cause any problems multiplying the clock?

If it's a dumb splitter (just an electrical connection) it won't degrade the clock. Any MIDI patchbay/splitter that contains any processing may affect the timing.

CamAdair
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2020 12:41 pm

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by CamAdair » Fri Apr 03, 2020 9:28 pm

Thanks,
A couple more questions:
Would it sync from ppqn clock and start/stop printed to tape?
Is getting it to sync DIN sync just a matter of connecting a different pin? Would a kenton MIDI to DIN box add latency?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12990
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by os » Sat Apr 04, 2020 3:24 am

>>Would it sync from ppqn clock and start/stop printed to tape?

No.

>>Is getting it to sync DIN sync just a matter of connecting a different pin?

No.

>>Would a kenton MIDI to DIN box add latency?

Yes.

Have a look at https://expert-sleepers.co.uk/esx8md.html

CamAdair
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2020 12:41 pm

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by CamAdair » Sat Apr 04, 2020 6:52 pm

Thanks again,
Ive looked at the SPDIF and ADAT euro solutions but want to stick to analog audio for now.
Is there a list of compatible "dumb" or discreet splitters/ thru boxes that don't add latency to the USAMO?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12990
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by os » Sun Apr 05, 2020 2:50 am

I don't have one.

CamAdair
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2020 12:41 pm

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by CamAdair » Thu May 21, 2020 10:21 pm

Hi again Andrew,
If I went the ES-40 and ESX-8MD rout and added a ESX-8CV, would I be able to send 24PPQ clock and start/stop messages out of the ESX-8CV outputs via Silent Way?
Thanks!

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12990
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by os » Fri May 22, 2020 2:30 am

You would be better to add an ESX-8GT, or use the ESX-8MD, for clocks outputs. It will work with the ESX-8CV but the timing won't be as good.

CamAdair
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2020 12:41 pm

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by CamAdair » Fri May 22, 2020 8:03 pm

thanks,
do you need two separate gate outputs for the start/stop pulse and the clock pulse itself?

ultimately I want the ability to have sample accurate midi (over midi cable), DIN sync (over din cable), cv, gate, and clock (over 1/8").
could you do this with just a ES-4 and use the 3 gate outputs for clock and midi?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12990
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by os » Sat May 23, 2020 3:45 am

No, still need one of the expanders for MIDI.

The ESX-8MD will do MIDI and DINsync for you.

CamAdair
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2020 12:41 pm

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by CamAdair » Tue May 26, 2020 1:02 am

gotcha, couldn't you just use one of those 1/8" to 5pin din cables out of the gate outputs?

also, do you need two separate gate outputs for a start/stop ppq pulse and the ppq clock pulse itself? most gear accepts the start/stop on the ring and clock on the tip of a TS. would you need a Y cable coming out of two gate outputs on a ESX-8GT or ES-4 or could you just use one output from the module?

thanks for your answers. im modular agnostic but I want tight timing... trying to plan it out before I buy the rig.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12990
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by os » Tue May 26, 2020 2:40 am

Yes, you need two separate gate outputs to make a DIN sync signal. That equates to two outputs from the module.

CamAdair
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2020 12:41 pm

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by CamAdair » Thu May 28, 2020 12:50 am

so the 8MD only does run or clock per din jack? it doesnt send the start/stop (run) on pin 1 and clock on pin 3 on the same jack? in the demo video its only clock to one and run to the other machine, not really a full din sync.

CamAdair
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2020 12:41 pm

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by CamAdair » Thu May 28, 2020 1:03 am

oh I see its pin 1 and 3 mirrored every two! why is it labeled "clock" and "run" then?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12990
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: USAMO Clock Command Specs

Post by os » Thu May 28, 2020 2:27 am

The labels are for the LEDs.

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”