dc cables for silent way resource thread

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

User avatar
dare
Common Wiggler
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:55 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by dare » Fri Feb 21, 2014 7:23 am

I think the splitter is a stereo to 2 mono.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Feb 21, 2014 7:34 am

Then that would probably work fine.

User avatar
GBR303
Common Wiggler
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:59 am
Location: Glasgow

Post by GBR303 » Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:03 am

MacBook/Silent Way > ES-40/ESX-8CV > Banana Plugs

So TOSLink adapter > optical to coaxial converter> RCA > ES-40?

ESX-8CV Outs - I'm thinking either custom patch bay with 3.5mm sockets in and banana sockets out. Tips connected to banana outs.

Or, custom cable with 3.5mm jacks tip > banana?

I think I've got that right. Would prefer to do the custom patch bay as I hate making cables.

EDIT: swapped 3.5mm jack for RCA and added optical to coaxial converter

cupwise
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:51 am

Post by cupwise » Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:10 pm

i have a lynx aurora 8, with XLR outs
so what would be the easiest/cheapest way for me to do this?

couldn't i just make/use an xlr to 3.5mm cable and float the ring in that?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:01 am

Yes, that should work, since the Aurora 8 is supposedly DC coupled.

cupwise
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:51 am

Post by cupwise » Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:11 pm

yeah it worked fine. i've been using SW with the cables i made for a while now, with the aurora, and its amazing. great stuff. just thought i'd post it here in case itd help anyone in the future.

User avatar
teezdalien
Common Wiggler
Posts: 188
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by teezdalien » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:49 pm

Just a quick question.

Are these floating ring cables safe to use for normal audio use?

I need to buy some 3.5 to 6.5mm ts cables for my nord drum 2 but already have a bunch of these.

Thanks.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:09 am

Yes, should be fine.

msq100
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 5:29 pm

Post by msq100 » Tue Nov 22, 2016 6:40 am

thanks for recommending this Neutrik NYS-SSR-8
have found many uses for it !

TCLGuy1
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:56 pm

Post by TCLGuy1 » Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:04 pm

Thanks for this thread!!

I have "found" 2 2408mk3's in my garage. They used to be my audio interfaces. I hooked them up to my current interface which has 2 adat outs/ins and using as "converter". This should give me 16 in (8 analog outs on each 2408) and outs.

I understand the cable I need for the CV out of the computer. But what do I need to do to go from eurorack into the 2408? Are the inputs not DC coupled?

I am primarily planning on using Reaktor. Is it ok to plug from eurorack into 2408 with the same type of cable?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:58 pm

The inputs of all audio interfaces that I know of are not DC coupled. You can use any 3.5mm to 1/4" cable you like.

You won't be able to pass CVs in this way, only audio.

TCLGuy1
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:56 pm

Post by TCLGuy1 » Fri Dec 30, 2016 6:59 pm

os wrote:The inputs of all audio interfaces that I know of are not DC coupled. You can use any 3.5mm to 1/4" cable you like.

You won't be able to pass CVs in this way, only audio.

Makes Sense - thank you!

So what are the options to bring CV into the machine to be able to use in reaktor?

TCLGuy1
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:56 pm

Post by TCLGuy1 » Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:06 pm

I have a patch bay question...

So I am going out of the 2408 with a Y splitter, 1/4 TRS to Tip / Ring 1/4' TS Female...then 1/4 TS to mini to modular. Seems to all work, got to calibrate the pitch without hassle from Reaktor. These here: http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/YPP117

Now I was thinking hooking up those 8 outputs to a 1/4 patchbay. http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PB48/

2 ways to hook up:

- Motu out 1/4 TRS to 1/4 TRS patchbay in , Y cable on the output and then using tip to got to modular

- or ..my preferred way: TRS to Y mono splitter out to patchbay and use tip to top row and ring to bottom row, De-normaled (thru) - question here is ...any problems that I am going into the TRS patchbay unbalanced ?

Would this work? In essence creating a top row on the patchbay with Tip and a bottom row with ring so inverse signal.

Thanks so much for the help!!

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sat Dec 31, 2016 4:02 am

TCLGuy1 wrote:So what are the options to bring CV into the machine to be able to use in reaktor?
Expert Sleepers ES-6 or ES-8, or ES-2-2 (the functionality of which has been incorporated into the disting mk3), or just Silent Way CV Input plus a VCA.

Either patchbay option should be OK.

TCLGuy1
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:56 pm

Post by TCLGuy1 » Sat Dec 31, 2016 3:29 pm

os wrote:
TCLGuy1 wrote:So what are the options to bring CV into the machine to be able to use in reaktor?
Expert Sleepers ES-6 or ES-8, or ES-2-2 (the functionality of which has been incorporated into the disting mk3), or just Silent Way CV Input plus a VCA.

Either patchbay option should be OK.
Thanks!

Can the ES-6 be used without the ES-3? I thought it required the ES-3 for clock.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sun Jan 01, 2017 4:36 am

The ES-6 requires the ES-3 (or ES-8, actually).

TCLGuy1
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:56 pm

Post by TCLGuy1 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 11:32 pm

So I got all 8 outputs working beautifully from the 2408mk3 - using a Y splitter cable from the motu and then 1/4TS to 1/8TS from the tip connection.

Now question - I have 2 DC coupled headphone outputs. 4 more outputs I would love to use. What's the cable situation there?

Would I simply use the same Y TRS to mono TS splitter and then I would have the left signal on the tip and the right signal on the ring? Is that correct?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sat Jan 14, 2017 4:06 am

I believe so, yes.

Flamusic
Common Wiggler
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Flamusic » Wed May 31, 2017 7:20 pm

I have three AC to DC 6.5 mm jack cables wich i dont need anymore.
You can go with a adapter to 3.5mm and up to 8 Volt DC out of every audio interface.
I used the three cables for Pitch cv to two oscilators and the third for gate.
Works perfect with Silent Way.
Maybee someone if interested.
I will give them away for a fair price.

TCLGuy1
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:56 pm

Post by TCLGuy1 » Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:41 am

Hi !

I have a question about cable length.

So I am using the Motu 2408 to run Reaktor out to my modular. Works great.

A friend of mine likes the setup but he is in a large studio where his Motu would be in a machine room situation. How long can you run a cable without voltage drop? 1/4inch to mini - Could you go 80 feet?

Also, can the cable be interrupted. Say a wall connector.

Thanks!

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Wed Aug 30, 2017 3:30 am

Should be OK. I guess you won't know for sure until you try it.

You'd still need the floating ring somewhere along the line.

Panason
is banned
is banned
Posts: 3324
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 7:56 am

Post by Panason » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:30 pm

1/4' jack to minijack stereo splitter..

User avatar
hamildad
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:46 am
Location: London

Post by hamildad » Tue May 29, 2018 5:26 am

a quick question following up a chat with OS at Superbooth.

if I am running my CV outs through a patchbay.

I can make up some short floating ring patch cables between MOTU 828 and patch bay, then use normal Jack to Jack cables from patch bay to modular?

OR

Regular patch to patch bay, then make up some floating ring cables from patchbay to modular?

trying to sort out which is the safer, although I think its the former option as it categorically prevents the ring from taking a voltage into a MOTU output.
My Synth Instagram here * My Synth videos here
-
External PSUs and DC jacks are the hallmarks of toys. - Graham Hinton.
-
I am one of the "tiny fraction of a percentage of oversensitive idiots" who feels the name of this site sends the wrong message.
-
This is primarily for melody and historical educational purposes - Analogue Music

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13008
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Tue May 29, 2018 5:29 am

I agree, though it means you can't switch between CV and audio use without redoing your patch bay.

User avatar
hamildad
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:46 am
Location: London

Post by hamildad » Wed May 30, 2018 5:36 am

I am planning to ringfence the last 3x outputs for DC coupled duties, so that should be fine...

only issue is making smaller floating ring cables makes them less useful for other applications.

but then I can use any length cables to synth..

thanks for input OS.

:cloud:
My Synth Instagram here * My Synth videos here
-
External PSUs and DC jacks are the hallmarks of toys. - Graham Hinton.
-
I am one of the "tiny fraction of a percentage of oversensitive idiots" who feels the name of this site sends the wrong message.
-
This is primarily for melody and historical educational purposes - Analogue Music

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”